We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Hotel to enjoy Salvador”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Casa do Amarelindo
Ranked #2 of 110 Hotels in Salvador
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 October 2011

This hotel is an oasis in the heart of historic city center of Salvador. Located in the Pelourino it offers the warmth of a stau with friends as well as the perfection of a 5 star hotel. Enjoy a swim in the pool and enjoy the view from there or from the rooftop terrasse. At night you will enjoy the quieteness of the beautiful and comfy of your room. We have had the perfect stay and will come again.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank N-man12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,088)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Casa do Amarelindo
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

301 - 307 of 1,088 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2011

After three years we were once again able to enjoy the hospitality at this hotel for four nights in mid September. As we were arriving in the evening, we arranged for the airport transfer the worked smoothly with the driver letting us know that the trip to the hotel would take about 20 minutes. On arriving at the plaza, Terreiro de Jesus, when the driver stopped and opened the trunk, the bellman from Casa do Amarelindo was there to greet us, take our bags and lead us the last block and a half to the hotel.

Excellent welcome including information about what to do and see and where one of the owners also came to greet us. After checking in we were given a short tour of the hotel before being taken to our lovely large room, VII, on the second floor. The hotel has stairs and a slow elevator. The building has been rebuilt to a high standard, with quality finishing evident throughout. Our room had a balcony with the lovely views to All Saints Bay, wide wooden floorboards, air conditioner, large flat screen TV, high and very comfortable beds, bathrobes, in-room safe, mini bar and a writing desk. The marble bathroom had a Jacuzzi, twin sinks, quality amenities, and a hair dryer. The decor both in the room and hotel is general is lovely and understated.

The hotel’s common areas are well thought out. There is a plunge pool on the first floor, a large outdoor terrace on the top floor, and two seating areas on the main floor as well as the Gastronomic Restaurant. Wifi is available at the hotel, but works mainly on the main floor, although at times it also worked for a sporadically in our room.

Breakfast can be enjoyed in the restaurant, on the top floor terrace, or in the room at any time. It consisted of coffee/tea, breads, brioche, melba toast, a plate of fresh fruit, fresh yoghurt, a small plate of scrambled eggs plus ham and cheese rolled together, a calfoutis of the day plus two different types of juice combinations. We found it delicious and although very similar each morning, the fruit platter, calfoutis and how the eggs were presented varied each day.

The hotel has its own small restaurant (Gastronomic Restaurant) where we enjoyed one lunch and two dinners. The portions were a reasonable size for us (not too large) and other than the fact that the meals were saltier that we were accustomed to, very nice. The offerings range from some traditional items to continental cuisine. The prices were reasonable for a better restaurant and as two of the three times we were alone in the restaurant, the service was attentive if slightly less polished than the exceptional reception staff.

We were grateful for the recommendations for excursions, city sightseeing and the outstanding dance troupe presentation (Bale Folclorico da Bahia). We took up the offer to have the bellman go to the theatre at 4:00pm to purchase the tickets for us as the theatre is quite small and was full on the night that we were there. The presentation was excellent and included dances of both the Candomble and Capoeira.

Be aware that all excursions, tickets and such items are paid in cash to the reception at any time during your stay. They do not get added to the bill, however, they do not need to be settled in advance of the excursion or performance. Salvador was our first stop in Brazil and we thought that the tour prices were very high in comparison to those in other South American countries. We still took some and they were excellent in large part due to our superb guide, Carlos. Travelling further in Brazil, we realised that due to the high value of the Real at this time that these prices were standard for the country.

This outstanding hotel with its excellent staff and service was a stark contrast and enjoyable refuge from the culture, colour, sounds and challenge of Pelourinho.

We recommend this outstanding hotel for its service, location and quality of the room.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yns_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

We were thrilled when we arrived at Casa Amarelindo. We arrived late, grumpy and soggy from the rain and were greeted warmly to a beautiful hotel. We stayed in a Deluxe room which was spacious, beatuifully decorated with a HUGE bed and jacuzzi bathtub. There is a rooftop terrace and a pool area with tables and chairs, both with a view across the city to the bay. The restaurant and bar are beatufully done and the tapas from the bar was delicious.

The location is slap bang in the middle of Pelorinho so great for a stay in Salvador (especcially if its your first time). We were given a map on arrival, safety advice and the hotel reception has a board that tells you of things going on around the area over the coming three days. The staff were very helpful and friendly. All in all we couldn't recommend it any more!

Our only complaint was that the breakfast was lovely and you can have it served anywhere in the hotel at any time (whcih is great if you aren't morning people like us and fancy a lie-in) BUT it didn't change at all for our whole five days. You get bread and brioche, fruit, jam, cake, eggs, cheese, ham, juice and coffee (or tea). It would have been nice if some elements had changed like different fruits or cake each day as we got exactly the same every morning. But its a small complaint and wouldn't stop us staying there.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sophiet333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2011

This was by far the best hotel I'd stayed in in brazil, and really good value for money! the beds were massive and really comfy, breakfast was absolutely amazing and the fact you could have it anytime was fantastic. The staff were really helpful and friendly and we met the owner on our last day who was also nice. would definitely recommend it for anyone travelling to Salvador!!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arti M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

The hotel was a warm and welcome hide out from the chaos of old Salvador. With a morning breakfast feast of fruit, breads and juices, coupled with spacious, clean, rooms with double glazed windows it was a great place to stay.

Food in bistro pelo was also very good, and the owners make a point of saying hello and checking everything is alright.

Staff are fluent in many languages, and the foyer and common areas are very relaxing.

The downsides to the hotel are that our room probably did need a new coat of paint, and the air conditioner and fan both had a annoying rattle which probably needed replacement. Service wise the only downside is across our three day stay they didn't do a full bathroom refresh, so while cleaned each day and fresh towels, soap and face washers weren't changed. Internet also wasn't available in rooms, or on pool deck or bar deck, only in downstairs foyer - which is a small pain.

With all that said the positives far outweighs the minor negatives, and for Brazilian standards it was excellent. I would stay here again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ndph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

This is a small guesthouse that is beutifully restored inthe heart of Pelourinho. The rooms are spotless with great comfy beds and simple yet nice decoration. The owners and reception staff were most helpful arranging a transfer with one of their drivers. This was good value and incredibly worth it as their driver knew how to bypass the pedestrian area and get us to the hotel door safe and sound. Salvador is most definitely an 'edgy' city to visit. The hotel gave us a map with the streets to walk around and the ones to avoid so we had no problems but our advice is to follow those directions by the book. The tiny rooftop pool was a welcome place to rest between sightseeing. The hotel is perfectly located in the Pelourinho so you can walk safely to most sites in about five minutes - a must in Salvador!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarmenMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

I recently spent three days at this beautiful hotel and was impressed with the decor, service and amazing all male staff. The owners live on site and were helpful with recommendations and tips. All went well until we were checking out and were told that we had to pay for a sightseeing tour by cash, which we unfortunately did not have. We did explain that as we were paying our hotel bill with our credit card, we assumed that they would add on the tour charge. One of the owners told us this was impossible; the tour had to be paid in cash and failure to do so would incur the hotel additional fees. He strongly 'encouraged' us to get cash from an ATM. Given that the surrounding areas of the hotel were a little dangerous, we did not want to take cash out and above all incur fees ourselves. When we refused the owner got very nasty and threatened to deduct the fees from the member of his staff that had booked the tour for us. Given that it probably was no more than $50, it was very sad to see the owner, who had before seemed quite sophisticated and classy, become so rude and vindictive. By the time we checked out I was extremely upset and on the verge of tears. Its beyond me that the owner would deduct money from his staff's minimun wage to pay for transaction fees, which they can easily pay out of petty cash.
Beautiful hotel but the owners......Not so much!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Mitra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amarelindo, Owner at Hotel Casa do Amarelindo, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2011

We wish to thank you a lot for the nice comments made regarding the hotel and its service, but we felt very sad learning that the last minute situation you reported balanced so much your final opinion. As you mentioned, we were particularly involved during the two nights you spent with us to make you discover and appreciate a lot of Bahia culture, and we believed you were sensible to our commitment with our guests’ satisfaction. For that reason, in order to keep you free of mind, we guarantee that, of course, nobody in our staff had to suffer consequences of this small incident. Definitely it’s not that way we’re working with our team. Moreover, the receptionist in charge assured he informed you at the moment of the booking this service should be paid in cash, accordingly to our procedures. Although the receipt given to confirm our tour is also showing this same information (in 4 languages), it seems this is not clear enough and to avoid again such problem we will work to improve our communication. We sincerely apologize for this incident and for any unwished misunderstanding at that moment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salvador hotels
Aram Yami Hotel
#1 of 110 in Salvador
537 reviews
Villa Bahia
#7 of 110 in Salvador
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Itapua
Hotel Deville Prime Salvador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa do Amarelindo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa do Amarelindo

Address: Rua das Portas do Carmo 06 | Pelourinho, Salvador, State of Bahia 40026-290, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Bahia > Salvador
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Salvador
#2 Luxury Hotel in Salvador
#3 Family Hotel in Salvador
#11 Business Hotel in Salvador
Price Range: £92 - £276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Casa do Amarelindo 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel de charme in a fully restored XIXth colonial house in the very heart of Pelourinho, facing All Saints' Bay. Sunny swimming pool and panoramic roof-terrace. 10 High standard rooms with luxury bedding, 1 gastronomic restaurant, 2 bars, 1 solarium, 1 fitness. All rooms with full sound insulation, air conditioning, ceiling fan, free broad-band internet access, free electronic safe, 42''LED TV, DVD, frigo-bar. Most rooms with private terrace or balcony with bay or city view. Free WiFi at restaurant, lobby and garden-bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Agoda, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Casa do Amarelindo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Do Amarelindo Salvador
Casa Do Amarelindo Hotel
Hotel Casa Do Amarelindo Salvador, Bahia, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing