We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Room was noisy and smelly. Very disappointed.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Shalimar Praia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
BEST WESTERN Shalimar Praia Hotel
Ranked #9 of 93 Hotels in Porto Seguro
Certificate of Excellence
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Room was noisy and smelly. Very disappointed.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

I stayed here with my wife for an overnight stop off before heading to Trancoso the following day. We arrived late on a flight so got there around midnight. We were taken to a room at the front of the hotel so had the noise of the traffic outside and there was a really strong smell of urine in the corridor and the room itself.
To be fair, the breakfast was really good and the next morning, after having a look around the rest of the hotel, I'd say we must have been given one of the worst rooms because the area around the swimming pool looked much better than our room.
We would have asked to move if we had got there earlier in the day but because it was so late we were too tired to complain and the staff didnt speak english. Overall a bit disappointing bearing in mind it s a Best Western which normally provides a much better standard of room.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel, perhaps overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
517VanessaH, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Shalimar Praia Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Sr,
Thank you for sending us your feedback hosting!
We are very sorry about your dissatisfaction. Our employees are trained to do the best in order to satisfy all guest. Our 24 hours reception could have helped you. A simply telefone call would have made a all the difference in relation to your confort. We have different kind of accommodation. The apartments by the swimming pool are very confortable and silent. We hope we can have other opportunity to receive you and your wife and change your point of view in relation to our quality.
Have a nice week!

Vanessa Hartman
Best Western Shalimar Praia Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    305
    278
    52
    14
    7
See reviews for
282
187
19
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucumán
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

We lost our flight and Lan sent us to this hotel. It was really luxurious. The food was very good. A recomendation is having dinner early because late some menues run away. The swimming pool, the gym, the relax area, the staff are amazing.
Location: it is close but not very close. I need to take a bus or a taxi to go to the beaches and downtown. It is in the midle of those places. Very close to the airport. I did not pay because of what I explained before, but it is a little expensive I think (450 $R per night -standard doble room-).

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nacholo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

The hotel room was ok, but had strong damp smell! I got bitten by mosquitos and got a terrible allergy reaction which left my legs with red spots for at least 15 days, and still hasn't cleared up (around 6 months later) as they left dark marks on my legs. I had stayed in another hotel before moving to Shalimar only because they had 'better' internet wifi connection, but i regret it until today. The breakfast was good, had a variety of things and tasted very nice. After nearly a week in the hotel, in non-peak season (but still costing a LOT of money), we wanted to get a late checkout, but they said we would have to pay FULL price. RIDICULOUS!
Do not recommend it and would not go back there!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laiane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juiz de Fora, MG
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

Very good base for exploring surroundings (within walking distance to restaurants and markets) and / or staying around swimming pool. Hotel is clean and staff is helpfull. It got a bit too busy during breakfast hours as the hotel was full. A good designated jogging/bike lane across the street.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the leisure area seem to be better located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank machadoduque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level Contributor
113 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

My third visit to this hotel which I use due to its location with regard to a base for my business in Bahia. The rooms are of a good size and comfortable. The hotel Breakfast is also fine for the class of hotel.
Staff always helpful very little English but then I should learn Portuguese. Close to the airport with a good swimming pool to unwind after a day at work.The hotel offers good value when booked locally.

Room Tip: Rooms to the back overlook the pool and the front the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mimosaSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fribourg, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2011

The hotel is ok, I could even live with the cockroaches showing up in the bathrooms once in a while, it's just 3 minutes from the airport by car and within walking distance from the city center, the garden with swimming pool is very nice, BUT: be sure that you book a STANDARD room, NOT a luxury room. Sure, the latters have ocean view, but in this case this turned out to be a strong disadvantage because of the noisy street (the standard rooms with garden view are cheaper and quiter). Unfortunately, we could change the room because the hotel was fully booked. But yes, under the mentioned condition, I would still recommend it (if you don't fear our friend the cockroach, of course).

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank boschung76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2009

Hotel is not on the beach but we thought it would be fun to explore city and surronding towns. We reserved for a week long stay but arrived to find the hotel filled with groups of noisy junior high school age children running around the pool and halls night and day, noisy work going at the hotel, intermittent to non-existent in internet service, and to make matters worse so so breakfast and restaurant food. At least room was good sized, but horrible experience was so bad we left days earlier than planned because the management did not care to relocate us to quieter part of hotel and refused to offer a refund despite acknowledging the problems.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PMorganUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto Seguro hotels
2.7 mi away
Brisa da Praia Hotel
Brisa da Praia Hotel
#13 of 93 in Porto Seguro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,361 reviews
1.0 mi away
Quinta do Sol Praia Hotel
Quinta do Sol Praia Hotel
#21 of 93 in Porto Seguro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
3.4 mi away
Resort Villaggio Arcobaleno
Resort Villaggio Arcobaleno
#12 of 93 in Porto Seguro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Portal do Mundai Praia Hotel
Portal do Mundai Praia Hotel
#36 of 93 in Porto Seguro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
6.8 mi away
Coroa Vermelha Praia Hotel
Coroa Vermelha Praia Hotel
#8 of 93 in Porto Seguro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
3.5 mi away
Nauticomar All Inclusive Hotel & Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Shalimar Praia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Shalimar Praia Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Shalimar Praia Hotel
Address: Avenida Beira Mar 01 | Praia do Cruzeiro, Porto Seguro, State of Bahia 45810000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Bahia > Porto Seguro
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Porto Seguro
#15 Romantic Hotel in Porto Seguro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Shalimar Praia Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Shalimar Praia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Porto Seguro
Porto Seguro Best Western
BEST WESTERN Shalimar Praia Hotel Porto Seguro, Brazil - Bahia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing