We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tivoli Ecoresort Praia do Forte
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Lots of improvement”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Its great to go back to Tivoli Praia do Forte and realize all the improvements management achieved in this hotel. We always loved to stay at Tivoli , but this last stay was suberb. The manager Mr. Joao Eça did an outstanding job with the staff, rooms, entertainement amog all other services on the hotel Children love to stay there and have fun on the beach, kids club !!

Room Tip: Suite de luxe is the way to go !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marcelo k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,851 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,026
    1,300
    357
    97
    71
See reviews for
2,072
824
56
476
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Romantic scape to chic beach resort for the weddings anniversary celebrations was magical. Everything worked nice and smooth from the airport transfer (in and out) to the dinners and local attractions but at their cost. The staff is very well trained, courteous and efficient, but sometimes they are flooded by people checking in or out and then the service would be slow. No problem you can wait drinking fresh coconut water and enjoying the sea and grarden view. Breakfast and dinner was very good with wide selection of foods but lack of low fat dishes and no sugar desserts. The room master category was large and confortable also the bathroom and cleaning on average. The premium rooms in Sectors 5 to 9 are isolated, avoid them. Many swimming pools including one for adults only but not completely respected by guests. Very stylish champagne bar and very good service at the sunbeds in the beach. Even crowded you can find a spot to relax and tanning. Many kinds of aquatic playing for all ages, but charged per person. You can go walking to the village, 20 minutes around 3/4 mile, or pay US$5 to a tuc-tuc ride but be careful as some of those adapted motorcycle seems not very safe. The village is very nice plenty of options to eat, to shop (local and brand stuff) and to hang out but its crowded at night. Projeto Tamar is the marine turtle center to visit. Definitely we will be back.

Room Tip: Rooms master spa in the spa area are quiet and calm. The master room worths its price. For family wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joao M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almada, Portugal
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

I'm a regular customer since 2003. I've never stayed more than 2 years apart. People keep asking me why are we always coming back, because there are better (and cheaper) places in Brasil and other parts of the world.
Yes, it's true. It's not the best place on earth and it's quite expensive. However, staff is very friendly, they always remember our name, they say "Hello, how nice it is to see you again" when you come back. The food at Goa restaurant is amazing. The new hotel rooms are far better than the old ones, which were not worthy of a hotel of that nature.
The beach is beautiful, although don't expect clean blue water or hot sea. If you stay on the beach watching the sea, you will see really large turtles swimming all over the place. Amazing to see.
The village near by is very nice with lovely (but expensive) shops. We have never felt any danger on the way there, by the road or the beach (only 10 mns walk).
The entertainment at night was far better a few years ago, before the Grupo BES took over the place. We've seen it all, Mexican groups, Portuguese groups, very boring jazz groups, playing stuff not aligned with the atmosphere... You are expecting forró, samba and Brazilian culture, not something you'd rather hear at home, in winter.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ana GP P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goiania, GO
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

This is an old hotel in good shape,and the best of all for me was the green area with plenty of chairs and umbrelas. Rooms are confortable but some may be far from the central area of pools and restaurants.I stayed 5 nights at the master and it was good enough for a couple.Beach is nice for walking and calm for swiming to both sides . To the left side you can reach the small village with restaurants and shops in a 15 minutes walking.Food is good and you have breakfast and dinner included . Breakfast has everything you need but dinner was only medium quality for me ( water ,juices, beer and soft drinks included only for dinner) . You can have free internet in 4 PCs at the bar but wifi was charged (best fare for 7 days ) . You can have lunch at the hotel with snacks or at the restaurant that I recomend Goa with a goop price and view of the big pool .Other option is walk to the village and try some restaurant. There is a good gym and an expensive and empty spa.

Room Tip: Get a room close to the central area because the hotel has a very wide shape
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ALEXRASSI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knowle
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

We visited in May 2013 and stayed for 7 nights after spending 3 nights in Rio. The hotel is beautifully situated in its own grounds which are landscaped to the beach. You are greeted by the customary welcome drink, with a clever twist for those not wanting alcohol, milk actually out of a coconut.

Our room was of a generally good standard. Not particularly large for a family of three (my daughter’s bed was put where the bed side table had been). We had a balcony with a hammock and distant view of the sea, whilst the bathroom was fairly large, there was no bath which was disappointing. One thing to bear in mind is that this place is very tropical and quite humid with it’s fair share of wild life! We literally had monkeys outside the room (they were all around the place but didn’t bother you), iguanas by the infinity pool and some of the insects/creatures were a bit different (chameleons, lizards and large beetles etc). However please don’t let that put you off. For this reason I would recommend an upstairs room (there are only two levels).

In terms of the food this looked and tasted fantastic. There was a different ornate buffet on every evening and there was always a talented acoustic guitarist/singer accompanying the meal. We didn’t realise at first but actually all beer and soft drinks were included, however one reason that we didn’t pick this up was that no one spoke English which did become quite a problem when we had to query things such as the wine etc. The desserts were also varied, elaborate and tasted good so I understand. One thing we hated was that the waitresses emptied all the food scraps in the restaurant on a food trolley like you were at school – horrendous!

At this point I need to disclose that after I had been in the resort for 24 hours I contracted a really nasty stomach bug which I battled with (and lost!) all week. I therefore tried bits of food in between starving myself and drinking bottled water. However I should say that both my wife and my 5 year old daughter were absolutely fine. We did see occasions though where we saw some food sitting around in the heat at lunchtime which did make me wonder if I was ill due to the lack of food hygiene – but clearly I have nothing to base this comment on.

Other negatives on this point would be the lack of concern for health and safety compared to European countries. We couldn’t believe, for example that the monkeys were above us in the open sided thatched restaurant at breakfast and ready to eat a roll or two when people weren’t looking. One amazing thing was that on every table was a note telling you facts about the cute monkeys, but also that if they bit you when you were feeding them you could catch RABIES! Ok maybe not feed the monkeys then!

Another thing that we weren’t happy with was that we saw what could only described as floating froth/scummy water on two of the pools, so again cleanliness wasn’t a strong point in this respect.
We also were not happy that on the last two days of our stay the hotel was totally taken over by what appeared to be a major Heineken worldwide conference. There must have been over 250 delegates, numerous Heineken promotional banners. What was amazing was the one spa area that the previous day had signs around it said ‘silent area’ had now become a bar for the Heineken delegates! How does that work?!

In terms of location, the hotel is just down the road from Praia de Forte. You can take a Tukituki there for just 20 riyals return and it takes just about 5 minutes to get there. There are numerous bars, gift shops and two supermarkets where you can buy water. There are also two pharmacies which came in useful for me!

The Turtle project is also at Praia de Forte you can walk to the town from the hotel but this is likely to take about 30-40 minutes if you feel inclined. We bought a trip through the ‘experience’ team at the hotel and went there on an air conditioned coach for a 45 minute tour. This was one of the highlights for us as we saw some baby turtles literally dug out the sand and placed on the shore to run into the sea. Amazing! We also saw some large adult Turtles in the sea when my wife and daughter were swimming about 30 metres from the shore and again this was an incredible sight.

There wasn’t much entertainment when we went but I think this was a quieter time of year. What was an incredible sight was the number of quite wealthy Brazilian families with their own nannies following them round. The hotel also offered a service whereby you could also put your child with an individual nanny from breakfast until 9pm! They actually had a session called ‘meet the parents’ at 9pm. I am not joking!

Overall I think the hotel is well situated with some tremendous facilities. You are never going to find a true 5 star hotel in Brazil as you would find in say Europe. This is effectively a 3.5 star service hotel with 4/5 star facilities (the view from the beach is like the Caribbean. However on balance I would recommend, but be careful with the food and take a Brazilian phrase book!

Room Tip: Second Floor but ask for a room with a bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LordKixley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valinhos, SP
Level 6 Contributor
582 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 290 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Nature all around, nice beach, close to the turtle research center (Projeto Tamar), very spacious rooms, lots of activities including diving and sailing, good food, etc. Just perfect for the whole family if you like to be isolated from the rest of the world,although you can still walk to the small downtown.

Room Tip: Try to get one close the restaurant and lobby, otherwise is can be a long walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aguywhotravelsalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Spent 4 nights at this property, app 1 1/2 hour north of Salvador. It is a safe, decent and cosy place to escape hot weather and reenergise. Small village Praia do Forte is app 1km away and offers good selection of restaurants, bars and small shops.

The property is located in a rather extensive area, so depending where your room is, it may take you some time to walk to spa or tennis courts or fitness.

Also, hotel is liked by families with young children, so if you are looking for rather quiet, undisturbed holiday, it may disappoint in this sense. Food, breakfast and buffet dinners were generous, meal well prepared - no complain on this front.

Hotel is ranked 5* and it probably deserves such standard, but for me it lacked a "wow" effect. Maybe it was also thanks to the fact that staff was rather weak in English (or me weak in Portuguesse) so communication was sometimes an issue - but one should not wonder, since R$ is so strong that Brasil became prohibitive to foreign tourists.

Room Tip: rooms on lower levels with direct entry to the gardens, I liked the ones more secluded from pools an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Milan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mata de Sao Joao
0.9 mi away
Hotel-Pousada Porto da Lua
Hotel-Pousada Porto da Lua
#1 of 10 in Praia do Forte
508 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Via dos Corais
Hotel Via dos Corais
#6 of 10 in Praia do Forte
725 reviews
3.1 mi away
Iberostar Praia do Forte
Iberostar Praia do Forte
#2 of 10 in Praia do Forte
6,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Grand Palladium Imbassai Resort & Spa
14.7 mi away
Iberostar Bahia
Iberostar Bahia
#3 of 10 in Praia do Forte
4,654 reviews
6.5 mi away
Costa Dos Coqueiros Resort
Costa Dos Coqueiros Resort
#2 of 2 in Mata de Sao Joao
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tivoli Ecoresort Praia do Forte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tivoli Ecoresort Praia do Forte

Property: Tivoli Ecoresort Praia do Forte
Address: Av. Do Farol,S/N - Praia Do Forte | Cerqueira Cesar, Mata de Sao Joao, State of Bahia 48280-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Bahia > Mata de Sao Joao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mata de Sao Joao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tivoli Ecoresort Praia do Forte 4.5*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Brazil, to the north of Salvador, Bahia, there is an idyllic place for lovers of Brazil ecotourism, which is both beautiful and luxurious. The Tivoli Ecoresort Praia do Forte is a 5-star Bahia hotel where simple architecture is in harmony with the stunning scenery and the biodiversity of the surrounding area. Here you will find a tropical destination perfect for family holidays, business meetings, weddings, birthdays or a dream honeymoon. Enjoy the extensive range of well-being treatments at the Thalasso SPA and relax among the colourful gardens and natural pools in Vila Praia do Forte. The exclusive cuisine at the resort restaurants promises a culinary journey through exotic flavours blended with touches of the sea and coconuts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Tivoli Ecoresort Praia do Forte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tivoli Ecoresort Praia Do Forte Hotel Mata De Sao Joao
Praia Do Forte Tivoli Ecoresort
Tivoli Ecoresort Praia Do Forte Brazil/Bahia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing