We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away.. Worst customer service ever!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pousada Barroco na Bahia
Ranked #30 of 152 Salvador B&B and Inns
2 reviews
“Stay away.. Worst customer service ever!!!”
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Horrible location, horrible owner, our advise.... Don't do it!! Hostel nice enough, however the area was very rough and combined with the owner having ZERO customer service skills my g/f and I felt very unsafe.

We have never come across someone in the hostel industry that is so rude. He apparently lost our reservation, didn't return emails when we were concerned about the striking Salvador police leading up to Carnival and barked at us when asking about the hostel that 'he hates English and is refusing to talk to us in English' despite holding a conversation for five minutes prior and advertising in English on his website.

The only other person in the hostel only stayed one night of five even though she paid the full amount.

Stay away from this one!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mjc24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    42
    20
    6
    10
See reviews for
22
101
25
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Javea, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

The surprise started at the airport in Salvador, when we, my wife Corona(77) and myself(78) were welcomed by Hans Bönisch who, as we found out later, is the leading figure at the Pousada Barroco and at the same time the "Domkapellmeister" at the cathedral in Salvador. The pousada is a place to feel safe and comfortable. We enjoyed very much the very good breakfast in the morning. In the evenings Hans Bönisch cooked dinner for himself and those of us around were invited to eat with him and have lifely discussions on various topics. The best surprise however were the sunday morning
concerts in the cathedral with Bönisch playing the orgue. It was the best place for us during our stay in Brasil visiting Manaus and Brasilia.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karl_Albert_Horst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, FL
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

This property is not a hotel at all. It is a small B & B. The buildings are old and charming; the rooms are not!!!!!! Rooms are tiny, beds are small and not the most comfortable. Bath is extremely tiny. Noisy in room air conditioner worked only the first night. The rooms lack the decorating charm of many B & Bs. Breakfasts are included but are basically a continental breakfast. Owner lives on premises, is German and very accomodating. If you are German speaking as many of the guests were, you'll find the ability to communicate a plus. This property is located very conveniently-only a few long, steep blocks from the center of town, but there are other properties that are nicer and are right in the center of town. If you are into B & Bs, this is a convenient choice. It is a landmark, historic site.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrankBocaRaton_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

I enjoyed my eight nights at the pousada Barroco na Bahia. They have clean and spacious rooms and nice bathroom. It is a big old house, but everything is lovely and secure. They have electronic lockers at the entrance and everything. I would recommend it, definitively! It offers a very good value for your money. At first the surroundings seems a little “different”, but you then realise that Salvador is “different” and most people are extremely nice and helpful. If you don’t impose, you can safely walk around, no problem. I hope you enjoy staying at the pousada as I did. All the best.

Room Tip: The rooms in the main building have better reception to the wireless internet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fabio C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bologna, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

This place have a beaultiful instalation. Is really confortable for a couple that wants to find a nice levels of price and good customer sevice. Salvador it's a amazing city with wonderful views.
I really recommend this place because brazilian people show us their hospitality and their energy. This is was the one of our good trips tha was had the oportunity to made.
We pretend to come back for Salvador and certainly we will be there at Pousada Barroco.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Pedro N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Me and my wife stayed at this in for five nights and it was worth it. The place is simple, but it has everything we needed. The room was comfortable with safe box, ar conditioning and a mini-fridge. We used all the amenities the hotel offered, like the pool (wonderful) wi-fi internet, breakfast (very good with home made jam and fresh fruits), transfer services (not free), and a tour that was offered by owner (not free either, but very interesting). Besides that the location is okay, we could walk to Pelourinho (5 min), Thereu is also a cafe in front of it, a pizza place and a nice restaurant called Armazem. The location seamed okay, but for safety we kept all the important stuff (passport, credit cards and money) in the safe at the room. Once again, the place is simple, clean, safe, basic and very friendly (the two maids are very nice) and the only guy works on the reception spoke great English.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Julianrenard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mainz, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2011

The Inn Pousada Barroco na Bahia in the middle of the Historic Center of Salvador is a very lowley place; the breakfast is great, the rooms very clean and nice decorated. I loved the Pousada Barroco and I will return as soon as possible in the next year.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Vera-Lucia1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salvador hotels
0.6 mi away
Pousada Colonial
Pousada Colonial
#43 of 111 in Salvador
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.5 mi away
A Casa das Portas Velhas
A Casa das Portas Velhas
#16 of 111 in Salvador
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
0.2 mi away
Laranjeiras Hostel
Laranjeiras Hostel
#5 of 290 in Salvador
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Pousada Salvador
Hotel Pousada Salvador
#7 of 152 in Salvador
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pousada Solar Dos Romanos
Pousada Solar Dos Romanos
#18 of 152 in Salvador
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostel Pousada Pais Tropical
Hostel Pousada Pais Tropical
#12 of 290 in Salvador
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Barroco na Bahia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Barroco na Bahia

Property: Pousada Barroco na Bahia
Address: Rua Jogo do Carneiro 75 | Saude, Salvador, State of Bahia 40045-040, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Bahia > Salvador > Saude
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Salvador
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pousada Barroco na Bahia 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the historic centre of Salvador, four minutes walk from Pelourinho. 20 rooms with bathroom, air conditioner, TV and mini bar. Individual customer service in German, English and Portuguese. Breakfast included. Swimming pool. Beer cellar (Berlin-Café). Grand patio with 100 year old mango tree. Air conditioned concert hall and conference rooms. Service to/from the airport possible. Next to the German consulate. Regular cultural events (Baroque Choir, concerts etc.) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pousada Barroco na Bahia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Barroco Na Bahia Salvador, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing