We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs updating, wi fi did not work”
Review of Bahia Othon Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bahia Othon Palace
Ranked #30 of 111 Hotels in Salvador
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Needs updating, wi fi did not work”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Checking in and out was very quick, even during the World Cup. Room was large, with a king bed and a single bed (2 adults and one child). Mattress on the king bed was very hard, awful pillows. Room needs to be updated really bad, furniture and closet were very old. AC working fine. Shower OK. No wi fi at all in my bedroom (606). Even had difficulties connecting in the lobby and the restaurant. Breakfast was fine in both mornings. The restaurant was packed on the first day and service didn't keep up with demand. Ok on the second day, restaurant was emptier. Did not walk around, use pool or beach, tight schedule.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Myself77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GERENCIABOPH, Gerente geral at Bahia Othon Palace, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for telling us about your recent stay at Bahia Othon Palace. We are happy to know you had a good experience and your comments are very important for us to continue improving our service. We are renovating the building and furniture in many areas of the hotel and several investments have been done to meet our guest needs and expectations.
We would like to thank you for your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back in your next visit to the city.

Best Regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    619
    1,017
    531
    140
    66
See reviews for
700
675
88
428
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rock Springs, Wyoming
Level Contributor
110 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Very unimpressed with this place. There is no beach. There is a TINY beach about 5 minutes walking distance. Not really worth visiting compared to the beaches in Salvador. There are no restaurants, convenience stores or grocery stores in walking distance either. So you are at the mercy of the hotel restaurant, which is decent, I have to say. Still, I don't want to spend all my time in the hotel. The pool is just average...nothing to write home about. Customer service in general was fine. The WIFI in the rooms (which they charge you 20 reales a day (about $9 US) is HORRIBLE. It disconnected continually, streaming any kind of a video was impossible. They even changed my room because of the poor wifi, but it did not help much. If a hotel is charging for WIFI it should be lightning fast. The only good thing about this place is the view. If you have an ocean view room, it is great. You also have city views which are nice. Other than that, very bad experience. I will never stay here again or recommend the place.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank viajeroso71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GERENCIABOPH, Gerente geral at Bahia Othon Palace, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the team, I would like to thank you for taking your time ad share your comments regarding your recent stay with us. The will be taken into consideration and shared with the relevant members to improve our service, especially the wi fi.
We offer a magnificent ocean view in every room of the hotel and there are some bars and restaurants (Italian, Japanese food) in the proximity, including a shopping center, with many options also. Should your future travel bring you back to Salvador, give us a new opportunity to serve you better on another occasion.

Best Regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Recent reviews of this property are quite descriptive and fair. Just to add: a beautiful sand beach is just a few steps down the safe street just past some upscale local shops including two nice quick restaurants and a bakery. Banks and a pharmacy are a short walk. The large, upscale Barra mall with shops and great dining is just a short taxi ride away. An enjoyable beachfront experience on a very attractive stretch of ocean right in a good part of town.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Twighcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GERENCIABOPH, Gerente geral at Bahia Othon Palace, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Bahia Othon Palace during your visit to Salvador and for sharing your views in Trip Advisor. It´s a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay through our location. We look forward to accommodating you again in a near future.

Best Regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We had a nice stay here while in Salvador. Rooms are an average size. We were on a high floor in the corner so had an excellent view from multiple angles. The breakfast was awesome! Loads of tropical fruit and other items. The pool was also great. The hotel is on a rocky section of beach so no swimming there. We were lucky enough to see a Candomblé ceremony from our window below by the water.
Hotel was a short ride by taxi to the Mercado Market and elevator to Pelhourino.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephsTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GERENCIABOPH, Gerente geral at Bahia Othon Palace, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for telling us about your recent stay at Bahia Othon Palace. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us. We are refurbishing our facilities in order to increase our guest satisfaction and would like to welcome you back in your next visit to the city.

Best Regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

My check-in was a breeze. Ana at the front desk was very friendly and helpful, plus she speaks good English, which was very helpful when requesting service.

My room was comfortable with double bed overlooking the Atlantic ocean. The floors were all tiles, 2 windows and a door to the tiny balcony overlooked the Atlantic ocean. I could hear ocean waves all day and nights in my room. Nice!!

The bathroom was nice and clean with white tiles and marble walls. Towels and facecloths were provided but no washcloth. So, when travelling to Brazil, remember to bring your washcloths.

My room walls were thin, one day, I could hear loud drilling from upstairs or I could hear conversations in my room sometimes.

The hotel is located in Ondina, NOT Rio Vermelho; about 3 or 4 blocks from popular Barra beach in the west and same distance from Rio Vermelho in the east. There were no good or acceptable entertainment/ restaurants nearby in Ondina (to walk to), I had to take the bus or taxi to find them.

The breakfast were almost the same the 7 mornings I was there, with minor tweaks. The hotel lobby was not very inviting; the seat/couch in the lobby was stained and very dirty.

Room Tip: Most rooms at the back faces the Atlantic Ocean. If you want to be close to restaurants/entertainmen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kenx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GERENCIABOPH, Gerente geral at Bahia Othon Palace, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Bahia Othon Palace during your visit to Salvador and for sharing your opinion in Trip Advisor. We are happy to know that you had a good experience with us. Our guest´s opinion is very important for us to continue improving the service we provide. We wish to receive you again in a near future.

Best Regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

It´s a very nice hotel, good location, good view but looks old
Room was big, very good bed but the furniture was falling appart and the bathroom wasn't very clean.
Good breakfast with brasilian tipical fruit, juices and cakes.
Staff very helpfull.
With a little update wold be a great hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 11Luna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GERENCIABOPH, Gerente geral at Bahia Othon Palace, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing tha Bahia Othon Palace and for sharing your experience in Trip Advisor. We are renovating the building, including the rooms and furniture. We are happy to hear you appreciate our service and look forward to see you back in a near future.

Best Regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Alamitos, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

The dirt is obvious - stained hall carpets, sticky black residue on the bed side table. Yes, the décor is old and dated but soap would help a lot.
We ate lunch on site and were billed about $12 more for one item. The staff agreed bur refused to rewrite the bill suggesting we get a credit for the next time we ate there (that was not happening). After taking the issue to the front desk and one half hour later, they finally gave us a credit for the over charge. We would rate the restaurant a 2 also.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GERENCIABOPH, Gerente geral at Bahia Othon Palace, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay with us. We regret, however, that some of our services did not reach your expectation. Your comments will be taken into consideration and shared with the relevant team members to improve our service.

Sincerely,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salvador hotels
1.6 mi away
Sheraton da Bahia - Hotel Salvador
1.8 mi away
Golden Tulip Salvador
Golden Tulip Salvador
#27 of 111 in Salvador
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,200 reviews
2.0 mi away
Mercure Salvador Rio Vermelho
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Vila Gale Salvador
Vila Gale Salvador
#23 of 111 in Salvador
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,455 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ondina Apart Hotel
Ondina Apart Hotel
#51 of 111 in Salvador
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.9 mi away
Monte Pascoal Praia Hotel Salvador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bahia Othon Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia Othon Palace

Property: Bahia Othon Palace
Address: Avenida Oceanica 2294 | Ondina, Salvador, State of Bahia 40170-010, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Bahia > Salvador
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Salvador
#23 Romantic Hotel in Salvador
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bahia Othon Palace 3.5*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The irresistible charm of Bahia Othon Palace begins with its location: the top of a cliff, facing the turquoise waters of Ondina Beach in Salvador. Perfectly integrated with nature, with colonial arches, the hotel offers the utmost sophistication and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bahia Othon Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Othon Palace Hotel Salvador
Bahia Othon Palace Salvador, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing