We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bahia Othon Palace
Nearby Hotels
Golden Tulip Salvador(Salvador)(Great Value!)
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ibis Salvador Aeroporto Hangar(Salvador)(Great Value!)
US$45
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$81
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$57
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Vila Gale Salvador(Salvador)(Great Value!)
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$77
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mercure Salvador Rio Vermelho(Salvador)(Great Value!)
US$89
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Fiesta Bahia Hotel(Salvador)(Great Value!)
US$56
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Salvador Business & Flat(Salvador)(Great Value!)
US$54
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,626)
Filter reviews
2,626 results
Traveller rating
715
1,105
575
155
76
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
715
1,105
575
155
76
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeautiful sea viewswimming poolthe hotel's restaurantfitness roomshort walkthe hotel staffsuperior roombahialighthouseenglish
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
64 - 69 of 2,626 reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2013

The ocean views are dramatic from the somewhat dated rooms. I can't remember when or where the last hotel was that I stayed that had an old model television, but this hotel still has them. Room climate control system is obviously for decorative purposes, but the room was comfortable and ample size. Food replenishing on the breakfast buffet is rather slow but variety is good and the food is acceptable. Meeting facilities were very comfortable. The real down is that the location requires guests take taxis for eating / shopping. Bring your own washcloth.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmwelchtn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GERENCIABOPH, Gerente geral at Bahia Othon Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay with us. We do appreciate hearing from our guests, as their comments are fundamental for us to continue improving our service. We are renovating the rooms and would like to receive you again in your next visit to Salvador.

Sincerely,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

As already mentioned a 5 star hotel... in 1975. Anyone expecting luxury, should head elsewhere. However I did find it very adequate considering the following:
- Air conditioning worked perfectly throughout the week.
-The rooms (and bathroom) were very comfortable, even though unsophisticated, and the view is great.
- In general, the hotel was kept very clean.
- I never had to wait more than a couple of seconds for the elevator
- Breakfast was complete and correct.
- The swimming pool area is great, next to the sea.
- Location is convenient, 5km away (15 minute bus trip) from the city center.
- Neither the hotel's restaurant nor the room service are excessively expensive.
- Although service level could be improved, staff was reasonably attentive and cordial.

- The only thing I really disliked about the hotel, was the service of the tourist agency working there (PriveTur). It would be wise for them to change it.

All in all, and considering the price, which I found reasonable, I found it a good option.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank acdisi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GERENCIABOPH, Gerente geral at Bahia Othon Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay with us. Our guest opinion is very important and help us to improve our services. We are most pleased to learn that you liked the room, the cleaning, and enjoyed the gorgeous view.
We are renovating several areas of the hotel, including the rooms, in order to provide more satisfaction and comfort. We are sending your message to the tourist agency manager, which will analyze and correct possible flaws. Thanking your valuable feedback, we wish to receive you again in your next visit to Salvador.

Best Regards,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

The hotel lobby is lovely and festive , decorated with bright colors. We had a room over looking the ocean, amazing views, we slept with the doors open and the sound of the ocean , best nights sleep. The bed was comfy and the maid kept it very clean . The rooms however need a renovation, all the furniture was really worn out. The breakfast is fresh, delicious and amazing !

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HeddyInBrazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GERENCIABOPH, Gerente geral at Bahia Othon Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Bahia Othon Palace during your visit to Salvador and for sharing your experience. We are most pleased to learn that you enjoyed our facilities and the fascinating ocean view. We are renovating the building and furniture in many areas, including the rooms, and work daily to keep the hotel update to offer the best to our guest. We wish to receive you again in a near future.

Best Regards,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

I have know the Othon since 1985... It hasn't changed:
- Ideal location (Gorgeous view on the sea/on the passage of Carnival, not too far from the center of town)
- Typical bedrooms
- Trying hard employees

I totally support the travelers complaining about the lack of investment of the hotel. It is worth at best a 4*. It still has, however, a lot of charm. For sure, the quality of breakfast has gone down, the doors of the rooms still shake from the wind, the shutters sometimes open due to the force of the wind in poorly sealed windows.

But the cot benefit is excellent and people are trying hard.

If you look for top of the range or 2013 level experience. Do not go there. If you look for a typically Bahiano hotel where it is important to keep smiling when something not according to expectations is going on, then go. I will return there.

Room Tip: Demand view on the sea!
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Didier M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GERENCIABOPH, Gerente geral at Bahia Othon Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel during your visit to Salvador and for sharing your views about your stay with us. We regret, however, that some products did not reach your expectation. Certainly all your comments are very important for us to improve the service we offer. We look forward to see you back in a near future.

Best Regards,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Stayed here for one night after a late afternoon flight into Salvador. The room was very nice and a good size, with stunning ocean views. The pool area is also great, and overlooks the ocean. The breakfast was excellent - a large buffet with a nice selection of pastries and fruits. For the price, this hotel can't be beat.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pdub P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GERENCIABOPH, Gerente geral at Bahia Othon Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Bahia Othon Palace during your trip to Salvador and for sharing your views with other travelers. We would like to thank you for your feedback and wish to receive I again in your next visit to the city.

Kind Regards,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews