We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Monte Pascoal Praia Hotel Salvador
Nearby Hotels
Mercure Salvador Rio Vermelho(Salvador)(Great Value!)
US$106
US$97
Mercure
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$148
US$136
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sotero Hotel(Salvador)(Great Value!)
US$68
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Hotel(Salvador)(Great Value!)
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Quality Hotel & Suites Sao Salvador(Salvador)(Great Value!)
US$71
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Pousada Pedra da Concha(Salvador)(Great Value!)
US$38
US$32
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Catharina Paraguacu(Salvador)(Great Value!)
US$56
US$54
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Aram Yami Hotel(Salvador)
US$147
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (968)
Filter reviews
968 results
Traveller rating
340
456
132
24
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
340
456
132
24
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbarra beachwithin walking distancedesk clerklocation is excellentbalcony doorbarra areafruitbreakfast was excellentnice swimming poolvery nice hotelhotel is locatedlighthousefarolstreetreaisbeachespraia
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
66 - 71 of 968 reviews
Reviewed 13 December 2011

Great location, directly across the road from the beach.
A good buffet breakfast. Bus stops and taxis nearby.
Free internet, small swimming pool, sea view from the room, large flat TV, location near many restaurants and barra shopping mall.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FileST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauricio L, General Manager at Monte Pascoal Praia Hotel Salvador, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2018
Google Translation

Olá,
Seus comentários e classificação nos alegra muito.
Volte sempre!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

I liked the location because it was right across the street from the beach and there were touristy and local eateries nearby. The historic lighthouse is a short walk away. The bus is so inexpensive and easy to catch to the Pelourinho so I appreciated how close the bus stop was to the hotel. There is usually an English speaking desk clerk, so that was also a plus for me. The room itself was nothing special. It is similar in quality and style to an American Holiday Inn or Comfort Inn. It was relatively clean though and the air-conditioning worked well. If your room has an adjoining door and your neighbors are noisy, you will hear everything. Noise through the adjoining door seems to be common with most hotel rooms though. The breakfast is above average. There are chafing dishes of sausage or breakfast meats, generous selection of pastries and sweets, fresh fruit, several juices, and a made to order omelette station.

Room Tip: See if you can request an ocean view room. Perhaps you can request a room without next door neighbors.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lightheartedtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauricio L, General Manager at Monte Pascoal Praia Hotel Salvador, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2018
Google Translation

Olá,
Ficamos felizes que você tenha investido seu tempo em compartilhar conosco as suas experiências no nosso hotel.
Esperamos te rever em breve!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2011

I stayed there for 6 days, the staff was very helpful, there is a great breakfast, One can eat in the morning (6 to 10 am) and don't feel hungry before 3 pm. My room was not with ocean view, but the kind manager did this upgrade to me for free, because the hotel, he said was a little empty, so, i stayed with a balcony in front of the sea.
The pool is small, but it is ok to refresh. Barra beach doesn't seem to clean to me, despiste the city government says that is good for bath, so, i do prefer the pool with ocean view.
There is a parking lot, i payed R$8/day to park the rented car there, and i didn't need to drive to there, the hotel staff puts the car inside and brings to me when i needed.
Bad things: i found out 2 or 3 mosquitoes in my room. I killed them by myself...
There were a problem with the refrigerator: when you got out, took your key card with you, the refrigerator turned off automatically. So, i could never have cold drinks when i returned from the beach. The prices of the beverages in the frigobar was very expensive (R$4 for a small water bottle), and so was the price of the internet in the lobby: R$10/hour). There is free wireless in the room, but i don't take computers when travelling.
I liked the hotel a lot, and i would return.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brazil_Rio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2010

This hotel is conveniently located just across the street from Farol da Barra's beach, next to restaurants and a walking distance from a mall. The staff was very polite and the people who work in the restaurant were great.
That being said, I should also point out that it's an old building, with a strong smell due to the proximity to the sea (my room had a view, but at the same time windows and floor were always sticky). The walls were very thin, and I was awaken at 3 or 4 am by a group of loud neighbours (can't blame the hotel entirely though. The guys were literally screaming to each other).
I would recommend this hotel only if you get a very good rate, otherwise it is just not worth it.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thelma K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2010

- The front desk was not friendly and spoke very limited English. While, we were pretty much a private group of two people, he spoke to our Tour Guide in Portuguese and didn't even smile or bother to greet us. I thought - what a PIG !
- In my opinion, the bell hop should get the employee of the year award. He seemed to literally work 24/7 and do everything. He brought our bags to the room. He delivered room service to us well after midnight. He seemed to always be on the job smiling.
- Completely, different from the front desk that looked sloppy and were extremely unhelpful. It took forever to make a simple order on the room service menu since the front desk was very 'dumb' about trying to understand our limited Portuguese and didn't understand English. I have never had this issue in any hotel and I've stayed in other hotels in Brazil before.
- They try to nickel and dime you on the internet and it takes forever to boot up. Then, I notice the timer is also set faster than the real time - so completely robbing you.
- The lobby/corridor in front of the hotel room smelled foul like bad vinegar.
- The hotel room was very simple and the floor didn't seem very clean.
- The breakfast was ok with lots of variety. If you are lucky, there are some seats on the enclosed patio and there is a nice view of the beach.
- The location is great, if you are spending a lot of time at the beach and don't care about service.
- This hotel had no store or inside tips on buying jewellery, which sounds bizarro in Brazil.
- I wouldn't go back to this hotel and I think it's the worse one I've stayed at in Brazil.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MTLtravelfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews