We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only the location”
Review of Hotel Dez de Julho

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Dez de Julho
Ranked #46 of 46 Hotels in Manaus
Latvia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Only the location”
Reviewed 28 November 2012

Except for location this hotel is a terrible hole. Our bed had only a 5 cm over-mattrass on the plank bottom, not a decent mattrass. Is was awfully hard, like sleeping on floor. Conditioner was noisy, shower door half broken, shop shelves in room instead of a wardrobe... Only good thing to say is the locatoin - two minutes form Teatro Amazon. From it you can walk all central part of Manaus. Although Manaus central part is not so big - you can walk there from most of the hotels anyway.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZaneSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    25
    56
    23
    22
See reviews for
18
37
28
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Level 6 Contributor
294 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

We wanted to be closer to some agents and near the opera house so we booked at this hotel for 2 ppl r105 a night. It is simple and great location. We stayed here before and after the trip one room is bigger and the other room has good view of the church and opera house. We were able to go to a show there !! what a treat. It is safe to walk around and a few food and drink places around. If you stay a few days in manaus it is not a bad place to stay cause at least you have place yo hang around instead of in the hotel. Wifi work in both of our rooms on 3rd floor! or you can sit at the small garden. Breakfast ok. And we ended up booked 2 tour with the agent inside the hotel amazon backpackers which is good trip! bathroom is very small if you are a big person you might not like it ac is loud as well. But overall it is not abad place to stay. As manaus is not cheap!

Room Tip: 3rd floor is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunshinelpc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

We booked a room here together with a tour of the agency nextdoor. Our room was in the basement. We did not like it, because of the location in the hotel. We had only a small window at the room. The area is good, quiet next to the amazontheatre.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johanna116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Manaus hotels

Aalborg
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

The Hotel Dez de Julho is not that scary and bad as some of you say. Manaus is not a city to spend a lot of romantic days in, so you do not need a hotel for anything else then a couple of nights while you are waiting for a jungle adventure. But yes, I may agree with some of you that the beds can be hard - and yes this may depend of the room you choose.

My girlfirend and I stayed here for 4 nights in July 2012. The first night was booked for us through the Jungle Tour agency Amazon Gero Tours which has an office a couple of steps from the hotel. The room we got here was quite small and the bed almost did not have an mattress, but still, it was okay for the price of 70RS and just for this one night. It had AC, bathroom and a small 14" tv with many american channels and it was clean.

As we got back from the jungle tour we stayed at the Hotel Dez de Julho for 2 nights in a double room which was 95RS a night. It was bigger than the first room, nice bed, bathroom and no mosquitoes (as some of you have experienced). The room was on the 3rd floor.

The WI-FI signal was good in our room but the internet was slow most of the day, except of early morning. There were always some hotel guests sitting with their laptops in the lobby (so maybe the WI-FI signal is not that good on all floors)

The staff were friendly, but we could not speak that much with them because of the laguage barrier.

Breakfast was included in the room price (juice, coffee, tea, scrambled eggs, some bread, cheese and cakes) not the one you will run for when you wake up, and it is served from 6.30 to 9.00 (I would prefer to 10.00)

The location is okay. The Plaza at the famous Teatro Amazonas (just a few steps from the hotel) has a couple of restaurants and kiosks.

For the price and location it is good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gokki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012 via mobile

We stated here for one night as a stopover for our amazon tour. It wa generally clean, te shower could have used a bit more attention, sheets were clean, towels clean. Bed was a concrete block with a thin foam on top, probably the worst part f the whole room. We didn't go back for the 3 nights after we returned from the amazon, but honestly if doing a trip with the close by your operators, it's worth the extra 15 minutes you save in the morning.Breakfast was good with many options.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdcamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

We arrived in Manaus at 3:30am and had to stay somewhere before our 8am trip to the Amazon. Our tour provider arranged for us to stay here since it was next door to the office.

I would have rather stayed on the street than had to have paid R$90 for 4 hours in a nasty brown colored bed in a room that had bugs and the paint was peeling off the wall. Needless to say we didn't get any sleep and was extremely annoyed that we had to pay $45USD for 4 hours in a room that we didn't even get to sleep in.

I'm all for hostels and sleeping cheap when I need to, but this place was just gross and not worth it at all.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BaronessEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holbaek, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

My boyfriend and I had been sleeping for some days in a bad hostel, when some guys in front of the hostel spoke to us about trips and about their hotel. We were in a bad situation because of the other hostel, and they warned us about some people who are cheating tourist with fake tours, and actually the bad men worked at the bad hostel we lived at, so the staff at Hotel de dez Juhlio helped us with a good price for a room and a good prive for at trip to the amazone. The staff is friendly and the trip to the amazone was really good. The breakfast is good, bread, cake, eggs, fruit, juice, coffee, tea, cacao and then a different new thing every day.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manaus hotels
Hotel Monaco
#38 of 46 in Manaus
113 reviews
City Center
Taj Mahal Hotel Manaus
Taj Mahal Hotel Manaus
#29 of 46 in Manaus
345 reviews
Central Hotel Manaus
#36 of 46 in Manaus
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Continental Park Hotel
#40 of 46 in Manaus
25 reviews
City Center
Hotel Saint Paul
Hotel Saint Paul
#17 of 46 in Manaus
420 reviews
Chez les Rois
#21 of 46 in Manaus
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dez de Julho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dez de Julho

Property: Hotel Dez de Julho
Address: Rua 10 de Julho 679 | Centro, Manaus, State of Amazonas 69010-060, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Amazonas > Amazon River > Manaus > City Center
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 46 Hotels in Manaus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Dez de Julho 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Dez de Julho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Dez De Julho Manaus, AM, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing