We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for central Salvador and relaxed surroundings” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Laranjeiras Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Laranjeiras Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect for central Salvador and relaxed surroundings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2010

This was the first place I stayed in Brazil, back in 2007. The staff were really helpful, especially as I couldn't speak any portuguese. I found it to be a very friendly place, the amenities and surroundings were excellent for the needs of a traveller. Nice areas to chill out, share a beer with a friend or surf the net.
Excellent location for the sights, parties and central Pelourinho.
If I go back to Salvador de Bahia, I would stay here again, regardless of the slightly above average price.
It is also in the 'safe' part of Pelourinho, with police surveillance in the evenings to leave you with a better sense of security in what can be a potentially dangerous place at night. Use your common sense, don't walk around late at night on your own - or drink too much leaving yourself open. This was my first destination, and really I wish I had been able to return to explore a little more later on.
Laranjeiras will be helpful, insightful and relaxing - make it your stop in Salvador! tchau tchau e boa viagem!

  • Stayed March 2007, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ezape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    98
    26
    3
    0
See reviews for
11
50
58
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunnyvale, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2010

We stayed at larangerias at double bed with attached bath. The room was big and comfortable. It was bang in the historic center, so it was easy for us walk around to places. For the rate, you cannot go wrong. My research showed me the other hotels near the center were more expensive. The food was great too, no complaints there.

Our only issue was that no one warned us in advance that things completely shut down on Dec 25, 26 for christmas. The folks at the hotel sent us a tour brochure and we had picked our tours and were eager to go and see stuff. We landed at the hotel and the person at the desk told me, everything in the city is shut down (including the tour operators, shops, candomble rituals etc etc). We ended up taking the local buses on our own (which was a whole adventure in itself) and go to places.

From the bus stop to the hotel is atleast a 5 minute walk, so if you are taking the airport bus, talk to the hotel and get directions incase you dont speak portugese. A local who came in the bus helped us find the place.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kashr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2009

Laranjeiras Hostel is one of the best hostels I've stayed at. Aside from the amazing central location in downtown Pelourinho, Laranjeiras is set in a beautiful colonial building with a friendly vibe. The space is airy with lots of common areas to meet other travelers. Little touches like hammocks, board games and warm lighting make the place extra inviting. And the cafe downstairs serves amazing crepes. Everything was clean, the staff are very helpful and I felt safe 100% of the time. Wouldn't stay anywhere else in Salvador.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kjava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2009

Crossing the threshold of Albergue das Laranjeiras was a relief after running the gauntlet of touts and beggars in the Pelourinho.

As part of the Hostel International network the hostel was really well run and secure. The rooms (we stayed in two different double rooms) were really spacious with hammocks and air conditioning. Only downside was lack of net or other protection from biting insects.

Lots of information was available about things to do in Salvador and tours. The hostel is right in the centre of the beautiful Pelourinho which we would have enjoyed a lot if it were not for the constant and relentless harassment that we experienced the second (that is not an exaggeration) that we stepped out the door until the second we went back at night.

Breakfast was not great but did the job.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise-and-Ben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salvador hotels
3.6 mi away
Salvador Business & Flat
Salvador Business & Flat
#56 of 111 in Salvador
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sheraton da Bahia - Hotel Salvador
0.3 mi away
Arthemis Hotel
Arthemis Hotel
#82 of 111 in Salvador
3.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Mercure Salvador Boulevard
Mercure Salvador Boulevard
#19 of 111 in Salvador
4.0 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
2.6 mi away
Bahia Prime Hostel
Bahia Prime Hostel
#4 of 283 in Salvador
5.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostel Pousada Pais Tropical
Hostel Pousada Pais Tropical
#11 of 283 in Salvador
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laranjeiras Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laranjeiras Hostel

Property: Laranjeiras Hostel
Address: Rua da Ordem Terceira 13 | Pelourinho - In Front of Olodum Afro Percussion School, Salvador, State of Bahia 40026-260, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Bahia > Salvador
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 283 Speciality Lodging in Salvador
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Laranjeiras Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1994 the Laranjeiras Hostel offers dorms and private rooms in a XVIII baroque portuguese colonial house. Laranjeiras combines colonial style with modern facilities for backpackers travelling around Brazil. Friendly atmosphere to meet people from all over the world. Come join us for a unique experience on accommodation. We are located in the heart of the Historic Center of Salvador. 24h service and a staff that will do anything to make your stay delightful. Free Wifi, own restaurant and many facilities a few steps from the hostel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Agoda, Hotel.de, Ebookers and TravelUp so you can book your Laranjeiras Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laranjeiras Hostel Salvador, Bahia, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing