We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious Historical Conversion”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pestana Convento do Carmo Bahia
Ranked #32 of 110 Hotels in Salvador
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We enjoyed our stay in a loft suite at this converted monastery at the end of our World Cup trip. The location was right in the historical centre of Salvador. The room was spacious and comfortable and all the public spaces in the hotel, including the 2 courtyards, were lovely. The included breakfast was good, but we had been spoiled with better breakfasts elsewhere in our trip.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Iggyhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pestana, General Manager at Pestana Convento do Carmo Bahia, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for staying with us at the Pestana Convento do Carmo Hotel, and for taking the time to send us your valuable comments. It´s always gratifying to receive positive feedback. We also would like to inform you that we have taken note of your comments about the breakfast. Certainty, your comments are very important to us for improve the quality of our service. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Yours Sincerely,
Vasco Pinheiro
General Manager
Pestana Convento do Carmo Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (832)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

97 - 103 of 832 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2014

We chose this property precisely because it was a unique restoration and conversion. Having stayed at the Copacabana in Rio, we had already experienced a high end Brazilian hotel, but this was one of the highest rated hotels in Salvador, and the only one located in the charming historic district of Pelhourino.

First, the front desk staff had to do double duty as concierge, which he undertook with gusto. He booked us private guides, a private boat rental (and negotiated the price down considerably on our behalf), and made our dinner and entertainment arrangements the entire time we were there. He was never too busy to take out questions and seemed to be there 14 hours a day.

The hotel itself has a lovely, quiet ambience. There is Jazz in the courtyard every night. The bar is open late and you can splash in the pool - a converted circular fountain - and have drinks.

The conversion, while substantial, still allows the character of the original structure to reflect. This does mean somewhat awkwardly laid out rooms, long distances between resort elements, and a lot of space with unclear purpose. But the experience is astonishing, knowing you are sleeping in one of the oldest buildings in the hemisphere.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tmortgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pestana, General Manager at Pestana Convento do Carmo Bahia, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for staying with us at the Pestana Convento do Carmo Hotel, and for taking the time to send us your valuable comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Your kind comments will be shared with all the staff members, including the front desk staff, whom I am certain will be encouraged with your remarks. We do hope to have the opportunity in the near future to welcome you, your friends and family back at our hotel, as we look forward to being of service. Thank you again for having shared your experience with us.
Yours Sincerely,
Vasco Pinheiro
General Manager
Pestana Convento do Carmo Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Conveniently located in the middle of Salvador historical city centre (the Pelourinho) this hotel ensures privacy and peacefulness among the quite cahotic and vibrant centre of Salvador de Bahia. Rooms are quite small, though, even if the sight over the historical patio is absolutely remarkable.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank serenella_rota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pestana, General Manager at Pestana Convento do Carmo Bahia, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Mrs Serenella,
Thank you very much for choosing the Pestana Convento do Carmo Hotel, and for sharing your feedback with us. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope that you will return and become a regular guest of ours. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Yours sincerely,
Vasco Pinheiro
General Manager
Pestana Convento do Carmo Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We were in for a big surprise on reaching the hotel, since the façade is still the original together with the beautiful church attached to it. This old monastery is, most probably, the first building in the area. It has been tastefully converted to a 5* historic boutique hotel. The ante-room has a large statue of Our Lady of Carmel. The décor is of a high standard & very well planned but leaving the original layout intact. The first cloister is full of lovely greenery, whilst the second has a small pool. The hotel is an oasis of calm & tranquility in the midst of the historic city centre. Our room overlooked the pool and was very spacious although not very sunny. The staff at reception were very welcoming & could communicate well in English. We were disappointed, however, the second day when we went down for breakfast & did not find anything laid out. It was as if they did not know there were any guests. The members of staff had to call someone who could understand English for us to explain that we had a buffet breakfast booked. We were only offered stale bread rolls & a few items of food. Of course, we complained at reception & this was rectified the next day. Visitors at this beautiful hotel must be aware that the hills to the left have very uneven ground. So walking shoes are recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 60october19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pestana, General Manager at Pestana Convento do Carmo Bahia, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing the Pestana Convento do Carmo Hotel and for your comments regarding your stay. We are sorry to learn about the inconveniences you experienced whilst staying with us. Your information regarding the breakfast service was worthy of our utmost attention, and the necessary actions are being taken in order to prevent similar situations from happening in the future. We hope that you will give us the pleasure of welcoming you back when you next visit Salvador.
Kind regards,
Vasco Pinheiro
General Manager
Pestana Convento do Carmo Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel used to be a convent; so the building has been beautifully renovated, it's very spacious, had amazing views and is very well situated within the historical city center. The staff was always very helpful and gave us great suggestions for our daily activities. The breakfast buffet was nice. There's a cute little pool within one of the central gardens of the convent which you can enjoy if you have some time to spare. Rooms were ample, comfortable, very clean and comfortable. Would definitely stay here again if I come back, and can honestly recommend it to anyone visiting Salvador.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bellabella907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pestana, General Manager at Pestana Convento do Carmo Bahia, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your visit, and for your helpful review. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, and appreciated your compliments regarding our property. We appreciate the recommendation! Thank you again for your preference, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Pestana Convento do Carmo Hotel in the near future.
Yours Sincerely,
Vasco Pinheiro
General Manager
Pestana Convento do Carmo Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

This is a really wonderful hotel. Set in an old convent building with thick stone walls it is a cool and quiet retreat from the Pelourinho outside. It was fantastic to be able to return here for a swim or to bed after a fun day or night out exploring, eating and drinking in the nearby streets.

Our room was on the 3rd floor looking outwards towards the rows of colourful houses. The bed was extremely comfortable and the bathroom well appointed with a rain shower. The corridors of the convent are cool and breezy so perfect for sitting on the sofas with a book.

The hotel has a great little pool in one of the courtyards. Salvador is hot, so this was really welcome. Comfy loungers, lots of towels, drinks service, and almost having it to ourselves made it feel quite exclusive - as does the entire hotel.

Breakfast was excellent with a huge amount of choice as well as eggs cooked to order. The maracuja 'shots' were a particularly nice touch. We had a very early departure for the airport, well before breakfast opened, but the kitchen staff were up and laid out a breakfast especially for us, including fresh coffee.

Service was friendly and attentive. I speak Portuguese so was fine but I saw other guests struggle to be understood at breakfast - it's always worth learning some Portuguese before going to Brazil!

Overall this is a truly 5 star hotel with a boutique feel, and is in fact one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tomauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pestana, General Manager at Pestana Convento do Carmo Bahia, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your detailed review following your recent stay at the Pestana Convento do Carmo Hotel. Your comments are most appreciated. We always strive to provide a warm and welcoming experience to our guests, and we are happy that you enjoyed the hotels services and facilities. We would like to inform you that we have taken note of your comments about the communication in English at breakfast. We will focus on the necessary improvement measures. We look forward to welcoming you back in Salvador.
Yours Sincerely,
Vasco Pinheiro
General Manager
Pestana Convento do Carmo Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We are stating at Convento do Carmo in June. Did anyone use the hotel to arrange a car to pick you up at the airport ? I cannot find an email address for the concierge to arrange this so if anyone can help that would be great

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank Danieltaylorusg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pestana, General Manager at Pestana Convento do Carmo Bahia, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Daniel,
We would like to thank you for choosing the Pestana Convento do Carmo Hotel as your destination. We appreciate if you could contact our concierge department on the following e-mail address: fo.ccarmo@pestana.com, and inform about your flight. We look forward to welcoming you in June.
Yours Sincerely,
Vasco Pinheiro
General Manager
Pestana Convento do Carmo Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salvador hotels
0.3 mi away
Aram Yami Hotel
Aram Yami Hotel
#2 of 110 in Salvador
539 reviews
3.0 mi away
Zank by Toque Hotel
Zank by Toque Hotel
#26 of 110 in Salvador
303 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa do Amarelindo
Hotel Casa do Amarelindo
#1 of 110 in Salvador
1,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Sheraton Da Bahia Hotel, Salvador
0.4 mi away
Villa Bahia
Villa Bahia
#7 of 110 in Salvador
376 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fera Palace Hotel
Fera Palace Hotel
#37 of 110 in Salvador
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Convento do Carmo Bahia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Convento do Carmo Bahia

Address: Rua do Carmo 1 | Pelourinho, Salvador, State of Bahia 40301-330, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Bahia > Salvador
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Salvador
#2 Business Hotel in Salvador
#4 Romantic Hotel in Salvador
#16 Luxury Hotel in Salvador
Price Range: £80 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Convento do Carmo Bahia 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pestana Convento do Carmo is a historic hotel located in the Santo António neighbourhood in the centre of Salvador, classified by UNESCO as a World Heritage Site. The Convent, initially constructed in 1586 by the First Order of Carmelite Monks became, over the centuries, host to many events in Brazilian history. It is located near the Pelourinho, the most famous neighbourhood in the historic centre of Salvador da Bahia. Guests can enjoy the swimming pool, gym and library. For dining, you can enjoy the restaurant and bar, both by none other than the renowned Bahian Chef, Tereza Paim. The rooms feature elegant design and architecture and include Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PESTANA MANAGEMENT - Servicos de Gestao S.A., Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pestana Convento do Carmo Bahia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Convento Do Carmo Hotel Salvador
Pestana Convento Do Carmo Salvador
Pestana Convento Do Carmo Bahia Salvador, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing