We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very average” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pousada Poesia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pousada Poesia
Ranked #61 of 111 Hotels in Salvador
Broomfield, Colorado
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very average”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2012

The location is great due to the proximity with the airport (for whom has an early flight!). There are also very typical restaurants around (with Acarajé, Tapioca, etc) and the restaurant Mistura (Very higly recommended!). The hotel is old and our room (nbr 4) smelled very badly! There was hair on the bed and bathroom was also not very clean. Recepcionist of the first day was not very helpful however the manager and mornig recepcionist were helpful. Breakfast is nice.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnneliesHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liomar, Manager at Pousada Poesia, responded to this review, 7 October 2012
We know that writing a review is boring for most people. For this we are grateful that you did it.
Regarding your comments we should say that the decor of our pousada is rustic, the furniture is solid wood (angelim) and have a characteristic perfume. The floor is made ​​in the traditional way.
Generally guests praise the cleaning of the pousada, so we are surprised for the reclamations. Obviously, for each new guest we put clean sheets, that pious are usually changed every second day. Anyway thanks for the comments, we'll keep in mind.
Best regards, Liomar Silva os Santos, manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    43
    7
    5
    2
See reviews for
33
47
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
philadelphia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

We stayed here for the first few nights of our honeymoon in July, before joining an Intrepid tour. My husband and I are simple, no fuss travelers and were looking for a good priced hotel on the beach--and the Pousada Poesia did NOT disappoint!

Our room was simply furnished and very clean, and we could not have been more pleased!
The breakfast was traditional Bahian fare (note: mostly breads and fresh fruit, variety of drinks as well) and the manager Igor is delightful! We also met his dog, Tula, a sweet girl!

This is a quiet residential beach and neighborhood; not touristy at all, so a real taste of the state of Bahia! You can watch the local fisherman going about their work and teens playing soccer on the beach. There are very few hotels nearby, so this is a great place for a quiet retreat. At the same time, the small town, a few restaurants, and a supermarket are all within walking distance, so your basic needs are met. Also, you would never know you're just a 1/2 hour cab ride away from the center of Salvador.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rioNbella2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

The pousada is perfectly located directly to the beach. It has a small garden with a nice and clean pool, guests can also make churrasco / bbq in the garden.
The pousada is not in the center of Itapoan, even not directly to a big street so it is a very quiet and nice place to relax. Around you can reach a supermarket and some restaurants and bars within 10 minutes walk. Transfer from the airport is about 15 minutes by taxi, which cost around 30,- RS.
Rooms are very cosy and clean, all of them have a veranda, some of them with a stunning seaview.
Breakfast is a mix of european and tropical (various fruits and juices). Breakfast is served on the public veranda, which also allows a fantastic view on the sea.
Staff is very friendly and available for any of your needs, some of them even speak English. The reception is always staffed , also durig the night.
The beach is nice, you will find sand, palm trees and a reef there. Distance to Farol de Itapoan is about 5 minutes by walking on the beach, same as Praia de Sereia. It is a very nice place to relax in a quiet neighbourhood, the historic center Pelourinho can be reached by bus in 45 minutes (5,-) R$ and Praia do Forte will take one hour by bus (10,- R$).

I promise, I will return in 2013!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

we stayed here for our final few days in brazil so we were near the airport. the pousada was really clean and quiet and rooms were comfortable. the pool was like a lovely and refreshing. the staff were helpful and friendly and the caiporinias fantastic!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

Enjoying the skyline of Salvador with the tranquility of this neighbourhood is possible. All you need is around so you can easily relax. Sea, clean beach, swimmingpool and also good restaurants and supermarket. Just perfect if you want to visit the old center (1hour car drive) but not want to stay there (eg with small children). Rooms upstairs with balcony are comfortable, clean and with great seaview and Salvador skyline.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lianne_roy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
85 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

I stayed with three friends in this pousada on our holiday to brazil. I was welcomed by a lovely man named Igor, who helped us in every way to make our stay at the Pousada and Salvador a great one.
We had a great room which was very spacious and accomodated us well, we were up graded to the sea view room which also had a large balcony. The breakfast were great, with fresh juices each morning and freshly baked cakes and pastries.
Igor made us feel like part of the family and drove us to the centre and made our last night memorable by the BBQ he cooked on the beach.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LittleBee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
97 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

We booked 5days in Salvador on our whirlwind trip of brazil for an ideal relaxing beach break. The Pousada was delightful, bohemian and bahian in style. We got a beachfront room with balcony. The room was spacious clean and perfect for a beach chill holiday ( reminded me of byron bay) lots of wood and african/bahian style decoration.A Safe, free wifi, beach towels, dining table, sink, shower ( solar powered - gets my vote!) plenty of wardrobe space and nothing was too much trouble for Igor and Rodregees. Like other people have said you could be completely left alone if you wished but we actually drilled Igor for as much information as possible about the area as we were a little nervous, but he gave us good advice. One day when it was raining Igor actually drove us into Salvador as we were worried about the bus ( we didnt need to be - we got the bus home no worries!) Another day we met Igor on the beach and we joined in a typical bahian bbq and watched the sunset!. The pousada is right on the beach so perfect distance to get to and from and 200m from the nearest shops and bank. Like anywhere in Brazil, Salvador is the 4th largest city and is very poor - that is obvious as you drive in and see all the tall walls and electric fences. That shouldnt put you off though, if you do what we did, just be safe sensible and dont put yourself at risk. We had a very enjoyable experience thanks to igor, and rodreges they were like an old married couple! breakfast was simple but perfectly brazilian, lots of meat, lovely bread, cakes, fresh fruit, and always freshly squeezed juices thanks to lucianna. On the day we left they even got up and did us a really early breakfast and booked our taxis. Thumbs up and thanks again from claire becky and whan ( jonathan) x

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank works4thejollys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salvador hotels
Itapua
Mar Brasil Hotel
Mar Brasil Hotel
#5 of 111 in Salvador
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
IARA Beach
#43 of 111 in Salvador
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Pousada Stella Tropical
#44 of 111 in Salvador
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Praia da Sereia
#75 of 111 in Salvador
3.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Villa Da Praia Hotel
#50 of 111 in Salvador
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Hotel Cocoon
#64 of 111 in Salvador
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Poesia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Poesia

Property: Pousada Poesia
Address: Rua da Poesia 118 | Farol de Itapoã, Salvador, State of Bahia 41640-485, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Bahia > Salvador
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Salvador
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Salvador
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pousada Poesia 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Pousada Poesia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Poesia Salvador, Bahia, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing