We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff, Great Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Casa do Amarelindo
Ranked #2 of 110 Hotels in Salvador
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Stayed here for four nights during our honeymoon and loved it. The hotel provided airport transfer upon our arrival. This hotel is perfectly located in Salvador in the heart of the action. Rooms are clean, have a great deck and an oversize fabulous bed. The hotel is safe and the staff monitor the front door. The hotel has a great restaurant available and there is a grocery store about a block away.

We cannot say enough about the incredible staff at this hotel. From the front desk to the room staff to even the considerate owner. All of these people helped us out. My husband had gotten food poisoning while enroute to Salvador and spent the entire stay in the room. The staff did everything they could to help and in our eyes went way above and beyond. We even had to cancel a private tour booked through the hotel, and the hotel owner was extremely helpful and accommodating to our situation.

I would recommend this hotel in a heartbeat and stay here again equally as fast.

Thank you Hotel Casa for all your help!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leslie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,095)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

184 - 190 of 1,095 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

I liked casa do amarelindo. Top position, close to the best attrations of the Perulinho, this pousada is very nice and clean. The rooms are large and well furnished, tastefully decorated. the style is elegant and traditional, the bed is confortable and soft. Great shower. Good breakfast in a nice little hidden garden. There is even a little swimming pool on the top of the first floor with a nice view of the coast. It was a very surprising choise.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raffiaroundtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Hotel is in the perfect location just off the main square but from the moment you walk in it's an oasis of calm and sophistication... Fantastic service, amazing food (breakfast was great but make sure you have lunch here as well...) and beautiful rooms.

Room Tip: Superior room was fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

You couldn't be in a better location to experience the heart of Salvador. Our rooms were well done. One travel book said the bathrooms needed updating, but they must not have visited recently as the bathrooms were excellent. Good breakfast, wonderful rooftop bar and close to so many sights. Be sure to have lunch at the historic Convent hotel nearby. The owner could not have been more gracious and helpful.

Room Tip: You will have to walk up stairs, as there's only one small, slow elevator. If that's an iss...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bueller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Great place to stay; extremely corfortable and spotless bedrooms (I have stayed in 3 different rooms);Friendliness and professional staff always willing to please; the owners are very welcoming and willing to assist you in making the most of your stay in Salvador;Great bar with nice cocktails and some of the best food in the area is served in the restaurant; A real home away from home!! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank le_cercle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

I totally agree with all of the other recent reviews so I won't repeat. I will share what was unique for us. We only had two days to experience the history and culture of old Salvador so we asked Gilles, owner manager to arrange airport transfers, a private walking tour of historic Pelourinho and obtain tickets to the Bale Folkloric show. We could not have been more pleased! Everything was as perfect as the lovely hotel. The walking tour guide, Dixon, was more of a professor of Afro Brazilian history and culture - I only wish I took notes. For travelers interested in learning about Afro Brazilian history and culture but want a truly lux place to come back to at night - stay here!

Room Tip: We had a sea view room which was lovely but I imagine all of the rooms are as well appointed as our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrDianaSacramento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We stayed here in July 2013 for a couple of nights. We arrived on a Tuesday having flown in from Rio and were a bit tired. We were persuaded by Ricardo and Gilles to go out in the evening and enjoy the Olodum drumming. A bit reluctant we managed to get up again after a nap and ventured out into the night. So glad we did - what an extraordinary experience! the drums so loud such great rhythms all the fantastic dancing and energy. We will never forget it. The old town is pretty and the cobbled street and old buildings are very atmospheric. Unfortunately the same cannot be said for the main town which you reach by a strange elevator.
Anyway back to the hotel - I cannot fault the owner and the staff really helpful and cultured. The building is a labour of love for the owner and he has worked very hard to achieve a super interior design of warm colours and stylish furniture and object d'art. The only disappointment was I wanted to buy one of the small sculptures and someone beat me to it! Never mind maybe I will get another one on our next visit.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mandelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salvador hotels
Aram Yami Hotel
#1 of 110 in Salvador
539 reviews
Villa Bahia
#7 of 110 in Salvador
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Itapua
Hotel Deville Prime Salvador
Itapua
Mar Brasil Hotel
Mar Brasil Hotel
#5 of 110 in Salvador
1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa do Amarelindo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa do Amarelindo

Address: Rua das Portas do Carmo 06 | Pelourinho, Salvador, State of Bahia 40026-290, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Bahia > Salvador
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Salvador
#2 Luxury Hotel in Salvador
#3 Family Hotel in Salvador
#11 Business Hotel in Salvador
Price Range: £87 - £283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Casa do Amarelindo 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel de charme in a fully restored XIXth colonial house in the very heart of Pelourinho, facing All Saints' Bay. Sunny swimming pool and panoramic roof-terrace. 10 High standard rooms with luxury bedding, 1 gastronomic restaurant, 2 bars, 1 solarium, 1 fitness. All rooms with full sound insulation, air conditioning, ceiling fan, free broad-band internet access, free electronic safe, 42''LED TV, DVD, frigo-bar. Most rooms with private terrace or balcony with bay or city view. Free WiFi at restaurant, lobby and garden-bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Casa do Amarelindo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Do Amarelindo Salvador
Casa Do Amarelindo Hotel
Hotel Casa Do Amarelindo Salvador, Bahia, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing