We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Renan”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Golden Tulip Salvador
Ranked #27 of 111 Hotels in Salvador
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Renan”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

This hotel is located in a nice neighborhood, with a very nice swimming pool and a very good breakfast. To be better, they should have a transfer between the hotel and the main street. We had to walk and it is a long distance in a hill.

Room Tip: all the rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Renan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudiasimoes, Gerente geral at Golden Tulip Salvador, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Google Translation
Boa tarde sr Renan,
Obrigada por sua avaliação na Trip Advisor,
A localização privilegiada do hotel no alto da colina nos levou a uma parceria com alguns taxistas que fazem gratuitamente o transporte de nossos clientes na ladeira.
Depende apenas de haver taxi disponivel no momento.
Nos desculpamos pelo transtorno e esperamos reve-lo no Golden Tulip Rio Vermelho,
Até breve!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    319
    518
    261
    87
    32
See reviews for
241
352
73
321
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Recife, PE
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stayed in Golden Tulip Rio Vermelho for 3 nights in July and we had a great experience. The guys from the front desk were really amazing, specially Daniel and Kleber, who has checked us in much before check-in time, we were on a group of 10 people, same family, 5 rooms, and we were all accommodated. Plus, we had late check-out too. Same guys, same kindness. The hotel is located in a nice area in Salvador, right in the center of the nightlife district, with plenty of nice restaurants and bars nearby, not too far from downtown and barra, which can be reached easily by bus. The only problem is that the hotel is located up in a hill and you'd rather die than go up and down everytime you need to leave the place, especially during the night when it looks pretty decadent, full of beggars and drug addicts. The hotel has a complimentary taxi service that takes you up and down the hill from 8am to 10pm, but taxi drivers hate to do that, they were all impolite and rude sometimes. There's a great rooftop swimming pool with a stunning view of the city, snooker table and tennis court are also available. Overall it was a great stay and I strongly recommend this place, but if you're not a morning person and like to sleep in, bad news: some company is building another hotel right behind this hotel and it's unbearably noisy in the morning, ask for higher floor hill view room instead of ocean view, it may be better. Breakfast was great, delicious regional food. Rooms were clean, spacious and comfortable. A great deal!

Room Tip: Ask for higher floor hillside view room instead of ocean view, it may be quieter, due to civil const...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank brenomartins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudiasimoes, General Manager at Golden Tulip Salvador, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Breno Martins
Thank you very very much for your post at Trip Advisor,.
we hope to host you soon again in our hotel !
Claudia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florianopolis, SC
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2014

This hotel is located in a nice neighborhood, with a very nice swimming pool and a very good breakfast.
To be better, they should have a transfer between the hotel and the main street. We had to walk and it is a long distance in a hill.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Clarissa Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudiasimoes, General Manager at Golden Tulip Salvador, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Clarissa,
Thanks for your post at Trip Advisor,
We hope to host you soon in our hotel!
Claudia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valinhos, SP
Level 6 Contributor
879 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 321 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

The hotel has stunning views of the Rio Vermelho beach. The surrounding district is full of bars, restaurants and nightlife - many of them are located in a walking distance of just a few minutes.
The restaurant provides a "better-than-average" meal and breakfast.
Staff is OK, but thumbs up for Ms. Ligiane, the waitress at the lobby bar who is pure sympathy every day.
Rooms are small, but the ones in front of the ocean have a nice balcony and view.
The weakest points: the pool (in top of the building, have no "pool scene" at all ! Shame on you, Golden Tulip) and the wi-fi connection (expensive BIG TIME and TERRIBLE SERVICE ANYWHERE - don´t buy it: is a waste of time, money and patience).

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrazilianSky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudiasimoes, General Manager at Golden Tulip Salvador, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Mr Brazilian Sky,
Thanks for your review at the Trip Advisor site.
I apologise for the swiming pool appearance during your stay. Due to some weather problems ( rain) we had to do some emergencial repairs at the pool area and it was not possible to finish it as quicklly as it was suposed to be.
We hope to have you another time as our guest in order to offer you the high quality we are used to offer our guests around the country.
At your disposal,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Had a very comfortable one week stay at this hotel with a perfect location overlooking the beach at Rio Vermelho and a convenient, down hill walk to nearby restaurants and pubs (taxis readily available to catch a ride up the hill, in need). The roof top pool and bar area has an exquisite view of the ocean and city. After an unfortunate incedent of my handbag been stolen just before check out, the General Manager and her staff were incredibly helpful with assisting my husband and I to the Police Station in the Centre of town, to the Consulate for temporaty passports etc...etc.Even as far as giving me her reading glasses to take home, as mine had been stolen in the bag....The breakfast was good, with fresh fruits, very good omelettes and great local pastries every day. The rooms may need a little maintenance work done to them, but were clean, with hot water everyday even though they were up to full ocopancy with the World Cup.

Room Tip: Make sure to get ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carinsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudiasimoes, General Manager at Golden Tulip Salvador, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Mrs Carin S,
Thanks again, again and again for your kindness.
I had news from you and your day in São Paulo last week from Victor.
I will be always at your disposal and we would love to see you again in our hotel.
We apologise for the inconvenience and we hope the good moments can maybe mitigate any not so good memories from your trip.
Kind regards!
Claudia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

The views from most rooms are amazing! We had a double superior room that had the sliding doors to a huge balcony! The views over Salvador and the sea where stoning! The pool is on the terrace from where you can see miles away towards all directions...it seems that this hotel has seen better days as I noticed a great deal of spaces unused on the top floor near the pool area. There also a tennis court on the top and other facilities. The location is great but you have either to walk down from the hill were the hotel is to enjoy Rio Vermelho area or hire a car or take a cab every time you go somewhere. In the first days if our stay we walked down and took a taxi back up to the hotel...for the last days of a our stay I hired a car which I dropped at the airport on departure. I highly recommend this Hotel if you like views like I do!

Room Tip: You have to ask for a room of a superior kind with sea/city views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valdir F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudiasimoes, Gerente geral at Golden Tulip Salvador, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Mr Valdir F,
Thanks a lot for your evaluation.
We hope to see you again in Golden Tulip RIo Vermelho!
We are at your disposal,
Claudia SImoes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

The rooms are below average, the pillows are under bag is made of plastic!!! Like red light district hotel.
Kitchen is super slow with below average quality of food...
Nice view from the balcony, but there isn't even a chair to sit outside..
Good location, close enough to the city center by taxi and the nearby beaches if you rent a car.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Cristian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudiasimoes, Gerente geral at Golden Tulip Salvador, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Dear Mr Cristian,

We do apologise for your experience in our hotel.
All your impressions have been transmited to our area coordinators in order to improve our systems and even products.
Thanks for writting us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salvador hotels
Bahia Othon Palace
#29 of 111 in Salvador
2,405 reviews
Ibis Salvador Rio Vermelho
#20 of 111 in Salvador
2,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vila Gale Salvador
#21 of 111 in Salvador
1,468 reviews
Itapua
Mar Brasil Hotel
Mar Brasil Hotel
#5 of 111 in Salvador
1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tulip Salvador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Salvador

Property: Golden Tulip Salvador
Address: Rua Monte Conselho 505 | Rio Vermelho, Salvador, State of Bahia 41940-370, Brazil (Formerly Golden Tulip Rio Vermelho)
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Bahia > Salvador
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Salvador
#15 Luxury Hotel in Salvador
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Tulip Salvador 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Golden Tulip Salvador! The most beautiful sea view in Salvador! Golden Tulip Salvador is strategically located in Morro do Conselho area, near the traditional tourist points and business area. The main distinguishing feature of the hotel Golden Tulip Salvador is to combine an excellent location with a complex of special services for its guests, which include among other things: Breakfast included in rate Wi-Fi Internet in rooms and common areas Bilingual receptionists (Portuguese and English) Swimming pool with sea view Restaurant Tenis court Sauna Fitness Romm 24-hour reception Wake up service Parking Paid Laudry Paid Security ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Prestigia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Golden Tulip Salvador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Rio Vermelho Hotel Salvador
Blue Tree Hotel Salvador
Golden Tulip Salvador Bahia, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing