We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay for the world cup”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Monte Pascoal Praia Hotel Salvador
Ranked #13 of 111 Hotels in Salvador
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great stay for the world cup”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We spent six nights here and think we picked a great hotel. We didn't get an ocean view which was a shame because the view wasn't very nice- although we could just see the sea if we looked out of our balcony. The traffic noise could also be a bit loud in the morning because it's on a main road (hence good location) but this wasn't too bad and you got used to it. The hotel was lovely and clean and the staff (particularly Fillipe on reception) were exceptional! Couldn't really fault it at all. The restaurant and bar were very fairly priced and everyone very helpful and polite. Great location for us being on the beach and right near the fan zone for the world cup games. Only gripe is with Salvador generally not being very well geared up for the WC (hardly anyone spoke English or had English menu's etc) but it was ok to get by, probably our own fault for not learning some basic Portuguese! Great place though would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: I would upgrade to the ocean view if I went back
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kat882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    268
    398
    116
    22
    14
See reviews for
284
255
32
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
PDX
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

The review just prior to mine says basically what we would say. We visited Salvador for World Cup and the location was perfect. We high a 7th floor room with a full ocean view and it was fantastic. From our balcony we could see surfers and all the way to the Fan Fest. We enjoyed several of the nearby restaurants. The staff at the Monte Pascoal go out of their way to be accommodating, despite the language barrier. There is a young man who speaks very good english, but the entire staff was helpful. Air conditioning was good; showers had hot water and good pressure. The shower is slippery and could use a mat, but the housekeeping staff kept the room very clean. Wifi could be better, but they had it. Breakfast buffet was plentiful and tasty. Overall, we would come back, but would hope for non-World Cup prices!

Room Tip: Go high and choose an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReviewerPDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I will definitely be staying here again if I ever comeback to Salvador. I loved this hotel. It was right by ocean and I could see people surfing from my hotel window. Not many of the staff spoke english but they still tried their best to help and assure a great stay. We received a pair of haviannas (although the size was too small) as a thank you gift a long with 2 baskets that had some sample drinks and flavours of Bahia. It was very thoughtful and kind of the hotel. On my way back to the airport I asked the guy if I could get a taxi for a cheaper price and he agreed with the taxi driver on a cheaper price for us.

Breakfast was included and it was very delicious. It was a buffet that had an array of fruit, bread, meat, cheese and they served eggs with a few other hot dishes that are Salvadorian. I was here for the World Cup so this hotel costed a fortune however I checked the prices for other times and it's normally cheap. The location was just perfect and it is located in a safe area. A lot of things are in walking distance to this hotel and if you choose to cab then the ride is about 5-10 mins to a lot of attractions.

The only thing I did not like was that my room was located on the street. It was constantly noisy at all hours of the night by partiers and in the mornings you were woken up at 7am by the sound of cars and buses blaring their horns. Aside from that I really enjoyed everything about this hotel and everyone.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bellamia88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed in Monte Pascoal for a week during the World Cup.
It was ideally located on the beach, a couple of minutes to FIFA Fan Fest, and right in between their famous light house and a pretty hill with a statue with beautiful views of the sea. There was a nice walking path along the beach by the hotel. The breakfast was complete, the massage very high quality, and the staff like all Salvadorians warm hearted, helpful and sweet!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janeauste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen Op Zoom, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
82 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We had a room for 4 persons at the 7th floor with a half view on the ocean. The rooms were very comfortable and the walk in shower was large. The breakfast was very delicious there was many choice. The hotel is right next to the beach and in the close vicinity of a lookout tower and a supermarket.

Room Tip: For a good room for 4 persons with half ocean view you can ask room 710. I think that 701 or 702 is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leon V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clermont-Ferrand, France
Level Contributor
57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel is right in front of the Barra beach. Make sure you order a 8th floor room as this will give you a great view on the beach and the buzzling city. The rooms are well equipped and the internet works fine. The service however, especially at the restaurant, is very slow. Breakfast is great with a lot of choice and especially regional cuisine!!!! Housekeeping could be more efficent. It takes around an hour to get here from the airport by taxi. The area is ok and there's a shopping center and great seafood restaurants just around the corner. When you go the beach, make sure you have some coins or 2 reais bill as people will try to clean your feet off the. They're really quick and you hardly can escape them.
All in all, a good hotel for your stay in Salvador.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mipanko63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
56 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Recently stayed at this hotel with my sister for 4 nights on vacation.
First off, let me say that the rooms were clean, beds comfortable enough, ocean view was wonderful. The breakfast was included, so that was nice- and had all the normal buffet breakfast item, decent for an inclusive breakfast.

The lobby could use some sprucing up, the front staff hardly spoke english, and they charge you for towels to use by the pool, take to the beach, etc... It's called a "laundry fee". This was a first for me.

Also, as it is right across from the beach, there is really nothing else within walking distance, very few restaurants. So - i would only stay here if you have a rental car or literally are just going for the beach and no night life.

It was a $40 (usd) cab ride to the airport (with no traffic).

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KimGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salvador hotels
Itapua
Mar Brasil Hotel
Mar Brasil Hotel
#5 of 111 in Salvador
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marazul Hotel
#38 of 111 in Salvador
3.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
Bahia Othon Palace
#30 of 111 in Salvador
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,373 reviews
Vila Gale Salvador
#23 of 111 in Salvador
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monte Pascoal Praia Hotel Salvador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte Pascoal Praia Hotel Salvador

Property: Monte Pascoal Praia Hotel Salvador
Address: Avenida Oceanica, 591 | Barra, Salvador, State of Bahia, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Bahia > Salvador
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Salvador
#9 Luxury Hotel in Salvador
#17 Business Hotel in Salvador
#17 Family Hotel in Salvador
#20 Romantic Hotel in Salvador
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Monte Pascoal Praia Hotel Salvador 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Monte Pascoal Praia Hotel Salvador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Pascoal Praia Salvador
Monte Pascoal Praia Hotel Salvador Bahia, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing