We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location for visitors interested in history and art”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wish Hotel da Bahia by GJP
Ranked #15 of 110 Hotels in Salvador
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Salvador is well known for its beaches, music and resorts. But it's also a capital full of history where visitors in search of history, art and architecture have plenty to see. The Sheraton da Bahia is one of the 2 top hotels in central Salvador (most chains are located in recently developed districts full of caged condos, where the only thing to do is to sunbathe and swim). The building itself is an amazing example of Brazilian mid-century modern architecture, with stunning pannels by local artists including a fully restored egg shell painting by Genaro de Carvalho. A real landmark. It's a short walk from Pelourinho (the main historical district), museums such as the MAM and a short cab ride to Rio Vermelho, a neighbourhood that concentrates bars and restaurants. Rooms are small but clean and comfortable. The staff is helpful and everything worked fine. Ask for a room facing the swimming pool and the Campo Grande Square (they are silent and have open views). I had been there before it was bought by Sheraton and the only thing i regret is miss is the authentic mid-century furniture and lamps (they now have replicas). Strongly recomomended.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonDaBahia, Public Relations Manager at Wish Hotel da Bahia by GJP, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Dear H H,

We appreciate you take your time to post such positive and detailed comments! It's always great to hear that our guests enjoy their hotels choice and travels.

Our effort is always to provide an excellent service for our guests not only with staff service but also with the landmarks that you appreciated.

We look forward to welcome you again at Sheraton da Bahia Hotel, Salvador.

Sincerely,

Carla Ferreira
Management Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,227)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

153 - 159 of 1,227 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2014

The Sheraton is what you would expect from the Sheraton brand, modern, clean, and stylish. The food at the hotel restaurant was good and the staff were friendly.

However, the travel desk at the hotel was terrible. We were directed there to get information on how to get to Morro de Sao Paulo and were just lied to. The travel agency had no information on the flights and were doing what I was doing (going on google) to get answers. Then we were told that there was only one catamaran for the day and we had missed it (there are several). This mis-information caused us to miss a day on the island (even though I was continuing to pay for the pre-paid room at the Sheraton).

So, other than the travel desk, I would definitely recommend the Sheraton for someone that wants a modern Western style hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jordan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonDaBahia, Public Relations Manager at Wish Hotel da Bahia by GJP, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Dear Jordan S,

We appreciate you take your the time to post such positive comments about the Hotel! It's always great to hear that our guests recommend.

Regarding the travel agency comments we would like to ask you for apologies and we already sent them your comments to be analysed and checked.

Will be a pleasure to welcome you back at Sheraton da Bahia Hotel, Salvador.

Sincerely,

Carla Ferreira
Management Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Independently of being or not a guest at the Sheraton, its gourmet space and layout is a great introduction to the excellent dishes served. I've been there four times: always very tasty and visually attractive. Check it out!
My friends from American Society International have also endorsed it.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Nelson C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonDaBahia, Public Relations Manager at Wish Hotel da Bahia by GJP, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Nelson C,

We are really proud to receive great comments about your Sheraton da Bahia experiences.

Food and Beverage staff are very happy and gratified with your review and recognition.

It is a pleasure to welcome the American Society International and to know that they have endorsed us!

We hope to keep having you as our client (guest or not) in Sheraton da Bahia Hotel, Salvador.

Sincerely,

Carla Ferreira
Management Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel during the world Cup. We initially checked into a different hotel but then decided to check out early and find a better place.
This is excellent value. It was comfortable, nicely located, very friendly staff and great service.
I highly recommend it!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ramin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonDaBahia, Public Relations Manager at Wish Hotel da Bahia by GJP, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Ramin K,

We couldn't be happier after your review. We are glad to know that we could achieve our most important goal: your complete satisfaction!

We look forward to welcome you again at Sheraton da Bahia Hotel to enjoy our nice location, "friendly staff and great service".

Sincerely,

Carla Ferreira
Management Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Just returned from 5 nights at the Sheraton. I was quite excited before getting there but was left extremely disappointed overall. Upon check in, I was upgraded to a 'club room' (SPG Gold). The lobby was nice and modern and check in was fast, so the start was as good as it got.

The room was modern but tiny, no difference with the standard rooms, the bathroom floor had 5-6 short hairs (yes). The bed was unbelievably uncomfortable with and the AC hardly worked throughout our stay. The biggest shock was the 'Club' Lounge, one large bedroom was turned into a so called 'lounge'. Very poor continental breakfast and evening snacks and no alcoholic beverages. The normal rate for the club room was about 180 usd more than the standard room per night which makes me wonder how the people who actually paid that much more must have felt!

the service was so so ... about 5 people in the whole hotel spoke english. Not a single person in the restaurant spoke a word. At the bar I ordered a drink, the lady sent over her english speaking colleague who told me: 'Please stop speaking like a Cheetah cause she won't understand and she will wonder what you've asked for (using profanity!) . Another evening, we were drinking by the pool and towards the end of the night, the waiter, with very broken english came over and said that his shift was over and asked for his tip!

The breakfast was not too bad but since the hotel was really busy the breakfast room was more of a war zone than a restaurant! (not blaming that on the hotel). We had lunch one day which was very average too.

The internet was worse than my dial up connection of 20 years ago. Every time I complained, they said it's because the hotel is full, they blamed all the problems on their occupancy, but as a supposed '5' star hotel, shouldn't they be prepared to serve a full house?!

The location is not good either. It's close by cab to everything but it's on a very dodgy/scary street (especially at night). Salvador overall felt like the least safe city that I visited in Brazil on my 20 days trip.

The only positive about this hotel was the spa and in particular the amazing therapist Emanuella whom gave me one of the most amazing massages I ever had. If it wasn't for her, I wouldn't even give this hotel a rating of 1. I really hope the management does something to fix all these issues since the hotel looks nice and modern on surface...

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank salarvafa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonDaBahia, Public Relations Manager at Wish Hotel da Bahia by GJP, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear sava87,

Thank you for take your time sharing your opinion about Sheraton da Bahia Hotel.

Considering the impression you had about your stay with us we would like to apology if our services didn´t match your expectations.

Training will be reinforced in all areas in order to avoid we receive negative comments and to assure that situations as you detail do not repeat themselves. Our department managers are already reinforcing our concepts in their daily briefings with our staff.

Please be assured that we take all guest comments very seriously and your feedback is essential for us to increase our guest satisfaction which is our ultimate goal.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

On an extremely noisy street and without insulated windows, you will not get a good night's sleep.

The internet is so slow, it's practically useless despite calling twice for service.

Rooms, though recently remodeled, are on the small side.

Very good breakfast.

Extremely expensive and irrational pre-paid policies, having to send copies do your id and credit card in advance. This during World Cup, but still not Sheraton standards.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank HeyDude09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonDaBahia, Public Relations Manager at Wish Hotel da Bahia by GJP, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear HeyDude09,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Sheraton da Bahia Hotel Salvador with us.

It is important for us to monitor our performance and know about our guests experiences to improve.

We had a problem during four days with our local internet service provider which resulted in a reduction of our internet to about thirty percent of its normal capacity, thus generating a service far below our normal internet capacity.

The pre-payment policies are common in World Cup period.

We look forward to welcome you once again at Sheraton da Bahia Hotel to have a new experience.

Sincerely,

Carla Ferreira
Management Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I have stayed 2 nights in sheraton hotel salvador ,for world cup 2014,i am iranian,my name is ALI DASTJERDI .the hotel is very clean ,comfortable,nice room,the beds are so good,also pillo and blankets are comfortable,bath and showers are good,view the room was for swimming pool and park ,so was nice.only one supermarket is near the hotel and it was almost closed !!mini bar is good . bottle of water and tea and coffe are not free in the room!around the hotel is safe,,the staff are so helpful ,kindness and they can speak english well ,the receptions are so friendly,and thanks them for late check out,,wi fi is free in the room and lobby so its good,,swimming pool is nice with a nice bar next to it,but the water was so cold !the breakfast is fantastic only one thing i have to say and that is the TOASTER!. I always like to have toast bread for my breakfast but that toaster is not acceptable for SHERATON da bahia hotel salvador!!,

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ali d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonDaBahia, Public Relations Manager at Wish Hotel da Bahia by GJP, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Ali Dast Jerdi,

We appreciate you take your time to post such positive comments! It's always great to hear that our guests enjoy themselves during their travels.

We ask for apologies for the toaster and we are already providing a new one to substitute it.

We look forward to welcome you once again at Sheraton da Bahia Hotel to have a new experience.

Sincerely,

Carla Ferreira
Management Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salvador hotels
Fiesta Bahia Hotel
#4 of 110 in Salvador
1,009 reviews
Bahia Othon Palace
#21 of 110 in Salvador
2,551 reviews
Vila Gale Salvador
#19 of 110 in Salvador
1,560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Itapua
Hotel Deville Prime Salvador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wish Hotel da Bahia by GJP? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wish Hotel da Bahia by GJP

Address: Avenida Sete de Setembro 1537 | Campo Grande, Salvador, State of Bahia 40080-001, Brazil (Formerly Sheraton Da Bahia Hotel, Salvador)
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Bahia > Salvador
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Salvador
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Salvador
#8 Business Hotel in Salvador
#10 Luxury Hotel in Salvador
#10 Romantic Hotel in Salvador
Price Range: £59 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Wish Hotel da Bahia by GJP 4.5*
Number of rooms: 284
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Wish Hotel da Bahia by GJP reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wish Hotel Da Bahia By GJP Salvador, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing