We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (948)
Filter reviews
948 results
Traveller rating
204
422
237
46
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
204
422
237
46
39
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 948 reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2018

This hotel has seen better days and is in need of an upgrade. There is only one elevator. The hallways are dark and dour. The bathroom was rather tight. We had a pool view and were unable to upgrade to an ocean view. The breakfast was OK although the staff not so eager to replenish the items that had run out. The beach in front of the hotel was super busy with hardly room to stand, where one is continuously hassled by pushy vendors. The restaurants in the area cater to a variety of clientele, with the good ones being rather pricey and of dubious quality. The area is extremely busy, especially at night, with a mostly young male crowd, straight and gay, loudly parading around while drinking beer or caipirinhas that are available from street vendors.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for an ocean view room!
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank WorldTravelerBert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2016

I had the misfortune of spending 2 nights at this hotel.

Negatives

1. Airconditioner does not cool. Only has a fan function.

2. The room looks like a 1 star room from a 3rd world country

3. The internet is slow

4. No one in the hotel seems to speak any English or Spanish. Strictly Portuguese.

5. Lot of noise from the beach and from other residents of the hotels in the alleyway.

6. Room service is a joke.

7. No decent coffee available in the hotel. The give you sour milk ( extremely old and bad- for making your coffee)

8. No plug points to charge your devices in the hotel. ( except where the tv or lamp is plugged)

9. No room bar in the room.

10. I paid 92 usd/night and its a joke because much better hotels in Salvador for 50 usd/night.

11. Night time - they shut off all the lights. No one at the front desk. The guard is sleeping. It seems like a spooky graveyard!

Positives

1. Only one. Next to the beach.

Will I return? Never, Never, Never!

Do yourself a BIG favor - Never stay in this joke of a hotel
( and do not be fooled by the great reviews below)

If you found my review helpful - please click on "Found the review helpful" icon.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Sally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHBARRA, Gerente de relações com clientes at Grande Hotel Da Barra, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2016

Dear Mrs. Sally M,
We thank you for your comments,athough negatives. You can be sure that we will pass them to the managers responsible for carrying out the necessary actions and corrective maintenance for their comments. After all, this is the way, getting the feedback from those who use our services, we can keep in continuous improvement.
We regret and apologize for the inconveniences incurred during your stay, but we emphasize that facts like these are unusual here in the Grande Hotel da Barra, are not part of our standard of care. We are committed to raising our services go beyond.
Our staff is helpful, polite and ready to solve any occurrence. Our front desks speak English and Spanish. Some of them, can also speak French. Our room are equipped with minibar, air conditioner, cable TV, safe, phone, internet access wifi and hair dryer . Also in the room there are the new brazilian standard for plugs and sockets.
A hotel that is part of the history of the city, but that never stopped in time. This is the Grande Hotel da Barra, which continuously invests in its structure, in preventive maintenance of its equipment and facilities and in professional training.
Mrs Sally, will be very good for the whole team of GHB to have you here again to give us a chance to get the negative image that stayed in our hotel. Let us enchant you with our gentle and sincere way to serve each client and show you all changes updated at Grande Hotel da Barra.
We wish you a wonderful weekend.
Cordially,
Ivone K Gorges
Relationship Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2015

Spent seven days here. Would go back, just for the sunset across the street on the beach and the excellent breakfast. Good location on the beach, WIFI OK a little slow during busy hours, best included breakfast while traveling in Brazil, helpful staff. Rooms OK but a little dated, but good a value.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank snow5540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2015

That was the worst price/quality ratio we got through our 3 weeks travel in Brazil. We booked a double room with the sea view and were put in the room on the 1st floor with half of our view hidden by the rooftop of the nearby building. On request we were quickly moved to the 5th floor, which definitely was much better.
The area is not the safest one as there were always some loud groups of people late at night next to the hotel.
The beach gets crowded very fast so be sure to come earlier if you want to have a better place ( also ask for the price of the chairs in advance as the guy tried to charge us a triple price of what we paid in the nearby beach).
Rooms were definitely not re-decorated for the last 20 years and felt very old and tired. Although our room was cleaned every day, it was not perfect ( sometimes the floors would still be wet in the afternoon from the water that leaked after our morning shower).
Bahia is known for its food, but our breakfast was somewhat tasteless ( apart from the delicious fruits we had here).
The best about this hotel are the people working here- very friendly, always greeting us with the smile and were very helpful with anything we asked.
I would not suggest staying here – it was way too expensive for what it offers.

Room Tip: If you are booking the room with the sea view, ask for the one on the top floor.
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Dainty_Maid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2015

I loved the location, amazing view of the ocean, nice staff. Breakfast was a lot and very good. The hotel is very clean and inexpensive. Taxis will charge you about 100 Brazilian Real which is 30-40 US dollars to take you to the airport which is 45 minutes drive.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Matthaus_n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHBARRA, Gerente de relações com clientes at Grande Hotel Da Barra, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2015

Dear Matthaus,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share on TripAdvisor your recent experience at Grande Hoterl da Barra.
We really appreciate your comments about all our services and hope you come back to visit us again very soon!

Cordially,
Ivone K Gorges
Relationship manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews