We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best hostel and badly organised”
Review of Hostel Manaus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostel Manaus
Ranked #5 of 186 Speciality Lodging in Manaus
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not the best hostel and badly organised”
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We stayed here twice, the first time our reserved double room was occupied, so we were moved to a double room without bathroom, OK, but nothing special. When we came back from the jungle our reservation had been deleted, and the rooms without bathroom proposed just disgusting. Shame because the owner who tried to sort us out seems a nice guy, just hope he can sort out his staff.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jburgerh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    65
    34
    20
    18
See reviews for
9
43
64
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ross on Wye
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

We stayed for 1 night, didn't need a booking. The man on reception (think he may be the owner) was unhelpful when we asked for advice about booking a boat ticket, told us that a ticket seller came a couple of times a week, then when he arrived, it turned out he couldn't get tickets for what we wanted. Much easier to walk down to the dock and buy tickets from the official seller there (as advised by another guest).

Communal area was quite nice and comfortable. We didn't use the kitchen, but it would have been a struggle, too small.

Given that their website makes a big deal out of being the 'original hostel Manaus', it seems they have a real chip on their shoulder about better priced, friendlier hostels with better facilities up the road. We stayed at Hostel Trip Tour Manaus after a few days in the jungle - much friendlier, better value, wish we'd gone there to begin with.

Room Tip: Don't stay here. There are better hostels in Manaus just up the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin Laura U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Manaus hotels

Edinburgh
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

We stayed in a double before leaving to go into the jungle with the tour company (Antonio's) based out of here.
It's basic. The shared bathrooms were relatively clean. The kitchen was pretty disgusting though and far too small. While I was cooking there were people srubbing their underwear in the sinks where the dishes are washed, which was pretty off-putting. Our room was right in the lobby and very noisy up until 11pm - when there is a quiet rule.
A few minor things really bugged us though. The first was the amount of sleeping people dossing down everywhere - on the sofas in the lobby/common area and on the rooftop where they serve breakfast. They were everywhere.
Also the jungle trips leave at 7am - and breakfast is supposed to be serve at 6.30am. It wasn't ready by the time we left.
The other thing - which left a bit of a bad taste - was on our return from the jungle. You can pay six or seven real to have a shower and store your bags if you are waiting for plane/bus out. Which is great - except for when I asked for a towel they refused!
The junle tours I can highly recommend - absolutely fantastic, and a great price.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AHV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

The room in the basement had a very strong and not nice smell. The rooms upstairs are much better. Breakfast was decent

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gnu00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Luis, MA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

1) They lost our reservation
2) horrible noise at night - impossible to sleep
3) very unfriendly staff

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jack L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 February 2011

This hostel is dirty and smelly, especially the bathroom. The light switch in the bathroom has no proper cover and it is a potential hazard and a ticking bomb for an electrocution for anyone staying here - it is also illegal. The bed is very uncomfortable, and the room is very noisy. This hostel is the worst we have stayed. If you care for your life, do not stay in this hostel.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anonfeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2010

Staff were unfriendly, they don´t have mixed dorms, on our return they had lost our booking and were unapologetic.

If you have no choice and it´s only for one night, you will live. Otherwise, don´t bother.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajpayne81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manaus hotels
Go Inn Manaus
#10 of 46 in Manaus
1,627 reviews
City Center
Hotel Saint Paul
Hotel Saint Paul
#17 of 46 in Manaus
420 reviews
Novotel Manaus
#2 of 46 in Manaus
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Hotel Villa Amazonia
Hotel Villa Amazonia
#4 of 46 in Manaus
104 reviews
City Center
EcoSuites Hotel Manaus
EcoSuites Hotel Manaus
#25 of 46 in Manaus
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Manaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Manaus

Property: Hostel Manaus
Address: Rua Lauro Cavalcante No 231 | Proximo a Sorveteria Glacial, Manaus, State of Amazonas 69020-230, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Amazonas > Amazon River > Manaus > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 186 Speciality Lodging in Manaus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOSTEL MANAUS is in Center of the city. A quiet residential street, set back from the bustle of this thriving Jungle metropolis. Here you will find yourself chatting for hours with fellow travellers after a hearty hostel breakfast in the outdoor dining area. Watch a DVD, or take advantage of our unlimited web access in the spacious lounge. Chill out in a hammock with a good book on our famous roof-top patio with its privileged views of the Palacio Rio Negro. And in the evening, kick back with friends, music and a good Caipirinha from our bar in the hostel beer garden - all without breaking the budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel Manaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Manaus AM, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing