We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very hardworking on hospitable host, but be careful at night”
Review of Bahiacafe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bahiacafe Hotel
Ranked #13 of 110 Hotels in Salvador
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I travelled to the Bahia Cafe Hotel on the 10th and 11th of April and was part of a group of 6 people.

Service: From the first moment to the last we received excellent service, the owner of 12 years, a Belgium guy, seemed to be always there, form checking us in to serving a special early morning breakfast when we left out of hours. The breakfast was one of the best in Bahia that we had seen and provided a massive choice of savoury and sweet items you would experience in Brazil, make sure you try the cake!

Value: This hotel offers great value for money, we booked via booking.com but no reason why you can go direct, is centrally located and no more than a 10 minute walk to the historic centre. In comparison to the popular choices you will find deeper into the centre of Pelourinho, this place was cheaper and think better value for money.

Sleep: The beds were massive and comfortable! As you are in the centre you will expect to have a little noise but as we stayed outside of the main party season we did not experience too much in the way of music keeping us up, nothing one or two of the bargain caiprinhas cant sort anyway!

Cleanliness: The room was very clean and were cleaned daily, absolutely nothing to complain about.

Location: With historic centre just down the road you will have no complaints about the location. If you are arriving from the boat, make sure you don’t take a taxi, the hotel is 2 minutes walk from the top of the lift, just email the owner for directions.

General – Free WIFI

Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel and it’s one of the best places we stayed in Bahia.

Salvador
If you can get to the capoeira school in the centre it’s well worth a visit, they start at 7pm and go for 1 hour, you even get to do some dancing yourself! It’s the place for Mestre Bimba one of the original teachers of this art. Ask at the hotel for directions, it’s not far. $R15 or 20.

A Word of warning: more of a general update on Salvador rather than Bahia Cafe itself
7am – 11pm: Military and local police are place at the main walkways and intersections on the historic centre. However, we were constantly warned by the taxi drivers that we must not go down quiet lanes of the beaten path as they are not protected by the police. Therefore you do so at your own risk. Stay in the tourists routes and it is very much like every other city just be vigilant, down flash the bling!

After 11pm and before 7am: During this Salvador can be a very dangerous place to walk around. As with 3rd world countries, the divide between rich and poor can be very large and some fall trap into the drugs. Some of those people tend to roam the streets late at night and early morning so ensure that taxi drivers drop you off straight outside the hotel. Again this is a warning to be vigilant of your surrounding and only walk down known streets etc.

Room Tip: The top two room types have pretty much the same view and standard of room so you cant go wrong
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sgkerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (626)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

160 - 166 of 626 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2012

Was there for 3 days with my wife. We really enjoyed the city....visited most of the sites (look for my reviews). The hotel is nice and the room we got was very large and very comfortable. I have read about the noise, but I have to say we did not suffer from it.
Breakfast was very good and the view when having breakfast is very nice.
Location is optimal.........very near the La Cerda elevator and in the Pelourinho........really nice.
Of course there are some nasty places around, but listen to Michel´s advice and you will be fine.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZorroPlata67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

The hotel is everything it is supposed to be and more. Let's go to the classic pro's and con's of my reviews:

# Pro's: 1)Price. Everything is overpriced in Salvador and this place falls in the lowest price range. Also, if you are travelling with a budget, it is around the corner of a number of bus stops, including the ones that go to the airport. You are already in Pelourinho, close to Elevador Lacerda, Mercado Modelo and the ferryboat terminal to Morro de São Paulo. So, it's possible to have great savings. Also, you won't find cheaper food and drinks than the ones selled at the hotel bar.

2) Rooms. They are very spacious, with an incredible box bed an nice pillows and sheets. I have slept like an angel. Some other reviews complained about noise (and this area of town is indeed noisy), but I asked for an interior room and was very pleased. The shower is also great, lots of hot water. I was also pleased with the decoration, taking advantage of the "historical" value of the building it self

3) Staff and hotel bar. Always nice and helpful, the food was great, very tasty ans cheap. Great caipirinhas also.

#Con's: 1) Location. Don't be fooled, Pelourinho is not, I repeat, IS NOT, a place you wil find pleasant. There are indeed a lot of street people, hookers, thieves, drunks, drug dealers etc etc etc. It's a very degraded area, kind of depressing. It's not safe to wander around with watches, cameras and stuff, and keep in mind that I'm brazilian and live at Rio de Janeiro, a city people like to say that's not safe (which is not true). If you choose this hotel/location, keep this warning in mind, so that you know what to expect. I Knew, and for me was great, because it was very close to the event venue I was attending.

2) Price. Yes, is also a con. Everything is overpriced in Salvador.


Finally, concerning the other reviews, I did not find the manager rude, crazy or whatsoever.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank amarques99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

We stayed in this hotel for a short visit in Salvador and the hotel is just a pure diamond in a rough area. We arrived at 2am in the morning and driving through the empty streets with closed shutters and dodgy people made us worry at first but arriving at this nice hotel was compensating for that moment of fear. During the day this place is lifely and full of tourists.
The Bahiacafe Hotel is hidden by an internet cafe/restaurant and you will be amazed how big the hotel actually is.
The whole design is creative, modern and still authentic and fits perfectly into the historic place. The room we had was spaceous and the AC very quite. It was facing the road on the right of the hotel (looking from the front) so it was rather quite during the night.
The breakfast is very good and you get everything you need for a good start into the day.
The location could not be better, at the heart of it all.
We only had a little problem with the cold water pressure, showering was fine though as the hot water had the right temperature. As we had one of the newer rooms of the hotel it will certainly be adjusted by now.
The staff and owner are all friendly and most speak English.
We also enjoyed a nice dinner at the cafe in front which provides a nice view onto the place in front of the cafe.
So this hotel is highly recommended and we would surely make the same choice again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank-and-Maki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Best place I stayed in Brazil.
Nice decor throughout and clean room and bathroom.
Great breakfast.
English speaking and helpful owner.
The restaurant food was delicious and cocktails nice and strong!
Great location.
No negatives at all!!
Would definitely stay again and recommend.
More pousadas need to take some tips from this place!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sayingithowitis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Clean, very conscientiously maintained and friendly helpful staff in a great location.

We were there during Carnaval, and the Praça Da Se is the location of one of the stages so be warned, it can be quite noisy - but then again pretty much anywhere in the Pelourinho will be. The rooms are on the small side but charming and well kept.

The restaurant downstairs has very good food (try the Caldo de Sururu soup), is reasonably priced and the staff is great. It's also a wonderful people-watching spot.

The WiFi situation is a little strange (there are several different networks) but once you find a good spot you can get reasonable connectivity. Breakfast in the morning is served in a bright cheerful room overlooking the square and is a great place to get your first cup of coffee and check your email if you're so inclined.

The owner is always around and is very helpful.

Carnaval is the highest of high seasons and we found it better to have showers in the afternoon since there was a tendency to get less-than-hot water (not cold, more like "tepid") in the morning with all the other guests (unless you woke up early enough).

Room Tip: The further back from the square during festivals the better - less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nomadale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Great spot, nice decor and great service. Right in the heart of the historical center.
Andre is an excellent host and was very helpful.
Great passion fruit cocktails.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 911dg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salvador hotels
A Casa das Portas Velhas
#16 of 110 in Salvador
210 reviews
Fiesta Bahia Hotel
#4 of 110 in Salvador
979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Itapua
Mar Brasil Hotel
Mar Brasil Hotel
#5 of 110 in Salvador
1,077 reviews
Sotero Hotel
#6 of 110 in Salvador
567 reviews
Aram Yami Hotel
#3 of 110 in Salvador
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bahiacafe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahiacafe Hotel

Address: Praca da Se 22 | Pelourinho, Salvador, State of Bahia 40020-210, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Bahia > Salvador
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Salvador
#18 Family Hotel in Salvador
Price Range: £47 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bahiacafe Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Bahiacafe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahiacafe Hotel Salvador, Bahia, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing