We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent customer service, very good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Salvador Boulevard
Ranked #18 of 111 Hotels in Salvador
Coimbra, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Excellent customer service, very good hotel”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We didn't plan to stay in this hotel, while in Salvador, but due to a problem reaching our hotel (Mercure Rio Vermelho) in Fev 2nd (Dia de Yemanjá), we were directed to this hotel very efficiently and quickly.
Staff was excellent, nice and attentive and as a compensation for being almost 5hours in the traffic trying to arrive in Mercure Rio Vermelho, they upgraded our room to a suite. The hotel is new and very clean, so as the rooms. Nice view, A/C efficient and silent, good wifi signal. The decoration was pleasant and the rotative t.v. an intelligent tool. The 2 pools are nice and clean, gym looked nice, although we didn't use it.
Breakfast had good quality products and variety (a plus for the cheese bread).
There's a public parking lot in front of the hotel, but it's paid from 6am, so it's better to leave the car in the hotel garage, not very expensive.
We liked this hotel and once again Accor is a brand of our trust, for the prompt and effective customer service, while solving problems.

Room Tip: Upper floors have the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ana_teresa_simoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    301
    369
    118
    16
    17
See reviews for
109
115
53
427
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We chose this hotel as it was close to our business appointments, and for the economic rate. We upgraded to superior rooms as this could be done for little cost. The rooms were spacious comfortable and clean with fast wifi and a large desk for working. Unfortunately, even on the 12th floor the rooms were blighted by traffic noise. We thought the breakfast could be better for this class of hotel. Small changes in the design could have made this a much better hotel: for example, the bar is not really welcoming (maybe not quite finished yet) and seems to be not part of the hotel so you can't charge bills to rooms. The reception staff were helpful and knowledgable but the check-in process took a very long time. We would stay here again but try to get rooms away from the road noise.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the main road may be noisy due to traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pilgrim99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Stayed for a week.

Had an apartment. As expected. Nothing to shout about except that i found it cheap. Very good value for money.

The breakfast was very basic but for a business hotel, it was sufficient.

I felt the neighbourhood was safe as compared to other parts of Salvador. No 'funny' people hanging out at street corners. There is a Shell petrol station just across the road. Sufficient to get water or some light snacks.

Salvador shopping mall is just across 2 roads. Exit the hotel, turn left, take the overhead bridge and go right. Within 5 mins, you will be at Salvador shopping mall. Found the food court great. Everything that i needed was there.

The staff spoke very good English, the best i encountered in over 2 weeks at Brazil.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bendychair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

booked 3 rooms (rooms 808, 906A & 907A) in this fairly new hotel tower and was greatly surprised upon arrival at how amazing it was. Front desk staff spoke fantastic English amongst numerous other languages, which is a rarity whilst travelling thru South America. They were always obliging with every request including printing out 20 pages of boarding passes for free! The rooms ending in A were half the size the size of the other rooms. Quite small but modern. Same with the bathroom. Air-conditioning worked well, as did the television. Balcony was a great feature too. On-site restaurant is great value for money. Ate dinner there twice during our stay and was 100% satisfied on both occasions. On level P there are 2 large swimming pools, kid's pools, playground, cinema room, and gymnasium. Pools are amazing and never busy. Gym is very large with a nice assortment of gym equipment. Massage is also available on that level. Salvador Shopping is across the road from the hotel via elevated walkway. Cinemas, restaurants, shops, banks are all located there. Pelo area is around 15 minute taxi ride, as is Rio Vermelho and the airport. Julie at the front desk needs an honourable mention for all the assistance she gave. We required a hospital visit where no English was spoken. She called the hospital to discuss the matter then typed out a letter stating the case with her personal number to call for further assistance. All this plus more. Julie is a great asset for the Accor Group!!! Thanks Julie for everything!!!

Room Tip: twin rooms seem to be larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luke k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Bergen
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Great hotel for views of the city and its proximity to the convention center. Staff is helpful but fails to follow through on little things like emailing a copy of your receipt so you can get your expense report done and IGNORES repeated requests for such a simple, simple item.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeyandTrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

This hotel is near the place I needed to go. It's a huge building, where the lack of imagination appears intensively. But it's in front of the place I should go. I've tried to find something to register about the place, but I shall confess its lack of imagination dominated me. Nothing more, just a place to be near.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigJoe1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We weren't sure whether to stay in the historic centre, or stay at the Mercure Boulevard and take taxis to do sightseeing (a taxi to the Pelourinho is BRL $25). In the end a special offer at this brand new hotel made it an unbeatable deal. We were really pleased with our choice when we checked in. The hotel was a welcome sanctuary after a day out in Salvador which is quite a challenging city. There is always someone available on the front desk who speaks English which we found rare in Salvador.

In the rooms everything is brand new and cleverly designed, so even though the classic rooms are compact there is plenty of room to store stuff, there's a fridge and large desk, very comfy bed with quality linens. The bathroom is compact but everything is good quality. We had a problem connecting to the free wi-fi and a member of staff came up to our room to help (the free wi-fi mostly worked well). We arrived late on the first night and ate in the restaurant which was surprisingly good (similar price to the main restaurants in the mall) with nice service.

We used the outdoor pool a couple of times (hardly anyone else did, but then it was September) the pool deck is also spotless and new, with towels provided. There is a gym too which was usually busy.

The hotel is almost next door (a five minute walk) to the new shopping mall Shopping Salvador. This is a really great mall with lots of shops, a supermarket, cafe's and restaurants. We were a bit nervous walking to and from the mall after dark but we didn't have any problems. We found this location in Salvador ideal for our visit. Allow BRL$50 for a taxi to/from the airport. The traffic in Salvador is a bit of a nightmare, lots of jams.

Room Tip: Our first stay was on the 10th floor, our second on the 22nd floor. The views from the higher floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salvador hotels
3.0 mi away
Mercure Salvador Rio Vermelho
3.0 mi away
Ibis Salvador Rio Vermelho
Ibis Salvador Rio Vermelho
#20 of 111 in Salvador
2,342 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sotero Hotel
Sotero Hotel
#4 of 111 in Salvador
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Golden Tulip Salvador
Golden Tulip Salvador
#27 of 111 in Salvador
1,224 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Salvador Pituba
Mercure Salvador Pituba
#26 of 111 in Salvador
491 reviews
0.4 mi away
Intercity Salvador
Intercity Salvador
#9 of 111 in Salvador
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Salvador Boulevard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Salvador Boulevard

Property: Mercure Salvador Boulevard
Address: Rua Ewerton Visco 160 | Caminho das Arvores, Salvador, State of Bahia 41820-022, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Bahia > Salvador
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Salvador
#8 Family Hotel in Salvador
#9 Romantic Hotel in Salvador
#11 Luxury Hotel in Salvador
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Salvador Boulevard 4*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standard Room with 1 double bed. Apartment measuring around 355-378 sq. Ft. (33-35 Sq. M) with a balcony. Desk, air conditioning, 32" LCD TV, WIFI, minibar, hairdryer, shaving mirror and sanitary spray. Accommodates up to 2 people.Superior Room with 1 double bed. Apartment measuring around 484-538 sq. Ft. (45-50 Sq. M) with a balcony. Desk, air conditioning, 32" LCD TV, WIFI, minibar, hairdryer, shaving mirror and sanitary spray. Accommodates up to 2 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, ACCOR, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Salvador Boulevard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Salvador Boulevard Bahia, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing