We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly staff, great breakfast, solid accomodations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Catharina Paraguacu
Ranked #37 of 111 Hotels in Salvador
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very friendly staff, great breakfast, solid accomodations”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Stayed here for 4 weeks - the staff is very friendly and courteous - the ladies who run the kitchen are great! The breakfast buffet is very good with a huge selection of cakes, pastries, fruits, juices etc. The location is good - enough bars/restaurants around the area for every possible budget. Security is very good - never felt unsafe.

The accommodations are basic but solid (3-star - comparable to a Best Western or Holiday Inn in the US) ... the rooms were cleaned daily and well maintained. Bathrooms were small but functional. Beds were on the smaller side - I was on the 1st floor and in the early morning there was some noise from the kitchen as the staff prepared for breakfast.

All in all, a very good value and I recommend this quirky hotel!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldexplorersid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    79
    31
    6
    1
See reviews for
36
64
10
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Attiki, Greece
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We stayed upstairs in the newer part, Rm 370 with a small ocean view -- quiet, adequate space well laid out, solid wi-fi. Captivated by the good taste of the restorations and the atmosphere of a quieter era. Very appetizing breakfast buffet strong on local cakes, one of them a little heavy for foreign stomachs but overall a fine cross-cultural excuse for gluttony. Friendly staff worked hard to answer our questions, Location is excellent for the choice of restaurants, and much pleasanter as well as cheaper to spend the night, we thought, than Pelourinho. We ventured out using local buses, frequent and practical, but never found a bus map and many locals knew little more than we did on the subject. Overall, we felt safe and welcome, and were able to relax very nicely.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BraReg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We stayed in 2 family rooms (split level room) which are spacious and confortable but had no windows. Despites windows it is still very noisy at night because of the night-club across the street. Difficult to get any sleep even on week days.
The breakfast room is very charming and food is good with variety.
The hotel staff is helpful and efficient.
Hotel Catharina Paraguacu is situated in Rio Vermelho which is a good neighbourhood for restaurants : Caza de Tereza, Chao Fogo and good bars
But it is ont close to the historic center and the beach at Bara.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ingwe12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
590 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013 via mobile

At first glance this is a lovely place. A bit if the old colonial about it. But a number of the rooms are a bit like a Holiday Inn.
Depending on what you need this could be good of course. Staff are really helpful, and speak English, and security seems ok. They have a couple of quirky ways of doing things, but overall it's quite pleasant.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank david h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2013

We have been in this hotel for 3 days. The service is excellent, from the receptionist to the lady in the kitchen, everybody is very polite and smiling. They make you feel happy when you start a new day.
It is an antique house restored in a very nice way, the atmosphere is perfect. Inside there are photos that show how they have trasformed a detroyed house to a delightful boutique hotel. It is obvious that the owners have spent a lot (not only money but also time). It has a very nice garden with a fountain. The rooms are very clean, the breakfast is very good.
It has a good positioning in Rio Verhelmo. In taxi it takes only 10 minutes to go to Barra (16R$) or to the center. From our balcony we could see small monkeys.
I reccomend it to everybody

Room Tip: The rooms of inner side are more silent
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Demet2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natal
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

The hotel is very charming, the staff is helpful and friendly, breakfast is really delicious (even though there´s not much variety). There are many good bars and restaurants (including the best acarajé in Salvador) within short walking distance. On the downside, it is on a noisy street, and it looks a bit old (everything - ar conditioning, minibar, shower, etc - was working properly, it just looks old). Great choice if you´re looking for agitated nightlife and character accomodations.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wubluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

This was the second hotel that my husband and I stayed at in Salvador - just for one night between our return from Boipeba and our departure to Rio. Originally, we stayed in the Vitoria neighbourhood, and much preferred the Rio Vermelho neighbourhood around Catharaina Paraguacu because it was quite lively with restaurants and bars. I really don't understand why a previous reviewer said that this neighbourhood was not safe, as it seemed totally fine to me precisely because it was bustling at night. We went to a great arts cafe on the street behind the hotel where we enjoyed a jazz band, and we also loved sitting out in the local square for a beer.

The hotel itself was tastefully decorated. I really loved the use of tiles, and the art around the hotel. Our room was good. We had an ocean view and it was actually quite quiet despite being in a busy neighbourhood.

This was the only place that we stayed in Brazil which was not a pousada, and the difference in staff commitment to forming relationships with guests was tangible. At the pousadas all of the staff made tons of effort to make sure our stay was comfortable, here the staff just seem less interested in engaging with us, though they were polite enough. This also might have been because the front desk person employee did not speak English so we couldn't really converse beyond the essentials of checking in. We also didn't like that we asked if they could call a taxi for us when we were heading to the airport and it was pouring rain outside; instead they called a more expensive transfer service for us without checking if that was ok.

If your priority is to be in a neighbourhood that is fun to be in at night with a variety of restaurants and bars, this is a good choice.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TorontoLizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salvador hotels
0.4 mi away
Pestana Bahia Lodge
Pestana Bahia Lodge
#55 of 111 in Salvador
1,426 reviews
0.3 mi away
Zank by Toque Hotel
Zank by Toque Hotel
#25 of 111 in Salvador
291 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Salvador Rio Vermelho
Ibis Salvador Rio Vermelho
#20 of 111 in Salvador
2,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mercure Salvador Rio Vermelho
0.4 mi away
Hotel Pousada Pedra da Concha
3.4 mi away
Pousada Colonial
Pousada Colonial
#46 of 111 in Salvador
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Catharina Paraguacu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Catharina Paraguacu

Property: Hotel Catharina Paraguacu
Address: Rua Joao Gomes 128 | Rio Vermelho, Salvador, State of Bahia 41950-640, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Bahia > Salvador
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Salvador
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Catharina Paraguacu 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Catharina Paraguacu Hotel blends, with great charm, the old and the new into one, rich in detail setting and ornamented with regional materials. Located in Rio Vermelho beach in a charming antique 19th century residence, carefully restored and enlarged, near Salvador’s key tourist attractions, beaches, bars and restaurants.All apartments are equipped with cable TV, free wi-fi access, air conditioning, telephone, mini bar, individual safes and bathroom. Laundry service, business center, 24 hour front desk service, car rental and a free private parking are also available for your comfort. A delicious, typically Bahian, Breakfast Buffet is served every morning in the breakfast room, decorated with unique Maragojipinho ceramic.Recommended on both editions of the New York Times Best-seller “1000 places to see before you die” by Patricia Schultz, for its character and architectural flavor ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Hotel Catharina Paraguacu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Catharina Paraguacu Salvador, Bahia, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing