We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WOW...after a loooong trip back from Morro de São Paulo, a warm welcome and a pleasant surprise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pousada Poesia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pousada Poesia
Ranked #61 of 111 Hotels in Salvador
now4steve
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“WOW...after a loooong trip back from Morro de São Paulo, a warm welcome and a pleasant surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

So another Luciana and another fabulous experience in Bahia.
Spent the night in an oceanfront suite with a balcony overlooking the pool and the beach. GREAT room, excellent bedding, excellent bathroom, perhaps the perfect shower ( with hot and cold water valves i.e. no "chuveiro").
Wound up here because we needed to leave Morro a day early or risk missing our flights.
Couldn't ask for better stay. Ever leave a place wishing you had more time to spend there?
Well this is how I feel at the moment. A local beach. A perfect hotel...
Back to reality. Until December 10th

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank now4steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    43
    7
    5
    2
See reviews for
33
47
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

the location is ideal here, youre about 15 mins drive from the airport which makes late night arrivals and departures very convenient. its also outside of salvador city but close enough that you can bus to the centro in about 50 mins. Youre right at the start of costa azul which has the nicest beaches like flamengo and guarajuba. My family, which includes my wife and 5yr old, stayed 7 days at this pousada and enjoyed it quite a bit. beach itapoa is not the greatest, its more of a locals beach known for fishing, but it was still good for sunset walks, exploring the many rocks around it, and kicking around the ball w/ my son. the pool in the pousada is really nice too. The staff was great, they did everything for us, called taxis, booked tours, even ordered a pizza for us one night. We also found the city of Itapoa quite convenient, the centro is a short walk from the pousada by street or beach and was bustling w/ people every night. We found some decent restaurants, the best being Churrascaria Laço Gaúcho, which had an all you can eat buffet for 14 reais (with rodizio of bbq: R23). Poesia is not going to be for everyone, as it is a small simple pousada located on a beach that's not the paradise image most have when they think of brazilian beaches, however it made us feel at home and was very convenient for us in planning our daily trips.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stellablue89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2013

Pousada Poesia is an simple but confortable pousada direct ob the beach and very close to Salvador airport. Swimmingpool available.
The breakfast is too sober.
The price is too high and fully based on the location.

Room Tip: Ask for the sea side window
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rudolf3071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liomar, Gerente at Pousada Poesia, responded to this review, 28 March 2013
Thanks for your opinion. We are delighted that you found our hotel comfortable.
Regarding the price, the value is comparable to the hotels nearby, like Encanto, Mar Brazil or Alvorada, which we think are more or less at our level. If the only parameter were the location, the price should double, because our hotel is the only one directly on the beach throughout Salvador, at least to our knowledge.
Thanks again and hope to see you soon with us again.
Liomar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trieste, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2013

We spent in Brasil a month and a half, visiting many places and sleeping almost every night in another place. That is why we feel free to spend a good word for the pousada Poesia which was our first accomodation in Brasil. The pousada is located directly on the beach of Itapua (half an hour from the centre of Salvador), which is the best choice for those who want to visit the city but at the same time relax on the beach and stay in a quiet neighbourhood. It is well connected to the airport since it is very close to it, and busses are frequent for Praya do Flamengo and Praya do Forte as well and other nice resorts on the north of Salvador. The rooms are simply but very nicely furnished, they are very clean and comfortable. All rooms have the bar with fresh drinks available. Some rooms have the terrace open on the sea; all guests have access to a quiet garden with a swimming pool where they can have a refreshing capirinha or use the barbecue... The owners are very nice and descreet, they speak many languages (Portuguese, Italian, English, Slovenian etc.) and the breakfast is one of the best we tried in Brasil!

Room Tip: Choose a room with sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanja S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broomfield, Colorado
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2012

The location is great due to the proximity with the airport (for whom has an early flight!). There are also very typical restaurants around (with Acarajé, Tapioca, etc) and the restaurant Mistura (Very higly recommended!). The hotel is old and our room (nbr 4) smelled very badly! There was hair on the bed and bathroom was also not very clean. Recepcionist of the first day was not very helpful however the manager and mornig recepcionist were helpful. Breakfast is nice.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnneliesHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liomar, Manager at Pousada Poesia, responded to this review, 7 October 2012
We know that writing a review is boring for most people. For this we are grateful that you did it.
Regarding your comments we should say that the decor of our pousada is rustic, the furniture is solid wood (angelim) and have a characteristic perfume. The floor is made ​​in the traditional way.
Generally guests praise the cleaning of the pousada, so we are surprised for the reclamations. Obviously, for each new guest we put clean sheets, that pious are usually changed every second day. Anyway thanks for the comments, we'll keep in mind.
Best regards, Liomar Silva os Santos, manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philadelphia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

We stayed here for the first few nights of our honeymoon in July, before joining an Intrepid tour. My husband and I are simple, no fuss travelers and were looking for a good priced hotel on the beach--and the Pousada Poesia did NOT disappoint!

Our room was simply furnished and very clean, and we could not have been more pleased!
The breakfast was traditional Bahian fare (note: mostly breads and fresh fruit, variety of drinks as well) and the manager Igor is delightful! We also met his dog, Tula, a sweet girl!

This is a quiet residential beach and neighborhood; not touristy at all, so a real taste of the state of Bahia! You can watch the local fisherman going about their work and teens playing soccer on the beach. There are very few hotels nearby, so this is a great place for a quiet retreat. At the same time, the small town, a few restaurants, and a supermarket are all within walking distance, so your basic needs are met. Also, you would never know you're just a 1/2 hour cab ride away from the center of Salvador.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rioNbella2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

The pousada is perfectly located directly to the beach. It has a small garden with a nice and clean pool, guests can also make churrasco / bbq in the garden.
The pousada is not in the center of Itapoan, even not directly to a big street so it is a very quiet and nice place to relax. Around you can reach a supermarket and some restaurants and bars within 10 minutes walk. Transfer from the airport is about 15 minutes by taxi, which cost around 30,- RS.
Rooms are very cosy and clean, all of them have a veranda, some of them with a stunning seaview.
Breakfast is a mix of european and tropical (various fruits and juices). Breakfast is served on the public veranda, which also allows a fantastic view on the sea.
Staff is very friendly and available for any of your needs, some of them even speak English. The reception is always staffed , also durig the night.
The beach is nice, you will find sand, palm trees and a reef there. Distance to Farol de Itapoan is about 5 minutes by walking on the beach, same as Praia de Sereia. It is a very nice place to relax in a quiet neighbourhood, the historic center Pelourinho can be reached by bus in 45 minutes (5,-) R$ and Praia do Forte will take one hour by bus (10,- R$).

I promise, I will return in 2013!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salvador hotels
Itapua
Mar Brasil Hotel
Mar Brasil Hotel
#5 of 111 in Salvador
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
IARA Beach
#43 of 111 in Salvador
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Pousada Stella Tropical
#44 of 111 in Salvador
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Praia da Sereia
#75 of 111 in Salvador
3.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Villa Da Praia Hotel
#50 of 111 in Salvador
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Hotel Cocoon
#64 of 111 in Salvador
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Poesia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Poesia

Property: Pousada Poesia
Address: Rua da Poesia 118 | Farol de Itapoã, Salvador, State of Bahia 41640-485, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Bahia > Salvador
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Salvador
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Salvador
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pousada Poesia 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Pousada Poesia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Poesia Salvador, Bahia, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing