We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service and ocean view!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mar Brasil Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mar Brasil Hotel
Ranked #5 of 111 Hotels in Salvador
Certificate of Excellence
Leawood, Kansas
Level Contributor
82 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great service and ocean view!”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I recently organized a business trip to Salvador, Brazil for the World Cup. The manager and staff were very friendly and made sure we had everything we needed. We had a buffet style dinner one night at the hotel which offered a nice variety of local samplings. They have two nicely maintained pools, and plenty of covered and uncovered open areas with tables and chairs to visit. One afternoon they provided a samba band that was a nice "Welcome to Salvador". As this was my first trip to Salvador, security was important. They have a staff of security folks on site and an electronic access single gate entry--this met my needs. The rooms were comfortable--mine with a balcony with a nice view of the ocean. Plenty of taxis available to take you into town. Another big plus was that the hotel is less than 30 minutes to the airport and does not encounter any traffic! Normal taxi time to the historic area is about 45 minutes. There are a few restaurant options within 10 minutes taxi ride; more as you head into town.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the ocean if possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TXJayhawk3501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marbrasilhotel, Gerente at Mar Brasil Hotel, responded to this review, 26 May 2015
We thank you for having taken your time to fill our evaluation. We showed your evaluation to the whole team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,028 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    502
    419
    87
    12
    8
See reviews for
351
372
32
151
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cossato, Italy
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

I was there with friends twice in september. The rooms are really clean and the bathroom too with A/C. The first time the room was a bit small for 2 people, but the second time it was a really and nice modern room. Breakfast is full and very good, especially pao de quejo.
It is far from the city center but near a nice beach and especially the airport!
It has 2 swimming pools and they clean them every day.
I think I will consider it again if i will visit again the area!

Room Tip: Rooms near the entrance are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marbrasilhotel, Gerente geral at Mar Brasil Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Nicole,

We thank you for having taken your time to fill our evaluation. Our “pão de queijo” and “beiju de tapioca” are appreciated by many guests. We showed your generous evaluation to the whole team.

We hope to be able to serve you again!

Attentively,

Renata Proserpio
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Just stay here one night but love it.
Very nice view and swimming pool, near beach so you can walk on the beach in the early morning.
Stable wifi in the room.
Just the roof fan is a little noisy.
All in all, it's a place you won't regret to stay and I am willing to visit again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jiminsf91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marbrasilhotel, Gerente geral at Mar Brasil Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for having taken your time to fill our evaluation that give us the opportunity to increase our service. We showed your generous evaluation to the whole team.

We hope to be able to serve you again!

Attentively,

Renata Proserpio
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goiania, GO
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013 via mobile

The hotel is distant from the centre of Salvador but is close to Itapuã beach which has strong waves thus not recomended for children. It is close to the airport which may be an advantage. The room is a bit clear and there is a little bit of noise from people walking on the corridor. Breakfast is simple

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JunichiroSadoJunior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marbrasilhotel, Gerente geral at Mar Brasil Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Dear Mr. Sado,

We thank you for having taken your time to fill the Trip Advisor evaluation , that give us the opportunity to increase our service.

We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again!

Attentively,

Renata Proserpio
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salvador, BA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

MY wife and I had a one night stay when traveling through Bahia. This hotel staff is very attentive to who you are and your needs. The staff are both friendly and helpful. The room a little small but ok. Your every need is care for in the room and bathroom. The shower head is wonderful. The room and hotel are very neat and clean. Very close to the ocean but a little out of the way from the main city and shopping malls The breakfast was very good. The airport is very close also. I will stay again and I do recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ambabr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marbrasilhotel, Gerente geral at Mar Brasil Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for having taken your time to fill our evaluation .We showed your generous evaluation to the whole team.

We hope to be able to serve you again!

Attentively,

Renata Proserpio
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013 via mobile

For us this really served the purpose we needed it for. We were arriving in on a flight that got in at 1130pm. The drive from the airport was less than 15minutes. Breakfast was adequate, but not amazing. It is close to the beach, which was nice to wander along. If you are wanting a beach resort, this is not for you, if you want to have close access to Salvador, again, not for you!

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lovestravelling162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marbrasilhotel, Gerente geral at Mar Brasil Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for having taken your time to fill the Trip Advisor’s evaluation. In your next trip we suggest to know the Flamengo and Stella Maris beaches, the best beaches in town and very close to the hotel.

We hope to be able to serve you again!

Attentively,

Renata Proserpio
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhode, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 April 2013

After travelling around Brasil, we finished our journey by a 3 nights stay in the Mar Brasil in Itapua which was a bit disappointing. The hotel is clean and has all the amenities you would expect but it is far away from any place of interest around Salvador. Itapua, although a very popular beach resort is also a bit dodgy and not as attractive as beaches closer to the City center (Amarilho, Ondina, Porto Do Barra, Pituba). retrospectively, I would have chosen a hotel of same standing a little closer to Salvador. Also, a "parade" of housekeepers starts at 8am which doesn't leave any room for late sleeping.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julien c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marbrasilhotel, Gerente geral at Mar Brasil Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Dear Julien,

We thank you for your response that give us the opportunity to increase our service, and ask an excuse for our mistakes.

We indicate the double deck Salvador Bus as a good alternative to get to the Historic Center in a very pleasant and touristic way. The best beaches in town - Flamengo, Piatã, Aleluia and Stella Maris - are very close to the hotel.

We hope to be able to serve you again.

Attentively,

Renata Proserpio
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salvador hotels
Itapua
Hotel Deville Prime Salvador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Catussaba Resort Hotel
#38 of 111 in Salvador
1,703 reviews
Bahia Othon Palace
#32 of 111 in Salvador
2,339 reviews
Aram Yami Hotel
#1 of 111 in Salvador
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mar Brasil Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mar Brasil Hotel

Property: Mar Brasil Hotel
Address: Rua Flamengo 44 | Farol de Itapuã, Salvador, State of Bahia 41635480, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Bahia > Salvador > Itapua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Salvador
#4 Family Hotel in Salvador
#5 Luxury Hotel in Salvador
#5 Business Hotel in Salvador
#6 Romantic Hotel in Salvador
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mar Brasil Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mar Brasil is a charming hotel located across from Farol de Itapua beach, right among the best beaches in the city and just 10 minutes away from the airport. It is attached to Vinicius de Moraes' House, the place where the poet lived in Bahia. It is the perfect combination between a heavenly place to rest and a strategically located place for business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mar Brasil Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mar Brasil Hotel Salvador, Bahia, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing