We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”
Review of Bahia Othon Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bahia Othon Palace
Ranked #24 of 110 Hotels in Salvador
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Nice, traditional hotel, very good facilities, service, etc. Swimming pool area is very nice to chill out, but drink prices are outrageous...Bedroom very confy, ours had a wonderful view to the ocean and to the lighthouse (amazing). Breakfast was delicious, location is ok, but a bit out of the way for most attractions.

Room Tip: Choose a room with ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dannydanny2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GERENCIABOPH, Gerente geral at Bahia Othon Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Bahia Othon Palace during your visit to Salvador and for sharing your views. We were most pleased to learn that you enjoyed our facilities and had a good time with us. Our hotel is well located and we are near the historic center and others tourist points. We would like to receive you again in a near future.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,517)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

76 - 82 of 2,517 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2013

I have stayed in Othon several times and it never disappoints me. The service is great, the hotel staff is always friendly. The bedroom are big, spacious, clean and the beds are very comfortable. The food they serve is very good and not too expensive. The only thing that bothers me is that the building is old and in dire need of a renovation, but they told me one is planned for this year. Since the building is old, I think the prices are too high for what they offer. But still, I like it very much and if someone is looking for a place to stay in Salvador, specially in carnaval, this is definitely the best place to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anaya C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GERENCIABOPH, General Manager at Bahia Othon Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2013
Google Translation

Prezado Hóspede,

Muito obrigado pelos comentários postados referentes à sua recente hospedagem em nosso hotel, destacando-se o atendimento dos funcionários. Salientamos que as nossas instalações já estão sendo modernizadas e grandes investimentos estão sendo feitos para tornar o ambiente cada vez mais confortável. Agradecemos a sua preferência e esperamos poder recebê-lo outras vezes em nossa rede hoteleira.

Atenciosamente,

Gerência Geral

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

The Bahia Othon Palace has a very nice view to the sea...in the room and in the swimming pool. The swimming pool is realy good (large) and it was nice to be there and take some drinks. The staff is kind but there are busyall the time.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adriana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GERENCIABOPH, Gerente geral at Bahia Othon Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2012

Dear Guest,

Thanks for choosing Bahia Othon Palace during your visit to Salvador and for sharing your views about our hotel. We are very gratified to hear that you had a pleasant stay and look forward ro receiving you again in a near future.

Best Regards,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012 via mobile

Difficult to understand how such a nice located hotel is in horrible conservation conditions .
From the lobby, the restaurant, and all social areas the lack of manteinance is visible....a pity!
Corridor of 9th floor needs urgently to change the carpet. The room we got was ok but on the windows we could not open the windows due to the lack of mainteinance. Shower was enferrujado! But working.
This is far from being a 3 star hotel.
Food at breakfast and pool was ok, quite pricy but this is the price from a hotel that claims to be 5stars!
As it is I do not recommend .

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gel1701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GERENCIABOPH, Gerente geral at Bahia Othon Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. These constructive comments can help us to improve our facilities in order to provide satisfaction to our guests. We are renovating the building and furniture in many areas of the hotel and several investments have been done to mee tour guest needs and expectations. Your opinion is very important for us and we hope to welcome you in your next visit to the city.

Best Regards,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

The lobby was beautiful and huge and the view was nice to the sea and cliffs and the breakfast was good. The price was good for a 5 star hotel but here is the catch!! It is definitely not a 5 star hotel! Probably was 30 years ago….the location is not that great since it is far from all the center.
The room was big and the bed was big and comfy but the color was pealing from all the furniture and the room smelled moldy and of course the bathroom was even worse.
There were not enough staff in the reception and the few that were working were terribly slow and inefficient. The Wi-Fi was free only in the hall and reception area and even there it didn’t work through our stay when we needed it desperately. When it finally start to work 2 hrs. before check out it disconnected every 5 min… unbelievable!
Only 1 elevator out of 3 was working in this huge hotel…you had to wait and wait…
The air conditioner was noisy and started to drip from the ceiling, we called many times to the reception but the line was always occupied since there was only 1 person working (in such a big hotel??!!). Eventually they said they will send someone as soon as possible but no one came even after we reminded them again and again…we ended up checking out with a huge pool of water in the middle of the room….
Wouldn’t go back to that place!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Inna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GERENCIABOPH, Gerente geral at Bahia Othon Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. Your comments will be taken into consideration and shared with the relevant team members to improve our service. We feel sorry for the occurrence with the air conditioned and apologize for the inconvenient. We would like to emphasize that we are renovating the building and furniture in many areas of the hotel and several investments have been done to meet our guest needs and expectations. We also point that our hotel is near of the center and the main tourist points of the city. Thanking your comments and hoping that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back in a near future.

Best Regards,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

The hotel had large rooms with great views!! is very clean, super friendly people, great free breakfast lots of fresh fruits, food, pastries etc.
The pool had wifi was fun been there!!
very good location, buses in front take you all the nice places, I feel very safe there.
We took buses to everywhere, other beaches, marina etc.
I will totally return there!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fernanda1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GERENCIABOPH, Gerente geral at Bahia Othon Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at the Bahia Othon Palace during your last trip to Salvador. It is certainly a source of great pride and satisfaction to know how appreciative our guests are about our hotel and services. Thanking your comments, we look forward to receiving you again in a near future.

Best Regards,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Is a very nice hotel five stars located in a centric place, close from stop bus and have a awesome pool,,,, we enjoy this hotel a lot,,,,, and the personal was very nice to us and specially with our litlle son,,, breakfast are huge ,,,,

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jhoanna35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GERENCIABOPH, Gerente geral at Bahia Othon Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great comments you shared, providing us with a feedback about your experience during your recent stay at the Bahia Othon Palace. Needdless to say how glad we are to learn that you enjoyed your visit. We wish to receive you and your family again in a near future.

Best Regards,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salvador hotels
0.2 mi away
Vila Gale Salvador
Vila Gale Salvador
#19 of 110 in Salvador
1,536 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sheraton Da Bahia Hotel, Salvador
1.8 mi away
Golden Tulip Salvador
Golden Tulip Salvador
#30 of 110 in Salvador
1,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Monte Pascoal Praia Hotel Salvador
2 mi away
Mercure Salvador Rio Vermelho
3.4 mi away
Fiesta Bahia Hotel
Fiesta Bahia Hotel
#4 of 110 in Salvador
983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bahia Othon Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia Othon Palace

Address: Avenida Oceanica 2294 | Ondina, Salvador, State of Bahia 40170-010, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Bahia > Salvador
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Salvador
#23 Romantic Hotel in Salvador
Price Range: £42 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bahia Othon Palace 3.5*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The irresistible charm of Bahia Othon Palace begins with its location: the top of a cliff, facing the turquoise waters of Ondina Beach in Salvador. Perfectly integrated with nature, with colonial arches, the hotel offers the utmost sophistication and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bahia Othon Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Othon Palace Hotel Salvador
Bahia Othon Palace Salvador, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing