We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful, nice staff, pleasant environment”
Review of Hotel Cocoon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Cocoon
Ranked #72 of 110 Hotels in Salvador
Reviewed 30 January 2012

I stayed in Salvador for 14 nights. I was due to stay in the Pelhourino (historic) area for the full duration, but after 7 nights there I had had enough of the noise, with the Pousada I was staying at being on a noisy road. I needed peace!

I then booked into the Cocoon Hotel. Well it was just what I wanted. Very quiet and calm. Admittedly it is about 20-30 mins back into Salvador but it is a great location for the beaches and two minutes to bus stops taking you up and down the coast. Re the negative comments on the location in other reviews. I don't get it. It is in a nice suburban area, with Pilates centres and a children’s nursery. It is not surrounded by bars and restaurants but I think that's the appeal. The Hotel served nice food, also with a pizza and sushi places opposite and an open air Italian restaurant nearby (head towards the beach then walk a few minutes left). There is also a big supermarket 5 minutes away (go right instead, or for a short cut take fork to the right facing the beach each time). I’ve also included photos.

The Hotel itself was lovely. Very clean, tv with many English channels, really friendly and happy staff etc. I agree with one reviewer though that a map of area, bus routes, attractions nearby etc would be useful. Also if a taxi driver does not turn on their metre get out or tell them to turn it on. It is a sign they plan to overcharge you.

Re beaches, the ones across from the hotel were very nice. I’ve included a picture of the area you walk over to get to them). Also on one occasion I got a bus to Itapoa beach then walked along the beach past all the noisy parts to the area with the fishing boats. Lovely and quiet and you could hire a kayak for 10 reals for half an hour. Also nice portly fella with grey hair was a great host and liaised with other vendors to bring hot food and even watched my bag etc. (see photo).

Also did the schooner trip arranged by the hotel which was fun, with the trip to the islands being lovely too and the staff playing samba and dancing as we travelled on the sea, clearly having a lot of fun themselves. Also Tuesday nights is the night to go to Pelhourino. Samba bands playing all over the place and Oludum is a must see (they also play on a Sunday evening). Just don't walk where you don't see police having a visible presence. And if someone tries to tie a bracelet on you, only accept it if you are prepared to pay! Likewise taking photos of the Capioera dancers or women dressed in traditional costumes. They will hassle you to pay.

But back to the Cocoon Hotel. I really enjoyed my stay and have no hesitation in recommending it. Regarding the negative comments I’ve seen online, I’ve mentioned the location. What I wanted. I accept not for all. As to no privacy, the patio windows are covered by an orange mesh that adds lots of light and can be seen out of, but can’t be seen into. The bathroom is also totally private when the sliding door is pulled across. Regarding someone’s bizarre comment that the hotel was for ‘homosexuals’, apart from the fact that that should not be an issue, when I was there, there were single people, couples, families etc. Just a very ordinary mix of people.

I’d certainly stay there again.

Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
2  Thank stockt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PINGI8, Manager at Hotel Cocoon, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2012

Dear Guest, Many thanks for your comment on Cocoon. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay here and the thing that leaves us even more happy is your review on Cocoon. Is the review more' useful, real and objective written to date on Cocoon. Thanks again for your preference and for your intelligent comment. We hope to have you back soon to Cocoon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (301)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Cocoon
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

13 - 19 of 301 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2011

I chose this hotel because it is located very near the Costa Verde Tenis Clube, where my son was participating in an ITF Tennis Tournament.
It is a very basic hotel, located in a somewhat ugly area, but near the beach.
We arrived early in the morning, and the hotel had no electricity. Recent copious rain had damaged the electricity lines the night before, and they were trying to fix it.
The lady in the reception, Christiane, was very nice, she made every effort possible to please us and help us. She invited us to try their cafe de manha (breakfast), served by the pool, while they fixed a room for us. The truth is, the breakfast was not too good.
A little later, we went to our room, which was basic but clean, with a nice bathroom. As all their rooms, ours did not have windows. In order to have some air and light, we had to leave the door open. The room got warm. It is a pity, because as soon as you step outside the door you can feel a nice breeze coming from the beach. But without a window to open, there is no way for the breeze to get inside the room....
Several hours passed, the issue of the electricity was not fixed and we did not want to wait until dark to make a decision. We moved to the Pestana Bahia Hotel, which offered the same rate (but it is located in Rio Vermelho, about 30 minutes and a quite expensive cab ride away).

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luciafernandez62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PINGI8, Manager at Hotel Cocoon, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2012

Dear Guest, Many thanks for your review on Cocoon. We are very sorry that the day of your arrival there was a blackout all over our neighborhood. I reference to the breakfast you are absolutely right and from January we introduced many new products in the breakfast including, natural brazilian fruit juices (Acai and Cupuacu) , omelettes and eggs with bacon , tapioca toast , fresh fruit salad, and other typical items from Bahia. Thanks again for your review and if you returns to Salvador and will want to try again the Cocoon we we will grant a discount to apologize for the incident. Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

This hotel is fantastic. As it is quite new the hotel is very modern and the rooms are well presented. The pool area is lovely and the staff are very friendly. However, be aware hardly anyone speaks any English and while pointing and sign language will get you so far, one of our group was vegetarian and ordering anything without meat was not easy. The food in the hotel was amazing and was one of the few places offering Vegetarian meals. There is not much around the hotel but the hotel is across the road from a very clean beach and near a huge supermarket. The hotel offers fantastic trips and we did all ours through the hotel. The big problem with this hotel is that it is quite away out of Salvador. So for our group, who were looking for some nightlife, this meant a 35- 45 minute taxi or bus journey to get into the centre. We also made the mistake of trying to do this journey after a football match - we eventually walked some of the journey. This hotel would be perfect if it was nearer the centre.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sylvia07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PINGI8, Manager at Hotel Cocoon, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2012

Dear Guest, Many thanks for your comment on Cocoon. You are absolutely right; find garcons who speak English in Bahia is 'very difficult, but our reception speaks english and I hope thay have been helpful in other occasions. In reference to the night life you're right. The best nightlife is in Rio Vermelho district but during the day there but there is no beach. So you have to choose if staying in the chaos of Rio Vermelho with no beach or if stay in our quiet district with a beautiful beach Also here in our area there some night places like Bali beach club ( the best samba of the city ') and Oba Oba (the best pagode music of the city). So even here we have a bit of nightlife. The next time you come in Salvador I will give you a free entrance for Bali beach club. Thank you for your preference and thanks for the nice comment. Best regards.

Pielruigi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2011

The hotel is small, the location is not so good, only for one night is fine.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank juanbau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PINGI8, Manager at Hotel Cocoon, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2012

Dear Guest, Many thanks for your review on Cocoon. You are absolutely right: we are a small hotel. But t I don’t agree with you about our locations.
We are on the best beach of Salvador at only 8 km from the airport. Really in our district we haven’t the best Salvador nightlife. The best nightlife is in Rio Vermelho district but there is no beach. So you have to choose if staying in the chaos of Rio Vermelho with no beach or if stay in our quiet district with a beautiful beach. In our district, Jaguaribe, there are some night places like Bali beach club ( the best samba of the city ') and Oba Oba (the best pagode music of the city). More than this we have some good restaurants like the churrascaria Sal e Brasa , the Japan restaurant Zen Paulista and the famous bahian restaurant Yemanha.
So even here we have a bit of nightlife. Thank you for your preference and thanks for the review. Best regards.

Pielruigi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2011

As a former manager for a luxury international hotel chain, I feel qualified to leave this review:

The pluses: Warm staff, great food on the restaurant menu & for breakfast, close to beach, a relaxed ambiance, good music, nice pool, and a very international clientele the week I went.

The minuses: Went during Carnival & didn't realize distance from the historic district of Pelourinho -- it cost 30 USD each way in a taxi & it was 40 min. ride -- a little dangerous when drivers are taking you through some sketchy areas at night. Only one person on staff spoke English during our stay, and she did not work every day. I read reviews on TripAdvisor while staying there & noticed that the owner commented on this fact to other reviewers. but the truth is that during even the busy week of Carnival, there were no regular English-speakers on staff. Ants were also a problem.

The hotel needs to do a better job in their in-room literature on resources nearby in several languages for guests (a nearby supermarket, a shuttle to the mall, possible restaurants close by, etc.). I learned of several of these things near the end of my stay only by chatting with other guests.

I'd recommend this place for any tourists as an antidote to the hustle & bustle of the compact Pelourinho area for a few days.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank reeniebeenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PINGI8, Manager at Hotel Cocoon, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2012

Dear Guest, Many thanks for your review on Cocoon. Your review is one of the most useful , real end objective on our Cocoon.
You have absolutely right : we have problem to find workers who speak English, but in the last 6 months we have changed some front desk receptionist and now we have 3 of 5 who speak English.
Also about the location you have partially right. Our district has’t the best Salvador nightlife. The best nightlife is in Rio Vermelho district but there is no beach. So you have to choose if staying in the chaos of Rio Vermelho with no beach or if stay in our quiet district with a beautiful beach. In our district, Jaguaribe, there are some night places like Bali beach club ( the best samba of the city ') and Oba Oba (the best pagode music of the city). More than this we have some good restaurants like the churrascaria Sal e Brasa , the Japan restaurant Zen Paulista and the famous bahian restaurant Yemanha. So even here we have a bit of nightlife. Thank you for your preference and thanks for the helpful review and hope to have you again at Cocoon. Best regards.

Pielruigi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2011

Stayed here on a trip to Salvador while living in Sao Paulo. The hotel is wonderful. The staff incredibly helpfu and friendly. The food was wonderful, especially the bruschetta. The rooms very comfortable. The hotel is ultra modern. The pool nice. My only concern is that there isn't much for restaurants and other things in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MplsTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PINGI8, Manager at Hotel Cocoon, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2012

Dear Guest, Many thanks for your review on Cocoon. Your review is very good and we are very happy when our guests are satisfied with their stay at Cocoon.
Thank you for your preference and thanks for the good review and hope to have you again at Cocoon. Best regards.

Pierluigi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2011

We're assuming that the theme of this hotel is based on the movie cocoon, since that's what it's called and it has a spaceship theme, complete with a habit of referring to its guests as astronauts. There isn't really anything I can say that is overwhelmingly bad about this hotel, but I find a lot about it confusing. The design sense is interesting if a bit cold, warmed up by shots of bright orange everywhere. There are even some kookie, fun features in the room, like a sliding mirrored wall that hides the bathroom and an orange fridge.
But why have every light, tv included, be on an on/off switch controlled by a key pocket so you can only have everything on or off? The toilet seat is also discolored, a funky yellow which is disturbing. It's in a strange neighborhood in Salvador, with nothing much nearby. The sheets on the bed feel like sandpaper, but the food and this restaurant isn't bad and the staff is full of eye candy. All in all, I'd say a better location, some English-speaking staff and tweaks to the rooms would make this interesting hotel worth a second visit.

Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
1  Thank Ceeholahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PINGI8, Manager at Hotel Cocoon, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2012

Dear Guest, many thanks for your review on Cocoon. Your review was very helpful for us.
In the last 6 months we have changed some front desk receptionist and now we have 3 of 5 who speak English.
We also change all the toilet seat and al the sheets ( 300 pefil).
Starting from march 2011w e have a new chef de cuisine , Dario, and we are receiving a lot of good review about our new gastronomy. Someone is speaking that we have the best Italian restaurant in Salvador
Thank you for your preference and thanks for the useful review and hope to have you again at Cocoon for check all the news Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salvador hotels
Bahiamar Hotel
#40 of 110 in Salvador
523 reviews
Sol Bahia Sleep
#74 of 110 in Salvador
434 reviews
Hotel Bahia Do Sol
#35 of 110 in Salvador
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Itapua
Mar Brasil Hotel
Mar Brasil Hotel
#5 of 110 in Salvador
1,061 reviews
Sotero Hotel
#4 of 110 in Salvador
550 reviews
Pousada Stella Tropical
#45 of 110 in Salvador
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cocoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cocoon

Address: Rua Haeckel Jose de Almeida 238 | Jaguaribe Beach, Salvador, State of Bahia 41613-100, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Bahia > Salvador
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Salvador
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Salvador
Price Range: £28 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cocoon 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Cocoon & Lounge is located in one of the best beaches in Salvador. Our minimalist style architecture brings the excitement of hosting with comfort. The pool has a large wooden deck and a special lighting system that led to night changes color every 5 seconds and elegant loungers where guests can relax and enjoy it. In our hotel we have one branch of the famous Acqua Cafe Restaurant, considered the best Happy Hour in Salvador has diverse cuisine, with sushis, crepes, Bahian snacks and international dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Cocoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocoon Hotel Salvador
Hotel Cocoon Salvador, Bahia, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing