We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Pousada and fantastic hosts, the BEST!!”
Review of Pousada Esmeralda

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pousada Esmeralda
Ranked #1 of 154 Salvador B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Pousada and fantastic hosts, the BEST!!”
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed at the Pousada Esmeralda and we loved our stay there. It is a simple and comfortable Pousada a stone throw away from the Pelourinho. It is located in the barrio of San Antonio which is charming and has a relaxed and authentic atmosphere. It offers plenty of good quality and good value restaurants most with great views over the Bay of all Saints. But what makes Pousada Esmeralda such a nice place to stay are its owners. Nathalie and Marco are the nicest people. They share all their tips about the town and help you in every way they can. Last but not least they prepare an AMAZING breakfast.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank thierry m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    25
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
49
90
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We have stayed in pousada Esmeralda early August and loved this place:
- the rooms are lovely, clean and very nicely decorated
- the owner Nathalie and her daugther Eléonore (we haven't met the husband) were so welcoming, nice and helpful
- the breakfast prepared by Nathalie was amazing
- the location was very good (10 min walk from the center)

On s'y sent comme à la maison, la proprio est très bienveillante avec ses hôtes et vous donne pleins de conseils pour organiser au mieux votre séjour. Le petit-déjeuner est un régal.

Man fühlt sich wie zu Hause. Das Frühstück ist hervorragend. Nathalie und Eleonore sind jederzeit hilfsbereit und ihre Hinweise um die Besichtigung von Salavador geniessen zu können sind sehr hilfreich.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank roxane m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013

I've been there for one week.
The house is really nice, the location is perfect just in the center of the historical part of Salvador.
The owners are very good people, the breakfast is wonderful and they help you organize every day with the best things to do around!
I suggest you this place, I spent a wonderful week and I couldn't find any better!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LaTrampFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sud est France
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

I spent 6 nights at pousada Esmeralda in march 2013.
Marco the owner of the pousada was waiting for me at the airport . It’s a long trip to the center from the airport ; you pay around 95 Rs for this trip.
Nathalie was at home when I arrived and greated me ; they have a young daughter Eleonore, around 12.
I had a good room, with a small bathroom ; a ventilator, no air condition.
The breakfast is very good : fresh fruit juice home made ; fresh cut fruits, home made cakes ; eggs if you like ; coffee, tea, bread, delicious jam de la casa (home made). A unique table for the breakfast so that everyone can know the other guests and it’s a pleasure to meet people and talk about our travels past or future. Usually if it’s not crowded, Nathalie and Marco will eat with you ; they make a lot of efforts to give you advices or tips about the town and help you find the best way to manage a trip to Morro de Sao Paulo or Chapada diamantina for example. Of course they could be like in other Pousadas, without any help, but this is also why we come to Pousada Esmeralda, to get good informations and advices and to feel well with other tourists.
Also you can leave anything in your bag in the room, nobody will touch it ; there is only one employee, a sweet girl, young, in the morning.
You can also leave your bag if you go away for some days and don’t want to take all your luggage.
About the situation of the Pousada : it’s at the edge of San antonio, 200 hundred meters from Pelourinho : you have to walk a bit to be in the center ; it’s not far and the street is very safe all along ; there are some restaurants not far and also a supermarket 2 blocks ahead. San Antonio is an interesting district.

Twice a week, Nathalie goes to the old market and will ask you if you want to walk to it with her : it’s an interesting place to visit
Nathalie and Marco deserve a good report for their great efforts to take care of their guests.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank heureuxhomme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013

We stayed three nights at the Pousada. It's a nice little Pousada in the old part of Salvador and a perfect place to discover the city. Everything is more or less in walking distance.

The rooms are very nice decorated in an Arabic style. Our room was spacious and quiet - despite the window to the street. We liked it a lot. Nathalie is a great host and really cares about her guests. Very knowledgeable and helpful.

The only thing which could be improved: an air condition in the room. It was just to hot to sleep well when we were there (March 2013) and the fans don't really helped that much ;-(

In summary: great place to stay!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 190sl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris/USA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

This place is such a find! We loved the owners, Nathalie and Marco, who created a wonderful, friendly atmosphere, took us to the African market, various music events and had great recommendations for places to visit and eat at. Who knew that Salvador would have such good pizza? The breakfast at this pousada is amazing, all people we met here open, interesting and easy going and there's even a friendly house cat. This is not a luxury establishment, so the shower may not always be hot and there's no AC, but it doesn't matter - it's really the experience that counts. We'd come back here in a heartbeat and would recommend this place to all our friends.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lunokhod2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

We only stayed here one night, but we loved it! the nicest hosts! They were sooo sweet and helpful and friendly. They picked us up, tuck us the the airport and we went to a lovely great jazz concert with them. The area is a very good location! We can only recommend this place!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M1075th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salvador hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Casa do Amarelindo
Hotel Casa do Amarelindo
#2 of 111 in Salvador
1,078 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aram Yami Hotel
Aram Yami Hotel
#1 of 111 in Salvador
530 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sheraton da Bahia - Hotel Salvador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
A Casa das Portas Velhas
A Casa das Portas Velhas
#15 of 111 in Salvador
203 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pousada Bahia Pelo
Pousada Bahia Pelo
#4 of 154 in Salvador
55 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Pousada Salvador
Hotel Pousada Salvador
#7 of 154 in Salvador
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Esmeralda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Esmeralda

Property: Pousada Esmeralda
Address: Ladeira do Baluarte 29, Salvador, State of Bahia 40301-385, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Bahia > Salvador > Santo Antonio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Salvador
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nathalie and Marco, a French-Italian couple, will be glad to welcome you and help you get familiar with the beauties of this region, which they have known and loved since the year 2000!!! Nathalie and Marco's Pousada is located in the historical centre (citadel or stronghold, according to historians) of Salvador, in the Santo Antonio neighbourhood, a natural extension of the Pelourinho There are 7 rooms in the Pousada; each with its private bathroom. The common area has a small kitchen where guests can prepare individual meals or snacks, and where all the appliances needed for children's meals can be found. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Pousada Esmeralda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Esmeralda Salvador, Bahia, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing