We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite Hostel!”
Review of Hostel Galeria 13

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostel Galeria 13
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Favorite Hostel!”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

3 friends and I stayed at Galeria 13 for a few nights and found it amazing. Staff were chilled and helpful, and the breakfast and free caipirinhas were awesome!! It is a cosy place in an awesome central location and none of us could recommend it more.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    428
    153
    22
    4
    7
See reviews for
16
127
216
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hostel for 4 nights during the world cup. It's a great place to meet people, the hostel is super clean and the staff are very friendly and helpful. The location is great if u are looking to stay in the old city. In particular we appreciated breakfast til 12 each day and free capariniahs each night at happy hour. Please note we did hav a private room so we didn't experience the dorms. It was a bit noisy some nights but only because all the guests became friendly do quickly!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simmooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We really enjoyed this hostel and found it had everything you need. The staff are really helpful and take time to look after you and even do your bed sheets on a daily basis. The breakfast is really good and lots on offer. We went to Zulu twice and the food was not disappointing however we did go and there were a lot of things that were not available. I had curry on my mind all day and it wasn't there :( I would advise all travellers and families to stay here.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coopdahoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Spent 3 nights at Hostel Galeria 13 during World Cup Swiss v. France match. The hostel is ideally located in the Pelourinho region (historic center of Salvador). All the historic sites in Salvador are right at your doorstep. The free caipirinha hour was awesome!! They converted the common room to a TV room to watch the games which was nice. I'm guessing they'll leave the TV up after the World Cup. Staff were all very friendly and the breakfast food was very good. There were 3 of us staying in a 10 bed dorm room. It was a bit crowded (5 bunk beds) and the one bathroom for 10 people seemed unusual, I'm used to having a common bathroom/washroom for more people. Overall a great experience. Recommendation: take the city tour for 10 Reais on your first day, you get a good feeling for the area and ideas of places to go.

Room Tip: I would avoid the 10 person room if I stay there again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Hands down the best in Salvador from chatting with people in other hostels. Even friends staying at hotels who visited, were wishing they were staying here. Super cool vibe, free caipirinha hour, great facilities.....i miss this place.

Room Tip: Higher floors will be further away from the patio and ppol area that could get noisy if you're a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taf M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This hostel has a great location,in the Pelourinho region, and is a very good choice if you are looking for a budget accomodation and great service. All staff is really nice and friendly, they have a good breakfast included in the price, rooms are neat and clean, air conditioned and hot shower. Plus they have the friendliest dogs!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juliana_Carbonari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

Great place to stay and meet others alike... Brilliant breakfast, great rooms with AC and brilliant location. Staff do a great job!!! Paul the owner looked after us when eating at Zulu the restaurant tied with the hostel... Also great lounge with good internet for watching the World Cup. Made some great friends here and will always remember galaria 13!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salvador hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa do Amarelindo
Hotel Casa do Amarelindo
#2 of 111 in Salvador
1,063 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Bahia
Villa Bahia
#6 of 111 in Salvador
363 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bahiacafe Hotel
Bahiacafe Hotel
#15 of 111 in Salvador
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sheraton da Bahia - Hotel Salvador
0.3 mi away
A Casa das Portas Velhas
A Casa das Portas Velhas
#16 of 111 in Salvador
194 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aram Yami Hotel
Aram Yami Hotel
#1 of 111 in Salvador
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Galeria 13? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Galeria 13

Property: Hostel Galeria 13
Address: Rua da Ordem Terceira 23 | Pelourinho, Salvador, State of Bahia 40026-260, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Bahia > Salvador
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 294 Speciality Lodging in Salvador
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Pelourinho, a UNESCO World Heritage Site, are the three houses that make up the Galeria 13 experience: one for social travellers, one for those seeking a quieter stay, and TripAdvisor’s top rated Bar Zulu in between them.This unique blend of moods, sights and flavours has rendered us the Best Hostel in Brazil award as voted by HostelWorld members, and a place in Lonely Planet’s finicky section Our Pick along with some flattering words from the traveller’s holy book.No wonder: by staying with us you get tons of freebies, including our obscenely big breakfast until midday, caipirinha happy hour, swimming pool, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel Galeria 13 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Galeria 13 Salvador, Bahia, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing