We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hostel in Salvador”
Review of Hostel Galeria 13

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostel Galeria 13
Certificate of Excellence
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
131 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Best Hostel in Salvador”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This is the best hostel in Salvador with an awesome experience. The owner is quite friendly and he promotes a culture which encourages people to interact with each other. During my stay, there was a free Caipirinha hour. Things like this ensure that people stay in the common area which helps them make new friends.
The owner also has a restaurant nearby and he offers the hostel guests a discount there. The restaurant called Bar Zulu had one of the tastiest Burgers in the area also offering some vegetarian items for me.
If only he could reduce the number of guests in a dorm, this place would be just perfect!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sachindixit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    428
    153
    22
    4
    7
See reviews for
16
127
216
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This was the best hostel I stayed at while in South America. It is in a fantastic location in Pelourinho.

The rooms are comfortable enough. While there were 10 beds in my dorm, the rooms were large enough not to feel too crowded.

The breakfast is excellent and goes until midday. The happy hour with free caipirinhas was brilliant. It created a fantastic atmosphere and made it easy to meet others.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niall C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This hostel is up there with one of my favorites I've traveled. The staff is quite friendly, especially the owner. I had the unfortunate incident the day prior to arriving with being pick pocketed in Lapa, Rio (be careful there). Although it wasn't anything serious, it was a huge inconvenience to my travels. My debit card + back up (accidentally had both on me) was stolen so I had to manage money wisely. Incredibly stressed out, the owner put me at ease and helped me figure a way to manage until I get back to Rio. Luckily I met a local from my hometown and we solved my dilemma (Paypal).

The hostel: Very clean and secure.

The room: I stayed in a 12 bunk. It's a little bit dark but not that big of a deal. Plenty of lockers.

The bathroom: Clean. Consistent hot water.

Breakfast: One of the top 3 breakfasts I've had traveling in South America. Eggs, Sandwiches, Fruit, and very delicious Juice.

Social: I've met awesome people at this hostel. One of the more fun hostels I've been at. It's got it's own bar and happy hour. Great place to load up on caipirinhas before heading out at night.

Location: Minutes walking distance to Pelourinho Square.

Tips: If you love music, there is an amazing store that sells handmade musical instruments on the left side of the same street walking towards Pelourinho Square. I bought myself a beautiful drum there. Also next to that is a place you can actually buy Brazilian vinyl records.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Best place to meet other travellers though the hostel rooms are a bit too much with 10 people sharing one bathroom. I recommend a short stay but breakfast and the environment is excellent! Best walking tour from the hostel as well.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank faethenall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

This cozy hostel, located in the mid of Pelourinho (historic centre of Salvador), offers a, excellent service and great atmosphere for your vacations.
The rooms are clean (specially the private ones), has excellent common areas to share with other backpackers. Free Caipirinhas for the guests at 5 pm starts the parties every night, in the nice terrace besides a small pool where you can find refuge from the heat. A nice lounge is also a place for mingling. The staff is always helpful.
Breakfast is another highlight of the hostel, fruit, eggs, natural juice, coffee, milk until noon!
The weak points are the number of washrooms, very limited and as always in Brazil they are small and the flush is poor, any ways, this will be a problem in any other hostel, and at least they are always clean.
Definitely the place to stay in Salvador, I have been there three times and this is the best hostal I have been in.

Room Tip: Private ones are excellent, and have their own washroom, which makes things easier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Felipe E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This was the best hostel we stayed at in Brazil. The location is perfect, right in the heart of Pelourinho, the rooms are very basic but decent enough for a hostel, breakfast is great and there are free caipirinhas every night for an hour.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 13 July 2014

3 friends and I stayed at Galeria 13 for a few nights and found it amazing. Staff were chilled and helpful, and the breakfast and free caipirinhas were awesome!! It is a cosy place in an awesome central location and none of us could recommend it more.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salvador hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa do Amarelindo
Hotel Casa do Amarelindo
#2 of 111 in Salvador
1,061 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Bahia
Villa Bahia
#7 of 111 in Salvador
363 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bahiacafe Hotel
Bahiacafe Hotel
#15 of 111 in Salvador
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sheraton da Bahia - Hotel Salvador
0.3 mi away
A Casa das Portas Velhas
A Casa das Portas Velhas
#17 of 111 in Salvador
194 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aram Yami Hotel
Aram Yami Hotel
#1 of 111 in Salvador
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Galeria 13? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Galeria 13

Property: Hostel Galeria 13
Address: Rua da Ordem Terceira 23 | Pelourinho, Salvador, State of Bahia 40026-260, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Bahia > Salvador
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 294 Speciality Lodging in Salvador
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Pelourinho, a UNESCO World Heritage Site, are the three houses that make up the Galeria 13 experience: one for social travellers, one for those seeking a quieter stay, and TripAdvisor’s top rated Bar Zulu in between them.This unique blend of moods, sights and flavours has rendered us the Best Hostel in Brazil award as voted by HostelWorld members, and a place in Lonely Planet’s finicky section Our Pick along with some flattering words from the traveller’s holy book.No wonder: by staying with us you get tons of freebies, including our obscenely big breakfast until midday, caipirinha happy hour, swimming pool, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel Galeria 13 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Galeria 13 Salvador, Bahia, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing