We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good choice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sao Salvador Hoteis e Convencoes
Ranked #10 of 110 Hotels in Salvador
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Stayed here a couple of nights in this business style hotel. The rooms are modern and spacious!

Good points:
Clean and modern
Pool is refreshing
Close to the shopping centres

Low bits:
Far from the old town - 20 min drive away
un inspiring surrounds
Business style hotel that lacks charm

Overall this is a good safe hotel. If you are prepared to travel to the sites and want a modern hotel then this is for you.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Mark-Rainsforth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (603)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 11 of 603 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

I have stayed in this hotel for 3 day for Germany vs. Portugal match. It was very good. rooms were cleaned as expected and stuff was very friendly. Suggestion for people who travel to Brazil for the first time - plan your trip before you get there. English is not very popular language. Ahh and why 4 point out of 5, i just expected gym to be more equipped.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Typerfn2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

The hotel itself was very clean and nice. It had a bedroom that was separate from a small living room with a work desk and mini bar. The location was pretty far from all of the tourist things but there was always taxis available for quick service. We would be just about anywhere in the city for less than R$40. The pool was fun and overlooked the street in front of the hotel. They severed a pretty good breakfast buffet that is included in the price of the room. The dinner buffet was expensive but had a nice variety of good dishes. The only real complaint I had about the hotel was how expensive the food was for the other meals/room service. This was not uncommon throughout Salvador but the extra R$100 just for room service on top of the food already being too expensive left us leaving somewhat dissatisfied. Overall it was a pleasant experience, I just didn't like them trying to squeeze me for every last penny they could charge me for.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ERIC J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed here to watch the Brazil-Italy game... didn't pay a fortune, it was cheap compared to many other options (made reservation 3 months before).. and to our surprise the Italian team was hosted there, very nice !!!!
Hotel is not close to beach, but very very close by taxi, also distant to stadium but Fifa had free bus that stops 4 blocks from hotel, very very convenient !!!
Food at restaurant was very good, enjoyed moqueca and tapioca, and nice good restaurants are 5 min drive.
It had lots of security.
Rooms were big and clean.
Only negative was checkout, i didn't have my room key, the receptionist gave a bad look and sent a security person to the room to look for the key, what a joke !!!!!
Still recommend it !

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bosfurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

I was in this is hotel for a weekend, and the Rooms are very nice, clean, with good gym and pool. The location is a far from Salvador Atractions, so it is way better if you hava a car. In other hand is near the Convetion Center and business area, and Near Salvador and Iguatemi Mall.
Good Breakfest. Parking with a small fee! 5 us a day.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loucoportrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013

This is a nice hotel with good amenities and a very reasonable price over carnival, which is when we stayed. It's really a business hotel though. Large rooms, clean, functional. Good free wifi everywhere. Excellent sound insulation and quiet, modern central AC in the room (although the bedroom itself in our room seemed to have low arflow). The gum is tiny. The main reason it's not good for tourists is the location - far from the sights and not walking distance to anything. At least a R$ 10 taxi ride to the closest beach or shopping centre. Being a new hotel, most taxi drivers also don't know where it is, so have a smartphone to hand or learn how to tell them

The staff are very friendly although could do with more training - e.g. we asked whether they could check if a local restaurant was open and the guy said he couldn't make any calls for guests. We then started looking at our guide book to figure out plan B, C and D, as on the previous night the place we had tried to go to without checking had indeed been closed, and the same guy came over and said, sorry, he was new and didn't know he actually could make local calls of this nature. He had tried and the place we wanted to go to was closed, but they would suggest another (which turned out to be nice).

The beds are huge and mattresses are new, but standard spring coils, so quite bouncy. I loved that there were 3 different types of pillows to choose from :-)

Breakfast was ok. The fruit was good, which is the most important thing to me. The granola was also quite nice. As it was carnival, it was very busy and the small pool area was very full (I.e. no seats available after 10am), in addition to the pool itself being a bit yuck from the 2nd day we were there (Carnival Monday).

Re. Carnival itself: come but try your first night on the streets, without a bloco or camarote. We found it wasn't anywhere near as dangerous as people make it out to be and the blocos and camarotes are so expensive it's really not worth the money to do on all nights... But do only take the very least you need, and remember to pack a money belt for your documents and back up cash!!

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ediane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Very nice hotel.
New in town, got a refresh on the lobby area and restaurant.
Front desk staff awesome, warm and friendly. In the room, air conditioning not working properly. Housekeeping not very good, found hair on my sink, that was not mine. Restaurant has good options. Room service takes forever to delivery, better if you go on your own to the restaurant.

Room Tip: Try the corners, away from elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank raphaTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salvador hotels
0.1 mi away
Sotero Hotel
Sotero Hotel
#6 of 110 in Salvador
558 reviews
1.3 mi away
Fiesta Bahia Hotel
Fiesta Bahia Hotel
#5 of 110 in Salvador
955 reviews
0.3 mi away
Intercity Salvador
Intercity Salvador
#9 of 110 in Salvador
1,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Bahiamar Hotel
Bahiamar Hotel
#39 of 110 in Salvador
526 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ibis Salvador Rio Vermelho
Ibis Salvador Rio Vermelho
#19 of 110 in Salvador
2,374 reviews
3.3 mi away
Golden Tulip Salvador
Golden Tulip Salvador
#29 of 110 in Salvador
1,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sao Salvador Hoteis e Convencoes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sao Salvador Hoteis e Convencoes

Address: Rua Doutor Jose Peroba 244 | Stiep, Salvador, State of Bahia 41770-235, Brazil (Formerly Hotel Matiz Salvador)
Region: Brazil > State of Bahia > Salvador
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Salvador
#9 Best Value Hotel in Salvador
#12 Business Hotel in Salvador
#15 Family Hotel in Salvador
#17 Romantic Hotel in Salvador
Price Range: £36 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sao Salvador Hoteis e Convencoes 3.5*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sao Salvador Hotels and Conventions is located between the beautiful waterfront of Salvador and Tancredo Neves Avenue, new financial and business heart of the city, making it perfect to meet the business segments, conventions, long-stay and leisure. This modern complex consists of 304 rooms, divided into two interconnected towers. The entire project was built with the utmost care to environmental preservation and sustainability without environmental damage ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sao Salvador Hoteis e Convencoes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sao Salvador Hoteis e Convencoes Bahia, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing