We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pousada Colonial
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Mercure Salvador Boulevard(Salvador)(Great Value!)
US$57
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Bahia Othon Palace(Salvador)(Great Value!)
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$81
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$56
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ibis Salvador Aeroporto Hangar(Salvador)(Great Value!)
US$45
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$77
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Golden Tulip Salvador(Salvador)(Great Value!)
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Marazul Hotel(Salvador)
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Salvador Business & Flat(Salvador)(Great Value!)
US$54
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$75
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (228)
Filter reviews
228 results
Traveller rating
107
80
30
4
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
107
80
30
4
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsno windowpremium roomhistorical centerold housejuicehome made cakesnice breakfastshort walkold citystreetpousadapelourinhobrazilneighborhoodbalconiesculturefrench
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
59 - 64 of 228 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2013

My husband and I spent our honeymoon in this super charming pousada in Salvador, Brazil. We had an experience we'll never forget, not only because we spent our honeymoon in Brazil, but because of the great service and great experiences we received from the employees at Pousada Colonial. The moment we arrived, I felt very comfortable and very welcome. In fact, as we returned to the pousada each night, I felt like I was coming home. The staff at Pousada Colonial are unbeatable. They bend over backwards for their customers not because it is good business, but because they are genuinely great people. They assisted us daily to find our way around town, find great restaurants (try Jardim das Delicias--you won't regret it!), and they even helped us coordinate a last minute trip to Morro de Sao Paulo at 2AM!

My husband and I looked forward to the breakfast each morning. The eating area is so pleasant, the food tastes AMAZING, and the service is beyond compare. (I can't stress that enough.) We also found that our room and our bathroom were left immaculate each day. Though we stayed at Pousada Colonial for our honeymoon, I would recommend the pousada for any and every kind of traveler. The pousada was completely booked for several of the nights that we were there, which speaks of the pousada's desirability.

Before we came, we read in a few other reviews for other nearby pousada's that the area was "unsafe" and a "dangerous part of town." However, I felt incredibly safe the whole trip. The Pousada Colonial is in an excellent location and there are so many police officers who patrol the area and surrounding neighborhoods.

All in all, I don't think we could have made a better decision than to stay at the Pousada Colonial. There really is no better option.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Madison F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandro S, Manager at Pousada Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

Hi Madson and Oi Masaki,

Wow!!!! The Pousada Colonial Team is saying: Thank you so much for this amazing review!!!! Muito obrigado!!!! We hope see you in your next vocation, peharps in your first anniversary!!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We booked two rooms on-line, but one booking was lost by the booking company.... The hotel staff offered us our choice of a second room making sure that we didn't pay more than we were originally expecting. (In the end, I took the two story suite for a small add-on) The rooms were very nice (the pictures are quite representative...) The staff were very friendly and addressed us by name each morning and evening. The offered us help and advice and asked how things were going many times. They were perfect. We enjoyed very much. The location is great, a short walk to many sites or the tour bus to take you around town. We would definitely stay here again!!

Room Tip: The second floor has a room with small balcony, but also opens to the large shared balcony.... most people dont use the large balcony, so it is as noted by others, almost yours... The third floor has a two story suite.... with larger bathroom... one double and single in the downstairs part and another double upstairs.... view to the sea.... very nice
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandro S, Manager at Pousada Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Hi Mr. John,
The Pousada Colonial Team is saying thank you so much for the amazing review. And we hope that have you as estimated guest in the future, when you come back to Salvador.

Thank you so much,

Colonial Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

This pousada is located in this beautiful historical building . My children and I stayed on the third floor in the garden view room. The room was clean and had A/C. The breakfast was very good and they will cook your egg to order. Diana and Sandro are perfect hosts, they go out of their way to make you feel at home. Diana booked a private tour guide for us, Luis, who is very knowledgeable and spoke fluent English. Both are very attentive to our every needs. I o definitely recommend this place to anyone going to Salvador.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandro S, Manager at Pousada Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2013

The Pousada Colonial Team are saying: Thank you so much for the amazing review. Hope see you and your family another time as a estimated guest again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Simple, elegant rooms furnished in a traditional style with an authentic feel. Comfortable bed, decent shower, patchy wifi connection. Our room (2nd floor front) opened onto the communal balcony that none of the other guests went on, so felt like our own!

Adequate buffet breakfast with local baked goods, fruits and eggs done to order. Located a short walk from old town Salvador.

During Carnival, teams practice in the street outside, which adds to the traditional atmosphere.

Good base to explore Salvador

Room Tip: Choose the 2nd floor room at the front for direct access to balcony where you can sit and watch the world go by below.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Griffiths-Dryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandro S, Gerente at Pousada Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2013

Hi Mr. Dryland,

Thank you so much for your review. We´re going to do our best to improving our wi-fi conection, actually, we alredy changed the devices and everything is all better now. The Colonial Team looking forward to have you as a estimated guest again!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

This small hotel was booked for us by Ivan who lives in Salvador and helped organise our few days in Salvador. It is a very beautiful and historic building. The room was OK but there was no safe, bedside lights or hot water which is why I have described it as only OK. Breakfast was good and served on a very pretty terrace. Free wi-fi but only really worked for me in reception. Staff were friendly and spoke enough English.
It is within a few minutes walk of the Pelhourino. Ivan had rather frightened my wife with alarming warnings about security and so we took a taxi back after dinner. The rest of the time we walked around the town and never felt uneasy.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NomadicTeachers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandro S, Manager at Pousada Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2013

Thank you for the coment. We really appreciatte it. We do have a safe for our the guest in our reception, sorry if we didn't give you this information. Hope we can do better service if you plan to come back to Salvador anytime, please let us try to give a better stay. thank you so much for yuor review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews