We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bahia Prime Hostel
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Bahia Do Sol(Salvador)(Great Value!)
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ibis Salvador Rio Vermelho(Salvador)(Great Value!)
US$122
US$46
ibis
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$119
US$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vila Gale Salvador(Salvador)(Great Value!)
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Fiesta Bahia Hotel(Salvador)(Great Value!)
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mercure Salvador Rio Vermelho(Salvador)(Great Value!)
US$107
US$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Bahiamar Hotel(Salvador)
US$53
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hit Hotel(Salvador)(Great Value!)
US$57
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ibis Salvador Aeroporto Hangar(Salvador)(Great Value!)
US$46
ibis
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (195)
Filter reviews
195 results
Traveller rating
157
31
4
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
157
31
4
1
2
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 195 reviews
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Nothing but good things to say about this hostel, certainly felt like a home away from home.

I stayed here during the World Cup, and for this period I found the prices to be quite reasonable, especially as it offers far better amenities than a hotel (in my opinion).

There is a great lounge area where you can chill out in comfort and a TV with cable (TV must be at least 50 inch?) great for watching the games on if you didnt feel like going to a bar and spending money, there are also some other good places you can chill out thoughout the hostel. The dorm was very clean, as was the bathroom and everywhere else in the hostel. My only little niggle is that the 18 bed dorm could be very cramped if it was full but beds are very comfortable with aircon.

The wifi is one of the best connections I have ever come across in a hostel (good enough to watch movies online without buffering), and there is a good sized kitchen.

Speaking of kitchens, the free breakfast is the best I have ever had a hostel. Buffet-style with a great array of things to eat - sliced bread, fresh rolls, ham & cheese, jam, yoghurts, fresh fruit, cereals, eggs and nice freshly-made fruit juice.

The maid who seems to do all the cooking and cleaning is very friendly even if the only portuguese I know is 'thank you', and the rest of the staff are all friendly, welcoming and helpful.

Cant recommend this place highly enough and if I am ever in Salvador again, this will be the only place I check in to. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChrisT1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bahiaprimehostel, Gerente de recepção at Bahia Prime Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2014

Thank you so much! That's really considerate!
Answering your question, it's a 55 inch TV.
We are grateful to receive such a detailed review.
Hope you come back soon =)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Bahia Prime Hostel was a great finding, awesome experience. The crew are very welcoming, worried about travellers welfare. It's new, well decorated, comfortable rooms and common areas, very clean. Well located, few meters from Barra beach and surrounded by many facilities as bakery, pharmacy, supermarket, etc. Considering the period, World Cup, the hostel charged a fair rate. Surely if I go back to Salvador I would stay there.

Room Tip: There's a shared room only for ladies with a bathroom inside
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tatiana Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bahiaprimehostel, Gerente de recepção at Bahia Prime Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2014

Oh, it's a double joy: you liked our place and surely gonna be with us another time?!
Thank you! We really hope so!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

If you visit Salvador and like to stay at hostels, you will love this place. I visited Salvador for the World Cup and I wanted to stay at a place that is safe and clean - these were my killer criterias. What I got here, is way more - friends of a lifetime! First of all, I have to mention the kindness and professionalism of the staff. The guys at the front of house goes out of their way to help and support you with anything you need during your stay. Talita and the entire team are excellent hosts. The back of house team is preparing a wonderful almost buffet-like breakfast (fresh scrambled eggs from 08.00 - 10:30!!!!) with brazilian fruits, freshly squeezed juice, bread, yoghurt, cheese, ham etc. They clean the hostel daily, they make your bed, they wash your laundry (for 20 real per washing you can give them a bag full of clothes) - they make this place shine from the inside. They have a lot of rooms, the TV is brand-new, the interior design has lovely touch, the furnishings are in marvellous condition, numerous bathrooms. The owners pass by from time to time to feel the vibe and see how it's going. The location itself is very central in Barra, beach not even 5min, shopping mall 10min, supermarket across the street, bank next to the hostel, busses and taxis always at hand - in the middle of a safe, feel-good neighbourhood. If you need a transfer from or to the airport, the will organize it for you - safe and on-time. I booked this place because of all the positive reviews - now I'm writing one on my own - if you go to Salvador, don't miss this place - it's a real gem. Stay at the best hostel in town or nowhere!

Room Tip: They have different rooms with less or more people inside, just ask them.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joel-egger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bahiaprimehostel, Front Office Manager at Bahia Prime Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2014

Joel, that's our sweetheart review!
It's so personnel and full of amazing details... Always delicious to read again.
We don't have words enough to thank you, but we wish you the best (including another trip to Brazil). Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

This hostel is very new, so doesn't have too many reviews just yet but do not let this put you off booking.

Well located in the Barra area of Salvador this hostel is brilliantly equipped (BIG kitchen, lots of cool chill out areas, new beds, AC) and the staff are very willing to help.

Currently its quite easy to get a booking but that won't be the case for long as word gets around.

Great place, made our stay in Salvador all the more memorable.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Mathew_R_Jones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bahiaprimehostel, Front Office Manager at Bahia Prime Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2014

Thank you so much, Mathew!
Your review has been definitely important in the growth of our place.
We hope to have you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2018, travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews