We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice beach views, nightlife district”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Golden Tulip Salvador
Ranked #29 of 110 Hotels in Salvador
Reviewed 25 June 2014

The hotel has stunning views of the Rio Vermelho beach. The surrounding district is full of bars, restaurants and nightlife - many of them are located in a walking distance of just a few minutes.
The restaurant provides a "better-than-average" meal and breakfast.
Staff is OK, but thumbs up for Ms. Ligiane, the waitress at the lobby bar who is pure sympathy every day.
Rooms are small, but the ones in front of the ocean have a nice balcony and view.
The weakest points: the pool (in top of the building, have no "pool scene" at all ! Shame on you, Golden Tulip) and the wi-fi connection (expensive BIG TIME and TERRIBLE SERVICE ANYWHERE - don´t buy it: is a waste of time, money and patience).

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrazilianSky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudiasimoes, General Manager at Golden Tulip Salvador, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Mr Brazilian Sky,
Thanks for your review at the Trip Advisor site.
I apologise for the swiming pool appearance during your stay. Due to some weather problems ( rain) we had to do some emergencial repairs at the pool area and it was not possible to finish it as quicklly as it was suposed to be.
We hope to have you another time as our guest in order to offer you the high quality we are used to offer our guests around the country.
At your disposal,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,270)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

31 - 37 of 1,270 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

Had a very comfortable one week stay at this hotel with a perfect location overlooking the beach at Rio Vermelho and a convenient, down hill walk to nearby restaurants and pubs (taxis readily available to catch a ride up the hill, in need). The roof top pool and bar area has an exquisite view of the ocean and city. After an unfortunate incedent of my handbag been stolen just before check out, the General Manager and her staff were incredibly helpful with assisting my husband and I to the Police Station in the Centre of town, to the Consulate for temporaty passports etc...etc.Even as far as giving me her reading glasses to take home, as mine had been stolen in the bag....The breakfast was good, with fresh fruits, very good omelettes and great local pastries every day. The rooms may need a little maintenance work done to them, but were clean, with hot water everyday even though they were up to full ocopancy with the World Cup.

Room Tip: Make sure to get ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carinsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudiasimoes, General Manager at Golden Tulip Salvador, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Mrs Carin S,
Thanks again, again and again for your kindness.
I had news from you and your day in São Paulo last week from Victor.
I will be always at your disposal and we would love to see you again in our hotel.
We apologise for the inconvenience and we hope the good moments can maybe mitigate any not so good memories from your trip.
Kind regards!
Claudia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

The views from most rooms are amazing! We had a double superior room that had the sliding doors to a huge balcony! The views over Salvador and the sea where stoning! The pool is on the terrace from where you can see miles away towards all directions...it seems that this hotel has seen better days as I noticed a great deal of spaces unused on the top floor near the pool area. There also a tennis court on the top and other facilities. The location is great but you have either to walk down from the hill were the hotel is to enjoy Rio Vermelho area or hire a car or take a cab every time you go somewhere. In the first days if our stay we walked down and took a taxi back up to the hotel...for the last days of a our stay I hired a car which I dropped at the airport on departure. I highly recommend this Hotel if you like views like I do!

Room Tip: You have to ask for a room of a superior kind with sea/city views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Valdir F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudiasimoes, Gerente geral at Golden Tulip Salvador, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear Mr Valdir F,
Thanks a lot for your evaluation.
We hope to see you again in Golden Tulip RIo Vermelho!
We are at your disposal,
Claudia SImoes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

The rooms are below average, the pillows are under bag is made of plastic!!! Like red light district hotel.
Kitchen is super slow with below average quality of food...
Nice view from the balcony, but there isn't even a chair to sit outside..
Good location, close enough to the city center by taxi and the nearby beaches if you rent a car.

Stayed: January 2014
1  Thank Cristian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudiasimoes, Gerente geral at Golden Tulip Salvador, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2014

Dear Mr Cristian,

We do apologise for your experience in our hotel.
All your impressions have been transmited to our area coordinators in order to improve our systems and even products.
Thanks for writting us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

The words 'mediocre' and 'average' seem to appear in lots and reviews - and no wonder. The building is modern, the location really good with spectacular views, and yet...

Even the rooms are not at all bad, and all the plumbing works. To be fair, the hotel was suffering from a powercut on our second evening, after a day of torrential rain, and that can hardly have been the hotel's fault, except that the surrounding area seemed not to be affected. An emergency generator kept some of the lights on, and the restaurant kitchen struggled on, but without the benefit of extractor fans, leaving an unpleasant cooking odour throughout the restaurant area. The food was unremarkable.

The staff are unresponsive. There is a melancholy, soul-less air about the place. With some imaginative management input, this could be a decent hotel. Will they get their act together in time for the World Cup in 2014?

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barmag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ricardo M, Gerente geral at Golden Tulip Salvador, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2016

Dear Mrs Barmag

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at our hotel. We regret that your stay was not fully satisfactory.
We have a new management and we are working intensively to increase the satisfaction of our guests and making some improvement actions in our facilities and we hope to have the chance to give you welcome again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

The hotel is up a steep hill, which makes it hard work to visit nearby bars and eating places. However it has a fine view of the coastline from the sea facing rooms, the restaurant and the roof top pool area. The bedrooms at the back of the hotel have poor views. Construction work is taking place within a few metres of one end of the hotel, which made it noisy after 7am when work started. It was also noisy in our bedroom because the corridor was tiled. We would have asked to change, if we had realised earlier that other floors had carpetted corridors.
The evening food was mediocre, but the breakfast was ok, and breakfast was also available very early for early morning departures. The restaurant and lobby area were soulless,. A few more plants and pictures might brighten the place up.
The bedroom size and facilities were ok, but there was a good amount of mould growth in the bathroom, on the lower tile grouting. Also the shower partition had been replaced, and there were ugly rust couloured marks on the floor where the previous partition had been located.

Room Tip: Try to get a room, away from the buliding site next door, get a sea view room, get a room with a car...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank raypcox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ricardo M, Gerente geral at Golden Tulip Salvador, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2017

Dear raypcox

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at our hotel. We regret that your stay has not been fully satisfactory.
We have a new management and we are working hard to increase the satisfaction of our guests and do some improvement actions in our facilities and we hope to have the chance to welcome you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

I spent 4 nights at the Golden Tulip and it was average. The room seemed small - it was awkward moving between the two twin beds. The bathroom door has to be closed in order to get into the shower. If you sit at the desk you are blocking the walkway to the sliding door. All in all just plain cramped. The internet connection was awful. Totally unreliable. I was on the 7th floor - don't know what was above me but it sounded like a bowling alley. Breakfast and bar service was good. The front desk staff was helpful. I know some people were unhappy having to walk down the hill to any kind of restaurant but I didn't mind. It was a short walk.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoCalEncinitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ricardo M, Gerente geral at Golden Tulip Salvador, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2016

Dear Mrs SoCalEncinitas
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at our hotel. We regret that your stay was not fully satisfactory.
We have a new management and we are working intensively to increase the satisfaction of our guests and making some improvement actions in our facilities and we hope to have the chance to give you welcome again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salvador hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Salvador Rio Vermelho
1.8 mi away
Bahia Othon Palace
Bahia Othon Palace
#26 of 110 in Salvador
2,474 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Salvador Rio Vermelho
Ibis Salvador Rio Vermelho
#20 of 110 in Salvador
2,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Sheraton Da Bahia Hotel, Salvador
2.0 mi away
Vila Gale Salvador
Vila Gale Salvador
#21 of 110 in Salvador
1,513 reviews
2.0 mi away
Fiesta Bahia Hotel
Fiesta Bahia Hotel
#4 of 110 in Salvador
958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tulip Salvador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Salvador

Address: Rua Monte Conselho 505 | Rio Vermelho, Salvador, State of Bahia 41940-370, Brazil (Formerly Golden Tulip Rio Vermelho)
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Bahia > Salvador
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Salvador
#15 Luxury Hotel in Salvador
Price Range: £41 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Tulip Salvador 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Golden Tulip Salvador! The most beautiful sea view in Salvador! Golden Tulip Salvador is strategically located in Morro do Conselho area, near the traditional tourist points and business area. The main distinguishing feature of the hotel Golden Tulip Salvador is to combine an excellent location with a complex of special services for its guests, which include among other things: Breakfast included in rate Wi-Fi Internet in rooms and common areas Bilingual receptionists (Portuguese and English) Swimming pool with sea view Restaurant Tenis court Sauna Fitness Romm 24-hour reception Wake up service Parking Paid Laudry Paid Security ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Prestigia, Expedia, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Tulip Salvador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Rio Vermelho Hotel Salvador
Blue Tree Hotel Salvador
Golden Tulip Salvador Bahia, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing