We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel, Nice Rooms,”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sao Salvador Hoteis e Convencoes
Ranked #10 of 111 Hotels in Salvador
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
147 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Nice Rooms,”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

I was in this is hotel for a weekend, and the Rooms are very nice, clean, with good gym and pool. The location is a far from Salvador Atractions, so it is way better if you hava a car. In other hand is near the Convetion Center and business area, and Near Salvador and Iguatemi Mall.
Good Breakfest. Parking with a small fee! 5 us a day.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loucoportrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    264
    54
    15
    7
See reviews for
107
115
27
204
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
116 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013 via mobile

This is a nice hotel with good amenities and a very reasonable price over carnival, which is when we stayed. It's really a business hotel though. Large rooms, clean, functional. Good free wifi everywhere. Excellent sound insulation and quiet, modern central AC in the room (although the bedroom itself in our room seemed to have low arflow). The gum is tiny. The main reason it's not good for tourists is the location - far from the sights and not walking distance to anything. At least a R$ 10 taxi ride to the closest beach or shopping centre. Being a new hotel, most taxi drivers also don't know where it is, so have a smartphone to hand or learn how to tell them

The staff are very friendly although could do with more training - e.g. we asked whether they could check if a local restaurant was open and the guy said he couldn't make any calls for guests. We then started looking at our guide book to figure out plan B, C and D, as on the previous night the place we had tried to go to without checking had indeed been closed, and the same guy came over and said, sorry, he was new and didn't know he actually could make local calls of this nature. He had tried and the place we wanted to go to was closed, but they would suggest another (which turned out to be nice).

The beds are huge and mattresses are new, but standard spring coils, so quite bouncy. I loved that there were 3 different types of pillows to choose from :-)

Breakfast was ok. The fruit was good, which is the most important thing to me. The granola was also quite nice. As it was carnival, it was very busy and the small pool area was very full (I.e. no seats available after 10am), in addition to the pool itself being a bit yuck from the 2nd day we were there (Carnival Monday).

Re. Carnival itself: come but try your first night on the streets, without a bloco or camarote. We found it wasn't anywhere near as dangerous as people make it out to be and the blocos and camarotes are so expensive it's really not worth the money to do on all nights... But do only take the very least you need, and remember to pack a money belt for your documents and back up cash!!

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank edianem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
143 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Very nice hotel.
New in town, got a refresh on the lobby area and restaurant.
Front desk staff awesome, warm and friendly. In the room, air conditioning not working properly. Housekeeping not very good, found hair on my sink, that was not mine. Restaurant has good options. Room service takes forever to delivery, better if you go on your own to the restaurant.

Room Tip: Try the corners, away from elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raphaTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vitoria, ES
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

I stayed here for 2 months!
The staff was super friendly, helpful and caring.
We were sad to leave!
The hotel facilities and food is great!

Amazing place to stay!
Unfortunately the location is not the best. As the beach is a bit further away, as well as the shopping center.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Conny_S23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Level Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Muito bom, hotel novíssimo, quarto grande na Suite Executive Tower, com TV LCD, cama grande e mini cozinha com microondas, pratos e talheres. Muito silencioso. Hotel oferece piscina, sala de ginástica, etc..
Great hotel, brand new, big room in Suite Executive Tower, LCD TV, big bed and small kitchen with microwave, dishes and silverware. Very quiet room. Hotel has many ammenities such as a swimming pool, gym, etc..

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank duda_cecc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salvador hotels
3.2 mi away
Mercure Salvador Rio Vermelho
0.1 mi away
Sotero Hotel
Sotero Hotel
#4 of 111 in Salvador
514 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ibis Salvador Rio Vermelho
Ibis Salvador Rio Vermelho
#22 of 111 in Salvador
2,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mercure Salvador Boulevard
Mercure Salvador Boulevard
#19 of 111 in Salvador
802 reviews
4.9 mi away
Sheraton da Bahia - Hotel Salvador
1.3 mi away
Fiesta Bahia Hotel
Fiesta Bahia Hotel
#8 of 111 in Salvador
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sao Salvador Hoteis e Convencoes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sao Salvador Hoteis e Convencoes

Property: Sao Salvador Hoteis e Convencoes
Address: Rua Doutor Jose Peroba 244 | Stiep, Salvador, State of Bahia 41770-235, Brazil (Formerly Hotel Matiz Salvador)
Region: Brazil > State of Bahia > Salvador
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Salvador
#12 Business Hotel in Salvador
#15 Family Hotel in Salvador
#17 Romantic Hotel in Salvador
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sao Salvador Hoteis e Convencoes 3.5*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sao Salvador Hotels and Conventions is located between the beautiful waterfront of Salvador and Tancredo Neves Avenue, new financial and business heart of the city, making it perfect to meet the business segments, conventions, long-stay and leisure. This modern complex consists of 304 rooms, divided into two interconnected towers. The entire project was built with the utmost care to environmental preservation and sustainability without environmental damage ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sao Salvador Hoteis e Convencoes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sao Salvador Hoteis e Convencoes Bahia, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing