We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel in a city that has seen better days”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Golden Tulip Salvador
Ranked #28 of 111 Hotels in Salvador
Rio de Janeiro
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 314 helpful votes
“Average hotel in a city that has seen better days”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Having just returned from Salvador where I watched a Confederations Cup game, I read something french player Eric Cantona said about the city: it's not hip but I love it. That pretty much says it all. Salvador is not hip. If you're looking for boutique hotel hipness or southern Asia sofistication, then go somewhere else. Salvador is rough, alive, or, as I once heard an Englishman say about Brazilians in general, "interactive". Salvador is not supposed to be experienced from a distance. Either you get your hands dirty eating an oily acarajé (one of the many local dishes), or forget about it. The same applies for this hotel. After many different hotel experiences in the state of Bahia, this is yet another place where they play loud music in the pool (I've written about this before). But do I have a right to complain? No, of course not. If you come to Salvador, or Bahia, or northeastern Brazil, expect noise, interaction, rowdiness. If you come during summer for carnival, expect to sweat, get sticky, touch people and be touched. But people are nice, warm and alive. Of course, you have to be Navy Seal Team Six-Fit in order to face street carnival here (and the occasional robbery attempt). Me, as Clint Eastwood used to say in a movie, I'm too old for this s**t. But be aware: they play loud music in the pool, the rooms are kind of humid (the whole country is a steam room, what else would you expect?), everybody talks loudly everywhere, services do not work properly, etc, etc. Do not come to Brazil expecting Switzerland. If you come to Salvador you have to be aware of what you'll find or what you want.
Just to end this review on a different note: they are working on improvements in the hotel, there is renovation going on and the rooms are big.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frederico N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ricardo M, Gerente geral at Golden Tulip Salvador, responded to this review, 27 October 2016
Dear Mr brazilianwanderlust

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at our hotel. We regret that your stay was not fully satisfactory.
We have a new management and we are working intensively to increase the satisfaction of our guests and making some improvement actions in our facilities and we hope to have the chance to give you welcome again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    324
    525
    263
    90
    33
See reviews for
249
355
74
323
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Haven
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

DO NOT STAY HERE. I can't emphasize this enough. Here are the problems my husband and I (in our late 20s, fluent in portuguese) had during our stay: (1) Location: It is on top of a very steep hill and isolated from the rest of the city. You have to climb down this hill (about 10 minutes and it is deserted) and then you're in an area with few restaurants. There is not a convenience store or pharmacy in sight and the hotel does not have these either. (2) Rooms: They are old and have a persistent humid smell. It rained during our stay here and water came through the balcony door. (3) Internet does not work. They have two types: free and paid internet. Even the paid internet does not work. You can barely check e-mails and you cannot use skype or stream anything. (4) Telephone: During our stay the hotel was having a problem with the phone company. You could not receive calls from outside the hotel or make them. The hotel had a public phone in the lobby which required a calling card and they did not provide it or sell it. So without internet or a phone, you were disconnected from the world. We needed to make a change in our flight reservation and we were unable to do so from the internet. (5) Staff: The staff is simply overwhelmed by the amount of problems of this hotel. So their attitude is to ignore any complaints and not try to solve them. (6) A/C in lobby: Hotel did not have A/C in lobby despite 80F + weather. When I complained they told me it was on (which it clearly wasn't). Instead of explaining that the A/C in the lobby did not work, it was broken.

Clearly, hotel management is well aware of these problems. There are several signs in the hotel stating that it is currently undergoing renovation. Yet I have not seen anyone working on anything. Please, save your money and do not stay here. It has really ruined our time in Salvador and the same shouldn't happen to you.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NewHavenLes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ricardo M, Gerente geral at Golden Tulip Salvador, responded to this review, 24 October 2016
Dear Mrs NewHavenLes

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at our hotel. We regret that your stay was not fully satisfactory.
We have a new management and we are working intensively to increase the satisfaction of our guests and making some improvement actions in our facilities and we hope to have the chance to give you welcome again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogota, Colombia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

My daughter and I went for Christmas vacatin and stayed for 8 days. We found a good room, a very good restaurant which served very good breakfast and snacks. The view from the pool was amazing, and the staff was helpful. The only problem we had was languge, people not only at the hotel but everywhere only spoke Portuguese so the communication was difficult.
It is well located and had very good taxi servive. I think it's worth the money you pay.

Room Tip: Better to choose room with view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 324martha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ricardo M, Gerente geral at Golden Tulip Salvador, responded to this review, 24 October 2016
It is very gratifying the comments of his experience Golden Tulip Salvador.
Thanks preference and hope to have the chance to give you welcome again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ixelles, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2013

We had a good time in this golden tulip hotel. Big rooms and, a very nice restaurant/breakfast area with view ons the city. The swimming pool was also very nice, even in the evening our kids of 8 , 15 and 18 years old enjoyed the swimming pool. At night, the view on the city, from the top of building with swimming pool and terras is amazing :)

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Marie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ricardo M, Gerente geral at Golden Tulip Salvador, responded to this review, 19 October 2016
Dear Mrs Marie L
It is very gratifying to receive your assessment of his experience Golden Tulip Salvador.
Thanks preference and hope to have the chance to give you welcome again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibague, Colombia
Level 6 Contributor
264 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2012

There are no other words to describe this hotel, but OLD! And being this old, I think its very expensive !
This is one of those traditional, and historic hotels you find in any touristic city, that is kept as intact as posible.
The Hotel is very well located on a hill, on the Red river district, with an amazing ocean view.
The roof top pool has the most amazing view of the city.
To sum up: The hotel is Ok, the rooms are Ok, breakfast Ok, location excellent, view excellent, price WAY off !!
I wouldn´t come back, sorry.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Djmenaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ricardo M, Gerente geral at Golden Tulip Salvador, responded to this review, 19 October 2016
Dear Mr
It is very gratifying to receive your assessment of his experience Golden Tulip Salvador.
We have a new management and we are working intensively to increase the satisfaction of our guests and making some improvement actions in our facilities and we hope to have the chance to give you welcome again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

The hotel has a stunning roof top view of the ocean but the rest of the hotel feels pretty 70's and was unremarkable. Not bad for a temp stay, but on this trip I also stayed at the nearby Mercure hotel which for the same price is quite modern and has even better ocean access and upscale feel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Floyd M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ricardo M, Gerente geral at Golden Tulip Salvador, responded to this review, 17 October 2016
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at our hotel.
We hope you have new opportunities to return to Salvador and we can enchant it again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

We booked 10days in this hotel but only stayed 1 night. The lobby is huge and when we arrived (eastern week) there were many people checking in and out, it almost felt like a hospital lobby. The pool was closed for renovation or maintenance and the whole place is very oldish and needs renovation to be called a luxury hotel. The location and the view on the sea are spectacular. The hotel has a great location and the staff was friendly. The rooms were ok.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmosch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ricardo M, Gerente geral at Golden Tulip Salvador, responded to this review, 17 October 2016
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at our hotel.
We hope you have new opportunities to return to Salvador and we can enchant it again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salvador hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Salvador Rio Vermelho
1.8 mi away
Bahia Othon Palace
Bahia Othon Palace
#27 of 111 in Salvador
2,428 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Salvador Rio Vermelho
Ibis Salvador Rio Vermelho
#20 of 111 in Salvador
2,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Vila Gale Salvador
Vila Gale Salvador
#21 of 111 in Salvador
1,482 reviews
3.0 mi away
Sheraton da Bahia - Hotel Salvador
2.7 mi away
Monte Pascoal Praia Hotel Salvador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tulip Salvador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Salvador

Property: Golden Tulip Salvador
Address: Rua Monte Conselho 505 | Rio Vermelho, Salvador, State of Bahia 41940-370, Brazil (Formerly Golden Tulip Rio Vermelho)
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Bahia > Salvador
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Salvador
#15 Luxury Hotel in Salvador
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Tulip Salvador 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Golden Tulip Salvador! The most beautiful sea view in Salvador! Golden Tulip Salvador is strategically located in Morro do Conselho area, near the traditional tourist points and business area. The main distinguishing feature of the hotel Golden Tulip Salvador is to combine an excellent location with a complex of special services for its guests, which include among other things: Breakfast included in rate Wi-Fi Internet in rooms and common areas Bilingual receptionists (Portuguese and English) Swimming pool with sea view Restaurant Tenis court Sauna Fitness Romm 24-hour reception Wake up service Parking Paid Laudry Paid Security ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Golden Tulip Salvador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Rio Vermelho Hotel Salvador
Blue Tree Hotel Salvador
Golden Tulip Salvador Bahia, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing