We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff and good prices”
Review of Hotel Dez de Julho

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Dez de Julho
Ranked #46 of 46 Hotels in Manaus
Holbaek, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Friendly staff and good prices”
Reviewed 19 March 2012

My boyfriend and I had been sleeping for some days in a bad hostel, when some guys in front of the hostel spoke to us about trips and about their hotel. We were in a bad situation because of the other hostel, and they warned us about some people who are cheating tourist with fake tours, and actually the bad men worked at the bad hostel we lived at, so the staff at Hotel de dez Juhlio helped us with a good price for a room and a good prive for at trip to the amazone. The staff is friendly and the trip to the amazone was really good. The breakfast is good, bread, cake, eggs, fruit, juice, coffee, tea, cacao and then a different new thing every day.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    25
    56
    23
    22
See reviews for
18
37
28
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

We kinda picked this one at random, but it worked out quite well for us. It was located less than a block from the Teatro Amazonas and the beautiful bustling square right in front of it. Manaus itself was much nicer than lonely planet had lead us to believe, the markets were great, and we quite enjoyed it. The hotel had tours, english speaking staff members, free breakfast, a nice roof patio, wifi and the room was spacious and clean with air con.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pretzolio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

This is a budget hotel and taken this into account the hotel is a good option, if you are not willing to spend too much money or just stop briefly in Manaus. Why? Location, location, location. Which means that it is just 300 meters away from the Teatro Amazonas plaza. Also some of the best travel agencies are just next door. The area is quite safe to walk around.

Secondly the room was very clean. I had a nice tropical view to the opera house. The room was medium size with a private bath/WC, aircon, small TV, ref and a comfortable bed. The breakfast was very basic and the surroundings it was served were quite gloomy...

I paid 90 reais for a superior single (at 3rd floor) and was offered 5% discount, if I pay with cash. Cheaper 75 reais single rooms were available at the second floor.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zeps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2011

I stayed a couple of days in th Hotel 10 de Julho, good price for their room, very friendly staff, they take their time to help you, in my case I needed to change my flight. Really enjoyed the Christmas party on Sunday at the nearby Amazon theater.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2011

We stayed 3 nights in the Hotel, very friendly staff, they helped us out to change our flight reservation, They offer fast Internet access and great breakfast with regional food. The location is safe and close to the Amazon theater, which is the best place to hang out in the evening (free concert).

Room Tip: Make sure to reserve early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Franz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtown, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

We stayed one night in this hotel before beginning our Amazon trip with Gero tours (which incidentally was fantastic.) The rooms are extremely basic, a/c too noisy to keep on during the night and the beds hard and uncomfortable with grubby and torn sheets. We also had to pay extra for hot water in the room! The hotel itself is also very noisy and the breakfast poor. The one saving grace was the location which is very handy. There are better basic hotels out there for this kind of money, really for what you get and in comparison to other hotels we stayed in in Brazil it should be half the price it is.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Manaus hotels

Georgetown, Guyana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2011

I was a part of a group of twenty-four students who visited Manaus - a beautiful and impressive city. However, we had a very bad experience at the hotel where we stayed. The name of the hotel is Dez de Julio. Our initial enquiries at the hotel were handled by a guy who speaks English and operates a tour business at the hotel. The name of the tour company is Amazon Backpackers. Because we did not use his services, he decided that he had to get some money out of us so when we were checking out he claimed a part of our deposit . We had said to him while making arrangements to stay at the hotel that we may need transportation to get to the hotel when we arrive at the terminus but since we did not know the time of arrival we would call him when we got there. It turned out that our bus took us to the hotel directly. We were treated roughly when we tried to make a case that we could not be possibly charged for a service that we did not receive. My sister from Canada was pushed out of the office and our suitcases taken into a room to prevent us from leaving. In the end, because we were foreigners and had to leave for our return trip, we ended up just paying the money to leave. I have no problem with the hotel itself and there are other tour operators there but that particular set of tour operators are unscrupulous. I had read on the internet about that type of treatment being meted out to guests but decided to give them the benefit of the doubt but it proved correct.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chyneeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manaus hotels
Hotel Monaco
#37 of 46 in Manaus
113 reviews
City Center
Taj Mahal Hotel Manaus
Taj Mahal Hotel Manaus
#28 of 46 in Manaus
343 reviews
Central Hotel Manaus
#36 of 46 in Manaus
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Novo Hotel Brasil
Novo Hotel Brasil
#40 of 46 in Manaus
69 reviews
Krystal Hotel Manaus
#30 of 46 in Manaus
46 reviews
Chez les Rois
#21 of 46 in Manaus
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dez de Julho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dez de Julho

Property: Hotel Dez de Julho
Address: Rua 10 de Julho 679 | Centro, Manaus, State of Amazonas 69010-060, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Amazonas > Amazon River > Manaus > City Center
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 46 Hotels in Manaus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Dez de Julho 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Priceline, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Dez de Julho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Dez De Julho Manaus, AM, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing