We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms, friendly owner, great communal balcony area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pousada Nega Maluca
Ranked #17 of 301 Speciality Lodging in Salvador
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We only stayed here for one night but really liked it. The owner helped us with all our questions, the communal areas were nice, and they didn´t show any annoyance that we were only staying one night.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tk30485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (61)
There are newer reviews for Pousada Nega Maluca
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

17 - 23 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2013

I would go back, no doubt. When I arrived in Nega Maluca, I initially planned to stay just 2 nights, and have a look around and find eventually another place for a longer stay. I enjoyed my stay in the hostel, so I stayed there for 6 nights. The location is convenient, very close (10mins walking) to the heart of Pelourinho, the historical center of Salvador, the price is ok, and the staff is just great. Felt like home. I stayed in 6-8 beds mixed dorms. The first days the hostel was empty, then it got packed. Regardless the occupation, it was clean and people working there were always available to provide tricks and to suggest plans for concerts, or any activity. I think the staff made my stay there absolutely great. Only weak point, is that the lockers are way too small and very old, but again the staff is super helpful, so they took good care of my ipad, since it could not fit the lockers.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Manuela V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

This is a very special pousada with amazing atmosphere and extremely helpful staff. The guy at the reception desk gave us lots of useful advice (along with a photocopied map) what and where to do / not to do, where to buy cheap food, what to see etc. We had a small double-bed ensuite room right at the entrance with a safe, A/C and 220V power outlet. This room was not quiet at all because of the street noise but for the nights was OK - but a bit damp though. There is a great balcony and free internet (2 PCs + wifi). Food is OK for a breakfast. Located in Pelourinho, there are lots to see in the neighborhood.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms facing the street, sometimes they can be quite noisy.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ehegedus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

I give this hostel points for: creating a great atmosphere. Helpful staff. Having air conditioning. Convenient location. Having amenities like a bar, communal kitchen and self-serve laundry. I was there during Carnaval (which of course means that people will be coming in at all hours drunk, and that rates were extremely high). It was easy to go out with people and feel safe.

I wish there was more space in the dorms, lockers for luggage (I didn't lose anything though), and light in the bathroom. Mattresses were crappy, but then again I didn't find mattresses in Brazil that I found comfortable (including at homes).

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FlySquirrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013 via mobile

This hostel is really special. The atmosphere is really great and very social. I felt very comfortable and at home immediately. The owner is a long time traveler who is very friendly and really understands the needs of a backpacker. The rooms are comfy and air conditioned and you get your own bed lamp and electric socket. The breakfast is awesome too! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank G D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Great hostel. I was there during carnival and it was amazing. The staff and owner are the best. The whole hostel went out as one big group. The whole week week was run really well. Great location in the historic centre too. Recommended all year round.

Room Tip: hammocks on roof are a great cheap option during carnival
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grover191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

we have just arrived in Manaus from our vacation " Amazon Gero Tours on the road " we still remember the sweet moment we had in Salvador by Nega Maluca Guest House , our familiar suite which faces to the wonderful historic center.
when we read in a travel book the word Hostel I was afraid that the place would be good enough to a family , but it was my big mistake I have had in all hostels I have visited with my family special for Nega Maluca Hostel which combines with name Guest House as it is such nice
place , the breakfast made me very impressed ,to use the kitchen to make my children meals was just excellent.
To watch the tourists very cool people playing with my daughters they tought them English and learned Portuguese it was just amazing.
My son 25 years old in a very good relationship with all the guests my son got from the Nega Maluca people all the useful information for explorer the beautiful Pelourinho
we got from Diego and Gustavo the best information for the best tour in Salvador..
Nibal , Diego and Gustavo thank you very much for your golden Guest House Nega Maluca which made a big diference on our vacation.
Congratulation excellent Place , friendly and very professional people.
Price very accessible very good.
Gero ( Geraldo Neto M de souse )

diego Gustavo diegorutv

Room Tip: Try upstair rooms in the back but it is not a problem as Nega Maluca Guest house has a wonderful l...
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amazongerotours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salvador hotels
3.0 mi away
Bahia Prime Hostel
Bahia Prime Hostel
#4 of 301 in Salvador
187 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostel Galeria 13
Hostel Galeria 13
#2 of 301 in Salvador
620 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pousada Biribiri
Pousada Biribiri
#23 of 301 in Salvador
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hostel Oh Meu Rei
Hostel Oh Meu Rei
#10 of 301 in Salvador
125 reviews
0.2 mi away
Acai Hostel Salvador
Acai Hostel Salvador
#6 of 301 in Salvador
77 reviews
0.4 mi away
Meson Pousada
Meson Pousada
#54 of 155 in Salvador
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Nega Maluca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Nega Maluca

Address: Rua Marchantes 15, Salvador, State of Bahia 40301-430, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Bahia > Salvador
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 301 Speciality Lodging in Salvador
Price Range: £13 - £25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Pousada Nega Maluca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Nega Maluca Salvador, Bahia, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing