We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location & beach. Needs a refurbishing.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Catussaba Resort Hotel
Ranked #39 of 110 Hotels in Salvador
Reviewed 24 November 2013

I stayed in the hotel with my wife. I had a business meeting on a monday, but we decided to go on Friday night and enjoy Salvador and its beaches.

The hotel is near the airport and next to the Catussaba beach. The beach is great, nice white sand and clean ocean water, with very few people on it (just hotel guests and some surfers). this is the highlight of the hotel and I recommend visiting just for that.

The service, like in most Brazilian hotels, is very friendly, always smiling. Also, they have small travel agency that offers different excursions (Northern beaches, morro de Sao Paulo, historic Salvador, etc). I recommend you going to some of the near beaches or to Morro de Sao Paulo.

In terms of infrastructure, like most hotels in Brazil, it is subpar vis a vis European or US hotels of the same category. In theory a 5 star hotel, it ressembles a 3 star European or US hotel. Ugly bathrooms, with no bath tubs and just a "shower", not very confortable beds, etc. However, you go there for the beach and for the nice historic town.

The food is very good at breakfast, with lots of fruit, omeletes, etc. At dinner it is a buffet, but with limited variety.


Overall, I recommend it. Do not expect a "luxury" resort, but the location, in front of a beautiful beach, and the nice, firendly service, are worth visiting.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mbarallat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,831)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

42 - 48 of 1,831 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2013

My wife and I have stayed in this hotel many times over the last probably twenty years and the hotel still continues to be comfortable with a goodand friendly staff. Vitor welcomed us for our check in and he was very efficient and cordial. Since our room was not yet cleaned yet he told us that we could go dowon to the bar and have a couple of caipirinhas on the hotel. The breakfast is good but there are two things that could possibly be better. First of all the window for fried eggs and tapiocas forms a queue that can take you longer to get what you want than the entire time that it takes your enjoy your breakfast. The other problem is that there is a large number of sparrows flying all over the restaurant looking for food. I realize that this would be very difficult to solve, but we must remember that these "cute" little birds are carrying diseases directly to the table where we are eating! The hotel used to have three or four computers for the guests to use to check emails etc. When I tried to use one, there was only one and three little rug rats stayed on it for hours although there is a sign saying that guests can only use it for 10 minutes at a time. The airconditioner in our room 1351 only has ON and OFF so you cannot adjust the temperature, which means that in the middle of the night your will have to eventually turn it off to maintain a comfortable temperature. I have returned many times to this hotel and will continue to do so.

Room Tip: I would not recommend a rooom near the pool because of the noise caused by children and the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 7,727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

this hotel is located near the airport but without the rush of airplanes. It has a good beach and nice acomodations. It fits someone who wants to rest a couple of days without geting out and en joying a lazy stile at hte beach. Fgh.ood is OK and the rooms are spacious. It is not pratical if you woant to get out at night or visit the city, dough.

Room Tip: avoid the area near the reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angela w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Unbelievable that an hotel so well located does not takes care of maintenance. If your are for holidays, may be is a good option, as location compensates the poor rooms: just besides the see, with a fantastic view. If you take care on cleanness, or are in business trips and view is not a bonus, then go to Catussaba business or some other option.

Room Tip: I had 2202: fantastic view on the see!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carlos B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Hard to imagine a better location, convienent to the international aiport, Salvador is not far away..I totally understand it is difficult to maintain a property on the ocean front, however, it appears they have at least partially given up. Room(s) 1163/4 were "dank", mold where you would expect it, doors dont fit well, furniture was in disrepair etc..I had a garden view room which when you open the door you can see the grass which was 12" tall...and I had a view of the security wall with the ghetto glass on top...

Front desk check in: Very good, well presented, very patient with my horrible Portueguese

Downstairs Restaraunt: Same comment, very good service

Upstairs "bar": Possibly the worst service I have ever had. I have been traveling for
business/pleasure for close to 30 years and never have been ignored
this thoroughly ever..My Portueguese is not to blame here, I can order
a beer in several languages and am always succsessful, but not here.

Poolside services: 50/50

Breakfast buffett was not bad, food was hot or warm or cold depending. Fruit was awesome, juices the same, breads were ok.

Lunch: Did not use hotel for lunch

Dinner: If you eat downstairs, you'll likely be fine. I had dinner there a few times and was well taken care of. Food was fine. We did order dinner at the upstairs bar once, one time too many. Service was poor, food did arrive eventually, shrunk wrapped in saran wrap and nice and cold.

So, take out the upstairs bar area and accept the conditions, this hotel is fantastic. It is a resort, youre there for the beach not the rooms. But when your paying these prices, the maintenance should match the cost. The rooms and common areas were exceptionally clean, the resort is not dirty, just wore out. Management needs to switch up the teams and have some of the front desk/downstairs restaraunt team work with the bar team and improve their service skills.

Room Tip: Stay away from outside garden rooms. I had colleauges staying in 1101, near the ocean, wonderful ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob11276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

This Catussaba resort hotel is just 3 kilometres from the airport, so I was reached very quickly at the hotel. The hotel is very clean and also the place is wonderful. It provides the best waiter and room services, I was quite impressed from it especially. After this, this hotel provides bar-lounge, fitness facilities and tennis court. This hotel has very nice beach and I really enjoyed with friends .
Although, I will definitely visit it again very soon.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lesliystewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

The morning coffee was the same as the afternoon coffe, they didnt putted fresh food.
The meeting rooms needed some work.

The free wifi was good.

The restaurants close where awful. They dont serve you what you ask for and took around 50 minutes, please choose your food much before the lunch or dinner...

Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
Thank ElMameluco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salvador hotels
Itapua
Mar Brasil Hotel
Mar Brasil Hotel
#5 of 110 in Salvador
1,067 reviews
Itapua
Hotel Deville Prime Salvador
Vila Gale Salvador
#22 of 110 in Salvador
1,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Catussaba Suites
#60 of 110 in Salvador
140 reviews
Fiesta Bahia Hotel
#4 of 110 in Salvador
961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catussaba Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catussaba Resort Hotel

Address: Alamedas da Praia, s/n | Itapua, Salvador, State of Bahia 41600-496, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Bahia > Salvador
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Salvador
Price Range: £55 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Catussaba Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
O Catussaba Resort e o unico hotel em Salvador com acesso direto a areia da praia. Uma escolha perfeita para familias que viajam a lazer ou para executivos que buscam conforto, boa localizacao e vista paradisiaca. Localizado na poetica Praia de Itapua, com 40.000 Metros de area completamente integrada com a natureza, fica situado entre as famosas praias de Itapua e Stella Maris, a cinco minutos do Aeroporto Internacional Deputado Luis Eduardo Magalhaes, e ao lado de pontos turisticos como: o Farol de Itapua, a Lagoa do Abaete e a Praca de Vinicius de Moraes. E possivel desfrutar das quatro piscinas interligadas (adulto e infantil), seis quadras de tenis, sendo duas poliesportivas, campo de futebol gramado, sauna, sala de ginastica, parque infantil, espaco ecologico com animais, baby copa, capela, Lounge Bar, loja de conveniencia, uma surpreendente cascata tudo isso integrado a um ambiente de beleza estrema. As familias poderao aproveitar de momentos inesqueciveis de descontracao e, especialmente, as criancas poderao curtir brincadeiras e atividades acompanhadas pela Equipe de Entretenimento que possui programacao diurna adulta e infantil.Beleza natural e um ambiente aconchegante esperam tambem o casal para Pacotes Romanticos feitos sob medida para comemoracao de momentos e datas especiais. Ja o publico corporativo conta com a facilidade de acesso ao: Polo Petroquimico de Camacari (41km), Polo Automotivo (24km), Simoes Filho (27km), Centro Industrial Aratu/CIA (25km) e Avenida Tancredo Neves (19km).E para aqueles que querem apreciar a culinaria, o Catussaba Resort traz uma refinada gastronomia com pratos tipicos da Bahia e tambem internacionais para agradar a todo tipo de publico. O hotel ainda dispoe de bares, restaurantes, lounge bar e Pub. O atendimento roomservice e 24h. O unico Resort Urbano de Salvador conta com 259 habitacoes, entre apartamentos e suites, todas com completa infraestrutura de conforto com: varanda privativa com rede, wi-fi free, ar condicionado central, cofre individual, frigobar, TV de LCD com canais a cabo e secador de cabelos.O Centro de Eventos do Catussaba Resort Hotel e constituido de lindos saloes com capacidade total para ate 495 pessoas e espaco para Coffee Breaks e recepcao. O Pub e a area verde sao utilizados para realizacao de jantares, coqueteis e outras confraternizacoes. O restaurante panoramico tambem e uma opcao para realizacao de jantares e eventos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Catussaba Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catussaba Hotel Salvador
Catussaba Resort Hotel Salvador, Bahia, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing