We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pousada in the historical centre”
Review of Pousada Colonial

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pousada Colonial
Ranked #43 of 111 Hotels in Salvador
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Pousada in the historical centre”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We had a marvellous stay at the Pousada Colonial. The place is beautiful, the room are clean, big and nicely furnished. Above all, all the people are extremely friendly. Sandro and Diana were the perfect hosts and a mine of useful information about things to do and see in Salvador. The pousada is ideally located close to the historical centre, in a very calm and safe neighbourhood. We walked around many times at night and never had any problems. The breakfast was stunning with fresh fruits and all sorts of homemade cakes (notably a delicious tapioca and coconut cake). In short, a great place with very nice people. We will most definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gilles R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandro S, Manager at Pousada Colonial, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Hi Gilles Rico,

Thank you so much for the fantastic review. We hope can have you again at Pousada Colonial, and try to give other nice experience with the Pousada Colonial Team!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    74
    28
    4
    6
See reviews for
32
108
19
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Lovely place, well situated in the historical center, and above all, Diana & Sandro, who take care of everyting you.
We were there initally for 3 days, but finally stayed 3 extra days !
Taxi station nearby, Capoera center at the end of the corner, Restaurant by 10 mn walk.

Room Tip: Au deuxième étage pour les familles de 4...super pratique !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marco4435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandro S, Manager at Pousada Colonial, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Hi Marc Juhel Family,

Thank you for takng the time to write this nice review to the Pousada Colonial. we really appreciated that.
Hope see you and your family in your next vocation!!!

The Colonial Team is saying HI!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Provo, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2013

My husband and I spent our honeymoon in this super charming pousada in Salvador, Brazil. We had an experience we'll never forget, not only because we spent our honeymoon in Brazil, but because of the great service and great experiences we received from the employees at Pousada Colonial. The moment we arrived, I felt very comfortable and very welcome. In fact, as we returned to the pousada each night, I felt like I was coming home. The staff at Pousada Colonial are unbeatable. They bend over backwards for their customers not because it is good business, but because they are genuinely great people. They assisted us daily to find our way around town, find great restaurants (try Jardim das Delicias--you won't regret it!), and they even helped us coordinate a last minute trip to Morro de Sao Paulo at 2AM!

My husband and I looked forward to the breakfast each morning. The eating area is so pleasant, the food tastes AMAZING, and the service is beyond compare. (I can't stress that enough.) We also found that our room and our bathroom were left immaculate each day. Though we stayed at Pousada Colonial for our honeymoon, I would recommend the pousada for any and every kind of traveler. The pousada was completely booked for several of the nights that we were there, which speaks of the pousada's desirability.

Before we came, we read in a few other reviews for other nearby pousada's that the area was "unsafe" and a "dangerous part of town." However, I felt incredibly safe the whole trip. The Pousada Colonial is in an excellent location and there are so many police officers who patrol the area and surrounding neighborhoods.

All in all, I don't think we could have made a better decision than to stay at the Pousada Colonial. There really is no better option.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Madison F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandro S, Manager at Pousada Colonial, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Hi Madson and Oi Masaki,

Wow!!!! The Pousada Colonial Team is saying: Thank you so much for this amazing review!!!! Muito obrigado!!!! We hope see you in your next vocation, peharps in your first anniversary!!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLC, UT
1 review
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We booked two rooms on-line, but one booking was lost by the booking company.... The hotel staff offered us our choice of a second room making sure that we didn't pay more than we were originally expecting. (In the end, I took the two story suite for a small add-on) The rooms were very nice (the pictures are quite representative...) The staff were very friendly and addressed us by name each morning and evening. The offered us help and advice and asked how things were going many times. They were perfect. We enjoyed very much. The location is great, a short walk to many sites or the tour bus to take you around town. We would definitely stay here again!!

Room Tip: The second floor has a room with small balcony, but also opens to the large shared balcony.... most...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandro S, Manager at Pousada Colonial, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Hi Mr. John,
The Pousada Colonial Team is saying thank you so much for the amazing review. And we hope that have you as estimated guest in the future, when you come back to Salvador.

Thank you so much,

Colonial Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Canada Flintridge, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

This pousada is located in this beautiful historical building . My children and I stayed on the third floor in the garden view room. The room was clean and had A/C. The breakfast was very good and they will cook your egg to order. Diana and Sandro are perfect hosts, they go out of their way to make you feel at home. Diana booked a private tour guide for us, Luis, who is very knowledgeable and spoke fluent English. Both are very attentive to our every needs. I o definitely recommend this place to anyone going to Salvador.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandro S, Manager at Pousada Colonial, responded to this review, 4 August 2013
The Pousada Colonial Team are saying: Thank you so much for the amazing review. Hope see you and your family another time as a estimated guest again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Simple, elegant rooms furnished in a traditional style with an authentic feel. Comfortable bed, decent shower, patchy wifi connection. Our room (2nd floor front) opened onto the communal balcony that none of the other guests went on, so felt like our own!

Adequate buffet breakfast with local baked goods, fruits and eggs done to order. Located a short walk from old town Salvador.

During Carnival, teams practice in the street outside, which adds to the traditional atmosphere.

Good base to explore Salvador

Room Tip: Choose the 2nd floor room at the front for direct access to balcony where you can sit and watch the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Griffiths-Dryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandro S, Gerente at Pousada Colonial, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
Hi Mr. Dryland,

Thank you so much for your review. We´re going to do our best to improving our wi-fi conection, actually, we alredy changed the devices and everything is all better now. The Colonial Team looking forward to have you as a estimated guest again!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
250 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013

This small hotel was booked for us by Ivan who lives in Salvador and helped organise our few days in Salvador. It is a very beautiful and historic building. The room was OK but there was no safe, bedside lights or hot water which is why I have described it as only OK. Breakfast was good and served on a very pretty terrace. Free wi-fi but only really worked for me in reception. Staff were friendly and spoke enough English.
It is within a few minutes walk of the Pelhourino. Ivan had rather frightened my wife with alarming warnings about security and so we took a taxi back after dinner. The rest of the time we walked around the town and never felt uneasy.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NomadicTeachers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandro S, Manager at Pousada Colonial, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
Thank you for the coment. We really appreciatte it. We do have a safe for our the guest in our reception, sorry if we didn't give you this information. Hope we can do better service if you plan to come back to Salvador anytime, please let us try to give a better stay. thank you so much for yuor review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salvador hotels
Pousada des Arts
#50 of 111 in Salvador
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Pousada Villa Carmo
#85 of 111 in Salvador
3.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Solar do Carmo
#68 of 111 in Salvador
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santo Antonio
Pousada Casa Vila Bela
Pousada Casa Vila Bela
#18 of 111 in Salvador
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Hotel Villa Santo Antonio
#78 of 111 in Salvador
3.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Colonial

Property: Pousada Colonial
Address: Rua Direita de Santo Antonio 368 | Santo Antonio Alem Do Carmo/ Pelourinho, Salvador, State of Bahia 40301-280, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Bahia > Salvador
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 111 Hotels in Salvador
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pousada Colonial 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pousada Colonial is located in the beautiful Historic Center of Salvador. Since 2003, the Pousada preserve has offered something unique to experience in Salvador. Removed from modern tourism, the classic style of Brasil is all around. In an old townhouse you can feel the charm and elegance of colonial times. All the while taking advantage of the conveniences of the modern world. Our customers are attracted by the unmatched style and the ease of being located next to Pelourinho, the heart of Salvador and near other cultural and tourist spots. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pousada Colonial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Colonial Salvador, Bahia, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing