We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very welcoming and friendly staff.”
Review of Pousada Colonial

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pousada Colonial
Ranked #47 of 110 Hotels in Salvador
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2014

The welcome in this guest house/pousada is second to none. The staff made sure we knew where everything was both in the accommodation and in Salvador itself. They recommended places to go and restaurants etc. This wasn't a normal check in of here's the key and get on with it! As we were at the end of our 3 week trip to Brazil and we had done pretty well in keeping to our budget we did decide to upgrade to their master bedroom, which actually consisted of 2 rooms with double beds, the upper room with sliding windows which looked out to the bay. Yes there was also a view of other roofs and the docks, but the view across the sea was excellent and the sunsets were spectacular! Not that we stayed that long in the place during the day as the historic centre is only 10 minutes away and there is plenty to see.

Breakfast is very good, but the terrace it is held on is small and does overlook another street/alley so get there early to overlook the small garden below rather than somebody's underwear on the washing line!

The house itself is a historic, brightly painted colonial building. It has a nice lounge with a public balcony overlooking the road. Saturday nights you can hear the drum beats from the city centre and the Capoeira performances etc but Sunday morning was as quiet as a mouse. The walk back at night can feel longer than the 10 minutes it is from the main square and can be a bit edgy but you can get a taxi even though this has to drive around most of the city centre as the historic centre itself is pedestrianised.

I have never commented on other reviews before and I am not now except to say please ignore the totally ludicrous terrible review somebody has given this excellent guest house. And yes I am over 50.

Room Tip: You will pay more but an upper room with windows gives you a superb view of the bay and islands.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Martyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana S, Gerente at Pousada Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2014

We are glad that you enjoyed the Pousada Colonial. Thank you for being our guest. We looking forward to see you again!!!! Best regards, Colonial Team!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (224)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

35 - 41 of 224 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed 4 nights in a twin room with private bathroom

Pros
- The pousada is in an ancient colonial house. It is very lovely from the outside but also from the inside
- Room/bathroom were clean and confortable
- English and french speaking staff. They are all very friendly and helpful
- Amazing breakfast : fresh juice, fresh cake, scramble eggs, coffee, fruits...
- Good wifi, hot shower, tv room, balcony...

Cons
- There was no window in our room but we knew it before to book (we choosed the cheapest option)
- The pousada is in the historical center but you have to walk 20 minutes to catch a bus

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank CyrilMaraboO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana S, Gerente at Pousada Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2014

Hello

We are glad that you enjoyed the Pousada Colonial. We work hard in order to offer a good service for our guests. As you said some rooms don't have windows because the house is considered a historical heritage and some layout details can't be modified.

We hope you made a nice trip back and we thank you so much for being our guest. We're looking forward to see you again!!!! Best regards, Colonial Team!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We stayed here two nights during the World Cup, the place is beautiful, high ceilings, simple decorations, close to all you want to see in the historical part of town.

We stayed in the ground floor room with a street view which lacks a bit of privacy but the very large windows are nice and much better than rooms with no window, which they also have so always specify in your booking. If we go back I would ask for balcony or terrace room on the higher floors. But then again you will be spending most the day out!

The breakfast is super nice and so are the staff!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Wordz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana S, Gerente at Pousada Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2014

Hello!!!

Thanks for your comment!! Pousada's Colonial appreciate it and we are glad for having you as our guest. We hope to see you soon!

Have a nice week!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We spent a night here during the World Cup. It is a beautiful guest house, it epitomises the old part of Salvador. The staff were very nice and gave us a free upgrade. The breakfast was very good too.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ben m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana S, Gerente at Pousada Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2014

We thank you for being our guest and we're glad that you enjoyed the Pousada Colonial.

We're looking forward to see you again!!!! Best regards, Colonial Team!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed in this place for one night ( of a three night nonrefundable) reservation during the World Cup.
This is located in the old part of town. However, there is NO reason to stay in the old part of town. It's good for sight seeing but you can taxi in and out for a day trip without any problems.

Read this carefully, It will serve you well:

This is more like a Hostel than a hotel. It is the type of place you would stay at when you were nineteen and back-packing through Europe. If you are fifty and used to at least a minimal level of comfort and luxury, this is not for you as it has no semblance of comfort OR luxury.

The staff tried, BUT their effort does no make up for the bad location, noise, uncomfortable rooms, minuscule and uncomfortable bathroom etc.

Don't get misled by the brightly painted windows. We had two rooms for three night, and had to leave only after one night and had to forfeit one night ( they gave me a refund for one night.)

Another poor reservation I made for this trip through booking dot com. This site does not have quality control, stay away from this site.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Ramin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

My son and I returned from a week in Salvador for the World Cup. Pousada Colonial was our home base for the week. The driver Colonial arranged promptly met us at the airport, and not only was friendly but gave us an enthusiastic guided tour into the city in a mix of Portuguese, Spanish, and some French.

Our room on the top floor was neat and clean. The balcony had a view of the neighborhood, where we found some boys to play soccer on the narrow street behind the hotel. Safety was a concern traveling to Brazil, but we felt secure at Colonial and safe in the neighborhood. We saw many of the same faces during our week, and even made friends with some of the children in the neighborhood. Colonial is exceptionally well situated for jaunts into the old town, and was a 20 minute walk to the Arena Fonte Nova.

We enjoyed the breakfast of cakes, breads, fresh juices, fruit, eggs, ham, cheese, yogurt, and cereal. The coffee was superb.

While the building, rooms, common area, breakfast, location were all great, what made Pousada Colonial worth the stay was the staff. Their advice on restaurants, sights, places to walk or take taxis was always spot on. My son was sick for a day while in Salvador. There wasn’t a staff member that didn’t ask how he was doing. Tito made my son tea, that my son was convinced cured his illness. We were well cared for.

This was a genuinely nice place to stay, and immersed us in the city of Salvador. It exceeded my expectations, and was the cornerstone of a magical week in Salvador.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelcritic04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana S, Manager at Pousada Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

The Pousada Colonial Team is saying thank you so much fantastic review. Hope you and your son may come back in another time.
Tito said that was a pleasure to take care of you lovely son.
And we are proud to make our guests feel at home. This is our mission.
Thank you so much for choosing the Pousada Colonial.
Best Regards,
Pousada Colonial Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This place was perfect walking distance to the main part of old town. It wasn't directly in the center of it, which was fantastic because we could actually sleep if we wanted to. Easy walk to Pelourinho.

The staff was also very helpful, spoke wonderful English and helped us out a lot. The breakfast was also great.

Highly recommended if you will be in Salvador.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Havakj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana S, Manager at Pousada Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Hi,

We are all say thank you so much for yuor review. And double thank you for your highly recommendation for people who wants to visit Salvador.

Best regards from the Pousada Colonial Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salvador hotels
Santo Antonio
Pousada Casa Vila Bela
Pousada Casa Vila Bela
#17 of 110 in Salvador
566 reviews
Pousada do Pilar
#57 of 110 in Salvador
142 reviews
A Casa das Portas Velhas
#16 of 110 in Salvador
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Villa Santo Antonio
#79 of 110 in Salvador
66 reviews
Pousada des Arts
#54 of 110 in Salvador
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Colonial

Address: Rua Direita de Santo Antonio 368 | Santo Antonio Alem Do Carmo/ Pelourinho, Salvador, State of Bahia 40301-280, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Bahia > Salvador
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 110 Hotels in Salvador
Price Range: £27 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pousada Colonial 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pousada Colonial is located in the beautiful Historic Center of Salvador. Since 2003, the Pousada preserve has offered something unique to experience in Salvador. Removed from modern tourism, the classic style of Brasil is all around. In an old townhouse you can feel the charm and elegance of colonial times. All the while taking advantage of the conveniences of the modern world. Our customers are attracted by the unmatched style and the ease of being located next to Pelourinho, the heart of Salvador and near other cultural and tourist spots. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Pousada Colonial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Colonial Salvador, Bahia, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing