We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“exactely, what the doctor had ordered”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Albergue Pedra da Sereia
Ranked #11 of 294 Speciality Lodging in Salvador
Certificate of Excellence
Osoyoos, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“exactely, what the doctor had ordered”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

While traveling across Brazil, my wife had an accident in a hostel in Jericoacoara, a broken wrist, which needed instant help, not available up there. I just had arrived in Sao Paulo, so
we arranged to meet in Salvador...Through a recommendation from staff at the El Misti Hostel
in Rio Vermilho, they referred me to the Albergue Pedra da Sereia, Michael David Lynch, a perfect match, since we do not speak Portuguese and needed a local clinic and a wrist fracture specialist. As well we needed a private room, before and after the operation......Mike had the perfect ocean view room and directed me to a private clinic nearby. There the we met the office manager Elisabeth, fluent in English, to become our shadow, on all the many steps
needed to perform a most complicated operation. The quiet, beautiful overall design and environment of Mike's Albergue, exactely was, what we needed..., so to speak "what the doctor had ordered". At the same time, there were situations of public unrest in Salvador, he was perfect, to direct and counsel us, to avoid any not needed surprises....
To add to our happy experience and Salvador memories, Mike as well has his private Frades Island vacation home available for rent.. we spend a week there, most special, do check it out,
a hidden gem, away from it all, small boat access only, a trip you shoud consider exploring.
not needed surprises

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ulric L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    39
    10
    5
    2
See reviews for
11
17
54
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fortaleza, CE
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Very clean, nice facilities, good breakfast in the morning (they wake you up to have breakfast, something I've never seen before. For some people that might be a bonus but some people don't want to be woken up at 9am).
Staff was friendly, not much of an exciting location for night life, except for carnival which is a prime location at the very end of the carnival. Also the only store you can find near by is located right in the middle of a favela.
Not much like a party hostel or a gringo hostel.

Room Tip: There are beds that are literally on the ground, avoid 'em! They are very notions and in the way...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Came here during carnival and had a wonderful stay. Close proximity to the water, centre, and supermarkets. Michael (the owner) was very hospitable and gave directions from the airport to the hostel via bus (Saved me $30 US! alone). Highly recommend!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2013

The hotel has an awesome view that compensates for a lot of the shortcomings. During the night the only thing you hear is the ocean. The beach is just a few steps away. It was very frequented by surfers, for them this hostels could be awesome. Otherwise I think it is defenitley not the best beach in Salvador but a beach is a beach :)

BUT there are several shortcomings
- most disturbing is the cleaness. In one room was dust everywhere and made clear they haven´t clened some parts for several months. Especially disgusting where the lockers and I would never put close in them (- they have the size of a locker in school) but also the towels and sheets had stains
- it is hard to finde due to a lack of signs you will really need the detailed description on the hostels homepage
- it is located in a not very nice neighboorhood. I would call it a favela if it were bigger, (after the first shock i felt quite safe)
- the breakfast is very basic. to eat it provides only bread, cheese, a cake, scrammbled eggs and some fruits. I would have appreciated some additional spread like ham, jam, honey
- not really in Rio vermelho and I am not quite sure how safe it is at night but I am sure it is safer than pelourinho
- the kitchen is only open until 22.00 hs. which was a pitty since we forgot about it one night an wanted to cook and had to go to a restaurant instead.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gunnar G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2013

I spent four nights in this bed & breakfast, and I felt part of the family from day one.
The owner and personnel are kind and helpful, the owner has helped me a lot in deciding where to go (and where *not* to go), and helped me set up tours around with an agency if needed.
The (single) room I had is very simple, no luxuries, but functional. The common space on the veranda is always available and has a magical view. I actually fell asleep in the hammocks in the common space, lulled by the noise of the sea all nights.
You can safely walk to Rio Vermelho movida at night, and a convenient bus to Pelourinho stops in front of the hotel. Walking distance from the Barra, too.
Breakfast is fresh and served in the veranda in front of the sea...

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fabioiocco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 19 April 2013

O albergue fica num bom lugar entre Barra e o Rio Vermelho. O dono e a equipe dele são super amaveis. É um hostel super limpo e confortavel e o visto do mar é impressionante.

Good location between Barra and Rio Vermelho. Set on peninsula with very beautiful view of ocean. Friendly and helpful staff with American-Brazilian owner. Clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rdavies2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Great location, just steps from the beach and very well serviced for transport in and around Salvador. Michael was a great host and gave useful information on places of interest. The breakfast was yummy - I don't think there are many other places that have that kind of view to take your morning coffee! Clean and tidy, all you need for a relaxing stay in Salvador.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salvador hotels
Golden Tulip Salvador
#27 of 111 in Salvador
1,207 reviews
Bahia Othon Palace
#30 of 111 in Salvador
2,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Itapua
Mar Brasil Hotel
Mar Brasil Hotel
#5 of 111 in Salvador
1,050 reviews
Ibis Salvador Rio Vermelho
#20 of 111 in Salvador
2,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergue Pedra da Sereia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergue Pedra da Sereia

Property: Albergue Pedra da Sereia
Address: Pedra da Sereia 21 | Rio Vermelho, Salvador, State of Bahia 41940-810, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Bahia > Salvador
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 294 Speciality Lodging in Salvador
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Albergue Pedra da Sereia 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albergue Pedra da Sereia is a small, beachfront guesthouse that is super-comfortable, tastefully decorated and offers an incredible ocean view from almost every room in the house. APS is close to food markets, boutiques, money exchange, buses, excellent restaurants, music bars, nightclubs and beautiful beaches. Michael, the owner, is American and enjoys helping guests get situated and enjoy the different aspects of Salvador and has contacts for classes in: Portuguese, capoeira , surfIng and diving. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Albergue Pedra da Sereia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergue Pedra Da Sereia Salvador, Bahia, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing