We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Beach Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tivoli Ecoresort Praia do Forte
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Excellent Beach Hotel”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

After a whirlwind tour of Brazil over a couple of weeks, we elected to recharge our batteries for 4 nights before heading home to England and chose the Tivoli. It did not disappoint, met with a welcome drink and helpful reception staff with good English. The hotel is situated right on the beach with plenty of space in well kept gardens and a choice of pools. A joy to walk round. Whilst there a couple of corporate events took place, but did not affect our enjoyment at all.
The room was clean with an excellent bathroom with a wonderful shower that left you completely refreshed. Only problem, no bedside table or lamp on one side of a king sized bed, which seemed an omission.
Free lockbox and free Wi-Fi if you join the hotel's loyalty programme, which we did. It worked well all over the grounds. As usual in Brazil no tea/coffee making facilities.
The village of Praia do Forte was a beautiful place to visit as was the turtle sanctuary. It was only a 15/20 minute walk by the lake or 20 minutes along the beach, both ways delightful.
It was safe to swim in the sea here, with all the facilities you would expect from a beach hotel.
Breakfast was extensive with a comprehensive assortment of choices, though don't pick a table at the edge of the restaurant as you may have the monkeys joining you! The evening meal was also excellent with a different array of choices each night. Dinner also included water/soft drinks/beer/ tea & coffee. The staff were very helpful and attentive.
NB: All plug points were 220v round 2-pin euro sockets, not the 110v flat 2-pin as in other parts of Brazil. Reception were very good and lent us an adapter, as we had not brought a euro one with us.
Overall this was an excellent hotel and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and would definitely stay again if in the area.

Room Tip: Take a round 2-pin euro plug adapter (220v), as no flat pins are used.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank difaJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,753 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,955
    1,285
    350
    94
    69
See reviews for
2,012
801
55
470
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Hotel it's to beautiful like others that I have been before, they are not looking for Hospitality which the main point in a hotel, resort or B&B, facilities to get chaotic service, what I understood to stay in this resort is that they invest for in how it looks, SPA has a jacuzzi which is ashamed old and scary even to get into it, it's defenetely not good for the money for what I paid. Service it's slow which I understand, in Bahia people have a slow speed everywhere comper if other states in Brazil. And I can't understand how people pay this amount of money and don't make a review. You can check on reviews that the most of them are high scored by Brazilian which have not travelling much around in the world to compare prices and values. That's why they marked a higher score for then it's a luxury.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DaniloMaciel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TivoliHotelsResorts, General Manager at Tivoli Ecoresort Praia do Forte, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear DaniloMT,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at Tivoli Ecoresort Praia do Forte. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Tivoli Ecoresort Praia do Forte, one of The Preferred Hotels, we continuously strive to meet your needs and expectations; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Allow me to take a few moments to pint out the actions that were taken:

/ Tivoli Ecoresort Praia do Forte strives to provide the best service among the worldwide hospitality industry and not only the Brazilian market;

/ As for our facilities we are continually renovating the resort to maintain the highest standards. For example the Tabareu Restaurant has just been updated and is sure to be a highlight for years to come.

We appreciate the time you took to share your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Sincerely,

João Eça Pinheiro
General Manager | Tivoli Ecoresort Praia do Forte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

This is a lovely half-board resort with wonderful pool facilities. Rather late in the day we were asked to change the dates of our 4 night stay, due to a corporate event, in exchange for an upgrade to a suite, which we agreed to. When we arrived the suite was arranged for 2 people, not the triple room we had booked. It took several hours to get 3 of everything delivered. The suite was spacious and comfortable for 2 of the 3 of us - our adult daughter was expected to sleep in a bed more suited to an short teenager. On our last-but-one day we were asked to move again, to an even posher suite with an outside jacuzzi, because other corporate guests had left and the hotel was grouping the few remaining holidaymakers in one small area of the spread-out hotel. According to hotel staff, the hotel was to be closed entirely in a few days for some exclusive private event and our last day was spent watching and hearing construction work and generators being installed for this event. The staff tried their best to make it up to us by drinks on the house at dinner etc, However, one benefit of there being a lot of corporate guests there during our stay was that they were working all day, leaving the fabulous outdoor facilities empty and just for us! The restaurants were similarly pleasantly unbusy and the buffet food was excellent in variety, quality and quantity.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Positive-pensioner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TivoliHotelsResorts, General Manager at Tivoli Ecoresort Praia do Forte, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Positive-pensioner,

First of all thank you for having chosen Tivoli Ecoresort Praia do Forte.

And thank you for noticing the facilities and our restaurants we always attempt to provide the best food options as well as the best facilities for our guests. We recognize the fact that we are a holiday destination and are the choice of many for a well-deserved relaxation.

With this in mind we apologize the inconvenience of having to move rooms due to the event and passing on the impression that tourists come, we strive to provide the ultimate relaxation for our guests.

Thank you again for having stayed with us.

Kind Regards,

P.S – Think your username is great.

João Eça Pinheiro
General Manager | Tivoli Ecoresort Praia do Forte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Beautiful beach location but rooms only 3-4 star. But beach being a stone's throw away more than makes up for room quality. Expect some crawly bugs in and around rooms, but not enough to freak insectophobes, again beach more than makes for the crawlies. Mossies are noticeably absent in April, but maybe that's because of the periodic fumigation of the site by a bloke on a motorised bicycle! Business facilities are OK but fairly basic. Wifi works very well. Small meeting rooms OK but basic. Event area toilets are a bit grim with some resident cockroaches, but just about serviceable. Not sure I'd go back for a 100-150 person meeting unless they sent the pest control geezer in with a large can of insecticide and a mallet. Good food at restaurants, they're quite pleasant but no Michelin or any other stars. Oh, and in April, it's not only hot but also pretty humid. A fair trek (5-10 minutes) from room to business centre results results in a fairly soppy shirt/suit. Staff are generally helpful and usually cheery. (But to be fair, most Brazilians are friendly and generally a hoot). Overall, if you have to hold an event in Brazil then this is a fair alternative to hotel meeting facilities in big cities (plus bonus of few fewer scary handgun-toting psychotics waiting to divest you of cash, gear and dignity - although the risk does prompt some ground handlers to recommend bulletproof cars for the 45 min drive from the airport!). It's popular with Brazilian event companies, but definitely has some downsides.....but they might be worth it just for the beach!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kopel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TivoliHotelsResorts, General Manager at Tivoli Ecoresort Praia do Forte, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Kopel,

Thank you for noticing our team, we have a rigorous selection process to ensure the best staff possible for our hotel.

As for the insects, we apologize if they were any inconvenience. Being so close to nature and the beach, we do the best possible to ensure that insects do not affect the comfort of our guests by continuous fumigation.

In respect of our facilities we always seek to continually renovate and update to ensure that our guests will consider them to be the facilities of a 5 star hotel that Tivoli Ecoresort Praia do Forte is. And our restaurants use the local and fresh ingredients to strive for the best food possible.

We recognize the fact that our beach hotel can be fairly hot. We provide a few carts around the hotel to facilitate our guests movement around the hotel to ensure that they are the most comfortable possible.

We thank you for your comments and we definitely will use your comments to seek to improve our service and facility.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind Regards,

João Eça Pinheiro
General Manager | Tivoli Ecoresort Praia do Forte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Visited for 3 days to attend a conference. Hotel and facilities were pretty good. Especially liked the open air gym (could use some more equipment). Beach and pool were very nice and wish I had brought my kids! Breakfast was excellent.
Pros: Good breakfast, nice choice of facilities, good beach and pool. Very nice location.
Cons: Bugs in room. no alarm clocks.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 80grims80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parkland, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

My husband and I spent three nights here last week, driving up from Salvador. Although it was around 2pm our room was not ready. The room was satisfactory, but nothing special. When it rained, which it did several times a day as this is the tropics, there were leaks in the outside passageways. Our main complaint about this resort is that it is a poor value for the money they are charging. It is also annoying to pay these room prices and not have even water in your room included let alone WiFi. It took forever to get the WiFi to work, IT was not helpful and Wifi did not work properly on some of our devices but they refused to make any financial adjustments. Service was poor in general. We often waited a long time at the bar for someone to come although it was not crowded. Also, the evening "show" was a joke - a few people singing or dancing on the stage.
I can think of many places to go and spend $500 a night where you would have a much higher standard than this place. Nice beach tho.

Room Tip: Some rooms are quite far from the center of the resort and the dining facilities. If you are not ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Mariana333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
73 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

First of all I want to thank the hotelteam so much!
All of them have helped us in a way,that nobody could imagine!
My thanks to the great generalmanager,to the wonderful receptionteam,to the fitnesstrainers,to the waitresses in luna-hotel,to the waitresses at the beach,to the drivers.....to all who helped usand comforted us in a very painful time!
First:Tivoli Ecoresort is amazing,a wonderful place to relaxe,really a paradise,very close to praia do forte,a very nice village,at the beach
we(7 adults) had three big sparooms facing the ocean,everything was very clean,food was very good ;the service excellent.
Than we had a stroke with our mother;all of them did everything for us!
we will never forget the humanity of the generalmanager and the whole team and we will surely return soon

Room Tip: when you have spa-rooms you need not pay for the spa,which is excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maria e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TivoliHotelsResorts, Gerente geral at Tivoli Ecoresort Praia do Forte, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Friends,

We hope you had a safe trip back home. We thank you for the kind words regarding the Hotel and staff.

Everything we did was from the bottom of our hearts and with a lot of respect for the family and respect for you mother. In any situation like the one you experienced we fully believe that it is our duty to fully support you in every way we can.

We join you all in your grief and look forward to have you back at the hotel.

Don’t hesitate to contact us if we can be of any assistance.

Best regards

João Eça Pinheiro
Managing Director - Tivoli Ecoresort Praia do Forte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mata de Sao Joao
0.9 mi away
Hotel-Pousada Porto da Lua
Hotel-Pousada Porto da Lua
#1 of 10 in Praia do Forte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
0.7 mi away
Refugio da Vila
Refugio da Vila
#2 of 10 in Praia do Forte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
3.1 mi away
Iberostar Praia do Forte
Iberostar Praia do Forte
#3 of 10 in Praia do Forte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Grand Palladium Imbassai Resort & Spa
14.7 mi away
Iberostar Bahia
Iberostar Bahia
#4 of 10 in Praia do Forte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,449 reviews
5.0 mi away
Vila Gale Mares
Vila Gale Mares
#1 of 5 in Camacari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tivoli Ecoresort Praia do Forte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tivoli Ecoresort Praia do Forte

Property: Tivoli Ecoresort Praia do Forte
Address: Av. Do Farol,S/N - Praia Do Forte | Cerqueira Cesar, Mata de Sao Joao, State of Bahia 48280-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Bahia > Mata de Sao Joao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mata de Sao Joao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tivoli Ecoresort Praia do Forte 4.5*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Brazil, to the north of Salvador, Bahia, there is an idyllic place for lovers of Brazil ecotourism, which is both beautiful and luxurious. The Tivoli Ecoresort Praia do Forte is a 5-star Bahia hotel where simple architecture is in harmony with the stunning scenery and the biodiversity of the surrounding area. Here you will find a tropical destination perfect for family holidays, business meetings, weddings, birthdays or a dream honeymoon. Enjoy the extensive range of well-being treatments at the Thalasso SPA and relax among the colourful gardens and natural pools in Vila Praia do Forte. The exclusive cuisine at the resort restaurants promises a culinary journey through exotic flavours blended with touches of the sea and coconuts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tivoli Ecoresort Praia do Forte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tivoli Ecoresort Praia Do Forte Hotel Mata De Sao Joao
Praia Do Forte Tivoli Ecoresort
Tivoli Ecoresort Praia Do Forte Brazil/Bahia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing