We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ecoresort Maintains it's Hi level!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tivoli Ecoresort Praia do Forte
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 March 2011

It was my 3 rd time at Ecoresort, I was there also in 2005 and 2008.
The Hotel maintains its very hi standards both in terms of the facilities, the staff and the food.
I think the only thing that it can improve are the rooms, mainly the basic ones which are poor, minding its price.
It is one of my favorite places in the world, the facilities, the beach (where you can walk for hours), the pools, the food, the staff!!! and the Spa...
In the future they must review the prices, it is not an Ecoresort thing but a Brazil thing. Here you pay 3 times more than equivalent places in other countries. I'm Portuguese and for me there are other reasons besides price that make the choose this Hotel, but I think they could attract much more Europeans and Americans if they review their Princing Policy.
But above all its a truly fantastic place.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pedritocalheiros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,942)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

233 - 239 of 3,942 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2011

Tivoli Eco Resort is my favourite place of holidays! I get to rest, enjoy and have fun at the same time! the rooms are fantastic as well as all the services it has to offer! the staff is incredible!
i could not spend two years without visiting it!

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarianaMart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2011

After looking at many options in Bahia and Praia do Forte, we felt Tivoli fit our needs. I was a little nervous about our choice after reading the reviews. BUT, when we arrived (even at night), I was pleasantly surprised and thankful. The resort is very well-kept, lush, tropical and beautiful. Only drawback: while our master room was very clean and conveniently located (2nd floor, close to goa restaurant), it was a bit on the small side for the price. Lovely spacious terrace, but would have expected a "living area/couch" inside the room given the price. Otherwise....fantastic food....and LOTS of it. Had read, but wasn't sure that breakfast/dinner was included at Goa. So good and so many options. Will say that the dinner options might get tiring after a week's stay, but was perfect for us for 3 days. Beach is quiet and serene. GREAT open air fitness center! Not the clearest/bluest water I've ever seen, but not at all dirty. Staff was very friendly and helpful - very few spoke English, but so what! Organized a great tour of Salvador for us. Was a perfect stay!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewYorkTravelgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2011

I am Brazilian but I have been living in France for more than 10 years. My wife and I have been to the Eco Resort a couple of times, the first being in 2002.

This is, in my opinion, the best resort in Bahia and one of the top 3 in Brazil. It still provides outstanding cuisine, spacious and comfortable rooms, friendly and competent personnel, unbeatable and safe location and all facilities and service one can ask of a 5 stars hotel.

All of that, of course, comes with a price, but it is worth the cost. However, those that have known it for long feel that the new Management has changed it from a cozy and exclusive establishment integrated into the community to a 5 star cash machine. They increased capacity and prices, and ended some community programs. We actually feel more pressured to spend money in the beach restaurant, and the staff lost some of its natural, layback attitude. Everyone I have spoken with agrees that prices skyrocketed and it lost a bit of soul after it was sold to an investment group.

The kinks I would like to mention are related to the guests rather to the hotel itself; these are things the hotel will have a hard time fixing (if they ever try).

- First, some guests created an underground service for reserving beach-front chairs that makes the whole system corrupt and very unfair. If you want a beach front chair, you need to either wake up at 5:30 am (like we used to do), or pay the “caixinha” to the employees responsible for cleaning the chairs. The hotel management is aware of the issue but they have yet to find an effective solution. It is very unfortunate that guests are contributing to one of the worst problems in Brazil by corrupting employees instead of making the effort to earn a place in the sun…

- The second issue is also related to a social problem. Some guests are extremely rude and impolite, which leads to some misbehavior one rarely sees in other places. I saw people “stealing” beach chairs, physically aggressing the staff, loudly using Nextel mobile phones during more than one hour while others wanted to rest, insulting other guests for no reason, shouting loudly instead of walking 50 meters, etc. I have rarely seen such behavior in Brazil, but I guess that is one of the consequences of a booming economy that generates wealth but does not raises the education level of the population. These people are a small minority, but be aware that you will certainly run into half a dozen “cases” during your stay.

In spite of the kinks, I am already preparing my next trip to Praia do Forte!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LuizTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2010

This hotel was well recommended by several people and we chose for the promise of comfort, fabulous location and service.
The location is really great and service in general (specially room and restaurant) was good. Food is delicious (the quality decreased a bit when the season changed) and kinds entertainment was high quality.
Nevertheless I was highly disappointed. During our stay the hotel had a serious problem with the water quality, which became brackish, sticky and smelly. Despite the complaints the hotel neglected the issue, treating it as an individual. Later we realized it wasn't happening only to us, but in other rooms too. It took the hotel 3 days to act and solve. They only offered potable water for those who had babies, which was my case, although I was not included in this distribution.
I left a long letter when I left and until now I have no response from them, which also caused me a great disappointment.
It is a great place to go, which I would definitely recommend to friends if there wasn't for this problem. I would risk a advise knowing that they cannot handle this kind of issue properly.
Besides that, my evaluation of the room quality is also not so good. It was humid and smelly. Despite being the cheapest option, I was paying for a top-rated hotel and expected a better service and quality.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CamilaCruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2010

Satid at Tivoli for a shortbreak with the family.

The scenario is absolutely exceptional, as the friendliness of the staff. It's a perfect choice if you want to relax and appreciate the good things in life. Kid's partk (Careta Careta) will turn you children into fans of Tivoli. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cs0025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2010

If what you want is an excellent three-star beach hotel , focused on conventions or big groups, you will be ok at Tivoli. If what you want is a five-star resort, as the Tivoli tries to sell itself, you will be disappointed. Very disappointed.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aversa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mata de Sao Joao
0.9 mi away
Hotel-Pousada Porto da Lua
Hotel-Pousada Porto da Lua
#1 of 10 in Praia do Forte
516 reviews
0.7 mi away
Refugio da Vila
Refugio da Vila
#3 of 10 in Praia do Forte
521 reviews
3.0 mi away
Iberostar Praia do Forte
Iberostar Praia do Forte
#2 of 10 in Praia do Forte
6,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Iberostar Bahia
Iberostar Bahia
#4 of 10 in Praia do Forte
4,768 reviews
7.9 mi away
Grand Palladium Imbassai Resort & Spa
6.5 mi away
Costa Dos Coqueiros Resort
Costa Dos Coqueiros Resort
#2 of 2 in Mata de Sao Joao
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tivoli Ecoresort Praia do Forte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tivoli Ecoresort Praia do Forte

Address: Av. Do Farol,S/N - Praia Do Forte | Cerqueira Cesar, Mata de Sao Joao, State of Bahia 48280-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Bahia > Mata de Sao Joao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mata de Sao Joao
Price Range: £302 - £808 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tivoli Ecoresort Praia do Forte 4.5*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Brazil, to the north of Salvador, Bahia, there is an idyllic place for lovers of Brazil ecotourism, which is both beautiful and luxurious. The Tivoli Ecoresort Praia do Forte is a 5-star Bahia hotel where simple architecture is in harmony with the stunning scenery and the biodiversity of the surrounding area. Here you will find a tropical destination perfect for family holidays, business meetings, weddings, birthdays or a dream honeymoon. Enjoy the extensive range of well-being treatments at the Thalasso SPA and relax among the colourful gardens and natural pools in Vila Praia do Forte. The exclusive cuisine at the resort restaurants promises a culinary journey through exotic flavours blended with touches of the sea and coconuts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tivoli Ecoresort Praia do Forte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tivoli Ecoresort Praia Do Forte Hotel Mata De Sao Joao
Praia Do Forte Tivoli Ecoresort
Tivoli Ecoresort Praia Do Forte Brazil/Bahia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing