We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tivoli Ecoresort Praia do Forte

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tivoli Ecoresort Praia do Forte
Certificate of Excellence
Central America
Level Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

This hotel has changed over the years. Although the common areas are more modern now, it needs a revamp in the bedrooms, which still look a bit 80s. Service is good, breakfast is superb, and dinner is good. Entertainment is ok, nothing to write home about. It is a very expensive resort. For the price is charges, it could be better. In the past there was no competition of other resorts. However, nowadays, there other ones that I would try before going back to the EcoResort.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aff2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,631 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,884
    1,248
    342
    90
    67
See reviews for
1,951
776
52
454
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2011

We arrived late in the night,there was just one receptionist doing the check in and there was about 5 others people waiting to get the rooms,so it took quite a long time to fill the form.We finally get to the room and soon we noticed that the air conditioning was not working properly and we call the reception to get some assistance but nobody came ( the air conditioning was fixed the day after),but we sleep in a very hot room.The room was quite nice and new.
The day after we went to the beach and we asked for a agua de coco,it took 35 min to be served .We try to talk to the beach manager but didn´t speaks any word of english and we dont talk any word of Portugaise.
We decided the day after to try the restaurant at the beach,so went there.We sat down at one table and the menu arrived after 20 min( quite a long time even if you are on holiday!).We order some food but arrived all wrong,we decided to eat even if it was not what we ordered,Nobody came to say sorry or to change the dishes.We noticed a man with glasses ,we descover two days after that he was the restaurant manager,but he was quite busy and seemed to work alone .
Late in the afternoon we decided to go at the reception and ask to talk to the general manager.So we did.The recetionist said to us that the general manager was on holiday in Portugal !We ask to talk to the Assistant general manager and she said that the Assistant General Manager had left the hotel two months ago !We ask who is in charge of the hotel and she said nobody !( She did not even ask what was the problem !)
We went back to the room ,and we look each other and we start to make some joke about the hotel and laugh because we orts so bad runned !This is not a five stars Resorts
The last dinner we wanted to do was at the restaurant a la carte and we booked a table in the morning at the reception.At 7 Pm we went to the bar to have some cocktails before the dinner .After a while we ask to see the menu of the restaurant a la carte ,and the answer was that the restaurant was closed because the hotel was with low occupancy.That was our last big desapointment at the Tivoli Praia do Forte.
We noticed as well that indeed there was no managers around ,and the staff was directed just by the man with glasses.
The quality of the food was normal nothing special ,it´s what you eat in a normal restaurant in Brasil .
We have to say that for us Tivoli was a bad experience and we will never go back anymore .Some friends said to us to go to the Txai Hotel or Nannai and it´s what we will do next time .Sorry I don´t recomend this hotel at all !
The only place we find realy good ,was the spa and the staff working there ,and as well the girl that was cleaning our room

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank adrien a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

I'll try to keep this short and straight to the point. I researched many hotels and locations and picked Tivoli because the Tivoli @ Sao Paulo was a great experience.
5 brazilian stars is the equivalent, in my eyes to 2.5 - 3 stars....
We arrived at the hotel and the setting is spectacular. Perfectly landscaped and spread out over a lot of terrain. We were taken to our room and that was our biggest dissapointment. It was small, and had a terrible smell of humidity. TERRIBLE! We could not use the closet to store our clothes because after only a few hours, our clothes were impregnated with smell of humidity and mold. I personally consider that a health hazard. For the price we paid, the room should be impeccable.
Upon making the reservation I inquired if it was an all-inclusive resort and I was told that it wasn't. I consider it an almost-all inclusive, breakfast and dinner are both included and they are buffet style. You have one option only of where to dine, except on fridays and saturdays where an a-la-carte restaurant opens. Lunch and booze are not included. Thats it. The cuisine is below average. When you ask for any of the dishes a-la-carte I consider them to be below average. Nothing special. And believe me, Bahian cuisine is very yummy.
Now the SPA. As the rest of the hotel, the setting is gorgeous. Thats it. The massage therapists barely say hello and are the massage itself is nothing special. Just a typical, no technique, zero delicacy and absolutely no spa-professionalism massage. Something like lay down, get oil rubbed on and go away.
The service was below average as well. Getting a chilled coconut on the beach was a mission, and keep in mind we were there for low season. I can not imagine what it would be like in high season when the hotel is packed.
I would not recommed this hotels for couples. The place is packed with children.
So to wrap it up, I will not be going back, do not recommed it. It has a lot of potential but that is it.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Verinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2011

I stqyed here on conference in June, the rooms are very pretty and I was lucky enough to have one facing the ocean. The little monkeys running around everywhere were really good and you have to try a pineapple/kiwi batida!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fernga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

In resume ,its a three star with a price of a five(very expensive not corresponding to expectations) .Not all inclusive ,food was a medium self service(just dinner) ,bad and repetitive breakfast, old instalations ,ridiculous spa.If you want something really good and with a price better go to iberostar

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ottomacedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

We stayed here in April 2008 whilst on a multi site trip around Brzail. We spent the rest of the honeymoon in average hotels and an ecolodge in the pantenal but this hotel was our little luxury treat at the end. We found the staff fantastic and the room large, clean and loved the jacuzzi on the large balcony overlooking the sea and palm trees of prais do forte beach. The buffet breakfast and evening meals were superb with lots of choice. The grounds are lovely and full of wild birds, monkey etc. The2 pools are lovely and when we were there the hotel was busy but not overcrowded- still very peaceful >we are regulars to upmarket hotels so dont claim to be an expect but would recommend to others wanting something nicer than your average hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clurejones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
assis
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

I had been there before and both times this hotel is very good, service is perfect and the proximity from nature is almost natural!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jupenco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mata de Sao Joao
0.7 mi away
Hotel-Pousada Porto da Lua
Hotel-Pousada Porto da Lua
#1 of 10 in Praia do Forte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
0.7 mi away
Refugio da Vila
Refugio da Vila
#2 of 10 in Praia do Forte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Via dos Corais
Hotel Via dos Corais
#6 of 10 in Praia do Forte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Grand Palladium Imbassai Resort & Spa
3.0 mi away
Iberostar Praia do Forte
Iberostar Praia do Forte
#3 of 10 in Praia do Forte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,739 reviews
2.8 mi away
Iberostar Bahia
Iberostar Bahia
#4 of 10 in Praia do Forte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tivoli Ecoresort Praia do Forte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tivoli Ecoresort Praia do Forte

Property: Tivoli Ecoresort Praia do Forte
Address: Av. Do Farol,S/N - Praia Do Forte | Cerqueira Cesar, Mata de Sao Joao, State of Bahia 48280-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Bahia > Mata de Sao Joao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mata de Sao Joao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tivoli Ecoresort Praia do Forte 4.5*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Brazil, to the north of Salvador, Bahia, there is an idyllic place for lovers of Brazil ecotourism, which is both beautiful and luxurious. The Tivoli Ecoresort Praia do Forte is a 5-star Bahia hotel where simple architecture is in harmony with the stunning scenery and the biodiversity of the surrounding area. Here you will find a tropical destination perfect for family holidays, business meetings, weddings, birthdays or a dream honeymoon. Enjoy the extensive range of well-being treatments at the Thalasso SPA and relax among the colourful gardens and natural pools in Vila Praia do Forte. The exclusive cuisine at the resort restaurants promises a culinary journey through exotic flavours blended with touches of the sea and coconuts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, HotelsClick, TravelUp, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tivoli Ecoresort Praia do Forte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tivoli Ecoresort Praia Do Forte Hotel Mata De Sao Joao
Praia Do Forte Tivoli Ecoresort
Tivoli Ecoresort Praia Do Forte Brazil/Bahia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing