We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two similiarly named hotels”
Review of Sol Bahia Sleep

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sol Bahia Sleep
Ranked #75 of 110 Hotels in Salvador
Reviewed 27 June 2014

I found out about a week before my trip that I had booked the wrong hotel. In Salvador there is the Sol Bahia and then the Bahia Sol. The Bahia Sol is near the Barra neighborhood and is probably the place you are looking to stay. However, since my booking was nonrefundable I went ahead and stayed at the Sol Bahia. It is closer to the airport so the cab fairs will be less. They also allowed me to check in early which was wonderful as I needed some additional sleep before I went to the World Cup match that day. They have shuttle that leaves every couple of hours to take you to the Salvador shopping mall. Which is a very impressive place to spend some time and shop. From there we were able to catch the shuttle to the Fonte Nova stadium and watch the game. Their continental breakfast is pretty good and includes some local Brazilian foods.

However, that's all the good things I can say. If you are an English only speaker than I would advise against staying here because they have no one on their staff that even remotely understands English. I was in town for three days. After the futball match the next day I went down early to setup a tour of the historic district downtown. I had thought everything was arranged and that she told me to come back to the lobby at 3pm to go on the tour. I'm down in the lobby at 3 and at 3:15 - 3:20 I go up to the desk to ask where the tour was. They didn't understand me so I got a guy from Rio who was staying at the hotel to interpret and he said that the tour left at 1pm and that I was never signed up for it. Fortunately I was able on my own to arrange a tour the next day through a private company. But I was furious with the hotel that they didn't get me booked on it and the private tour cost me around 3 times as much as the bus tour would have. (It was worth it though)

Other things. They don't have a safety deposit box in the room. I went down to the front desk at least 4 times asking for a deposit box which the written rules of the hotel said they had. They were never able to provide me with one. So I was constantly worried that anything valuable I left in my room wasn't safe.

The beds are OK. I had a room with two full size beds. One had a ridge in the mattress so I slept on the other.

There is nothing around this hotel you can walk to. If you want to leave you need to get a taxi to go somewhere or hop on the shopping shuttle to go to the mall.

I watched the USA vs. Portugal game in their lobby. They have a bar there and was able to get a Cuba Libre at half time. I went over to the bar to get another drink immediately after the game was over and they had closed for the night. It was a Sunday however, but there were about 20 people in the lobby watching the game. I would have thought they'd stayed open a little later to accommodate guests since there is no where else they can go.

Finally, as I was traveling with a limited wardrobe I asked them to clean 5 pair of underwear, 4 pair of socks, 4 shirts, and some cargo shorts. When they brought the laundry back the bill was 253 Reais. Which translates to $113.00. Looking at my final bill when I left I'm not sure that was what I was finally charged but was very much sticker shock. I did have them expedited because I was only there for 3 days and it was the weekend. However I had the same laundry done in Fortaleza without expediting and it was only around $50.

Overall an OK place to stay. No frills. Secure. But don't expect it to be easy to get anywhere.

Room Tip: Get a seaside facing room. The gaming area is on the other side and there are people always there s...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hugodwarf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S0L_Express, Gerente geral at Sol Bahia Sleep, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2015

Dear Hugo,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor and its contribution to the improvement of our services. I will make a few points below referring to your comment.

The Sol Bahia is the hotel that was, I regret that this misunderstanding occurred during your reservation at the hotel name.

The tour with the receptive is a company that has nothing to do with the hotel.

Provide a safe in all apartments, do not understand the problem he had with his bed, the hotel disponiliza a shuttle to the beach Patamares and main points of the neighborhood for most comidade and comfort of guests and we funcionáros at the hotel who speak English well as other languages, I regret what happened during their communication.

Finally, we checked the system and found no invoice with this amount of laundry, or with your name, I think that happened a misunderstanding and we are open for further clarification.

We regret that your stay with us was not satisfactory and we hope that some day we can undo this negative image that was the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (434)
There are newer reviews for Sol Bahia Sleep
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 8 of 434 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2012

To start it is important to say that I have done a lot of travel, and stayed in all manner of accommodation - from tents to 5 star hotels, from poverty class sleeper trains in India to the best Nile cruise...i pre-empt because I have experienced a lot of variances in service and standards and have no problem with that as it is life... so in saying that, and that I have never felt the need to comment on trip advisor previously, I don't make this post lightly.

I was in Salvadore in May 2012 to speak at a conference. I arrived at 11pm after 30+ hrs of travel (accommodation was recommended by the conference organisers) I entered my room..the guy that took my bags up tried to kick start the room lighting and after a few minutes got most of the lights to work.

I was engulfed in the rancid smell of cigarette smoke (I had asked for non smoking room - this apparently was one). I went to the toilet, and it didn't flush - had to lift the cistern lid off and manually raise the plunger - despite asking for this to be repaired about this it wasn't fixed until day 4...

So before you ask... I couldn't change rooms, as it would cause a rate change. Seriously I wish had done it and just copped the difference in price.

The service is unbelievably bad. After a full day at the conference, we went to the bar and waited 30 minutes. Barman finally came in and said they had closed (no signs...only bar at the hotel) - short staffed (he was yacking with 2 females for the 30 minutes that we waited) and we have to order from room service. One colleague went to his room, ordered a bottle of wine. 40 minutes later the same waiter delivered a bottle of wine - not the one we ordered....go figure...

Watch power-points - I left a Macbook adaptor behind I couldn't get it out of the socket and when I tried wiring came out of the wall.

Day and night the noise of people coming and going kept me awake.
The place needs to be bulldozed and rebuilt, and the management need a major overhaul.

Room Tip: Not overlooking the arrival area - NOISE Not near the stairs - lobby noise comes straight up
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Jon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

the hotel is located in a big hill up two streets down from the beach at a not so nice part of town. the rooms where tiny and old.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tai_Goncalves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2011

Located in the Pataramas neighborhood, this "in fairly good shape" hotel is situated high on a hill a block or two from the beach. As such, getting to the hotel was a chore by foot as you had to descend and climb a very long and steep driveway when walking to and from the beach. This hotel is NOT located within walking distance of ANYTHING of interest and the beach is not that great either. Thankfully the food was decent, and the place was very clean. The hotel room was off the back where the entrance was and even though on the seconf floor, the noise from outside was intrusive. Overall, not the best place to stay and not the worst either, but can certainly find better places that offer more.

Room Tip: Find a hotel closer to historic downtown.
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank salb222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2011

I arrived at this hotel in the evening and the receptionists could not find my booking. I provided them my voucher, but it wasn't enough for them.
They also did not want to contact the customer services from the travel agency that I used that was based in New York.
After making an international phone call, I was given a room. For my surprise, my room key did not work and I had ask the porter to re-activate my key at the reception whilst I waited in the corridor for it.
The hotel itself is really far from the main sites of Salvador and the taxis in Salvador are utterly expensive.
My advice is to avoid this hotel, unless you are certain that your room is booked and that your main destination from there is the airport.
I've also had a problem at the bar, when I asked for two bottles of sparkling water and I was given still water. After I complained, the waiter only changed one bottle to sparkling.
On my check-out, I was forced to pay a tourism tax to the receptionist, even though I said that all the taxes were already settled by my travel agent.
After I got back, I contacted the travel agency and that contact the hotel management for explanations... For our surprise, they denied everything. They said that I had never stayed at their hotel, even though I had the proof of it.
I wanted my money back or at least the refund for the international phone call that I made to New York, and after two months since my trip, I managed to get the travel agency to refund me the phone call.
The hotel has not even issued an apology letter. This is definitely frustrating and an insult to any customer!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bravisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank victor f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017
Thank MARISSFBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salvador hotels
2.7 mi away
Hotel Praia da Sereia
Hotel Praia da Sereia
#74 of 110 in Salvador
101 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Sol Plaza Sleep
Hotel Sol Plaza Sleep
#24 of 110 in Salvador
391 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Cocoon
Hotel Cocoon
#72 of 110 in Salvador
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Salvador Mar Hotel
Salvador Mar Hotel
#93 of 110 in Salvador
145 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Alah Mar
Hotel Alah Mar
#95 of 110 in Salvador
224 reviews
5.8 mi away
B Hotel
B Hotel
#61 of 110 in Salvador
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Bahia Sleep? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Bahia Sleep

Address: Rua Manoel Antonio Galvao 1075, Salvador, State of Bahia 41741-550, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Bahia > Salvador
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Salvador
Price Range: £24 - £46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sol Bahia Sleep 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sol Bahia Sleep is a practical and economical hotel and a great choice for both business and leisure travelers. Conventient located in Salvador, it has a prime position overlooking the Patamares Beach, one of the best in the region. In addition, it offers an execellent structure to host events with 09 conventional halls. The Sol Bahia Hotel is located just few kilometers from the main tourist and leisure activities of the city: Parque Metropolitano de Pituaçu, Lagoa do Abaeté and Farol de Itapuã, besides CAB - Administrative Center of the Bahia and Paralela Shopping Mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sol Bahia Sleep reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Bahia Sleep Salvador, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing