We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Boutique Hotel in the Heart of the Old Colonial City”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Casa do Amarelindo
Ranked #2 of 111 Hotels in Salvador
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Great Boutique Hotel in the Heart of the Old Colonial City”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

If you visit Salvador, the old Portuguese colonial capital of Brazil, you should stay here. Beautifully renovated by the owners Gilles and Didier, the hotel opens on to the cobbled streets of the old city and is within easy walking distance of some of the most magnificent historic buildings in the whole of Brazil. The décor throughout is stylish and echoes the Iberian feel of many of the buildings in the vicinity. We were lucky in having a room with a balcony overlooking the water with views of the sunset to die for but the pool terrace offers the same superb vista. The proximity of the football stadium was an added bonus for world cup fans but, even without the extra fervour and bustle that inevitably accompanied the Copa do Mundo, this would be a great place to stay.

Mark and Carol, UK

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,054 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    911
    116
    17
    7
    3
See reviews for
117
632
68
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Out of many hotels I've been to, this is probably the most wonderful one. The moment I went into the lobby I saw that this is not an ordinary hotel. Right in the middle of Pelourinho, the historical center of Salvador, everything, every little detail in it is unique. My boyfriend and I stayed only for one night, two weeks ago, shtortly after the beginning of the World Cup, the hotel was fully booked for weeks. When I saw our room, I wanted to stay there for the rest of our journey. The room was spacious and very cosy, with a huge bathroom. The hotel stuff was very friendly, the guy from the reception speaks English very well, which isn't very common in Brazil, at least in the cities we went to :-) We met one of the owners and he was very surprised that we came all thay from Bulgaria, even though Bulgarian national team doesn't participate at the World Cup. The swimming pool with the view is amazing. I can honestly say that the breakfast is the best one I have ever eaten in a hotel. Fruits, fresh juices, cake, coffee and tea. Extremely delicious. If we return to Salvador we would deffinetely go back do Casa do Amarelindo. This hotel is one of the reasons our trip to Brazil to be so unforgetable.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanya Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, CT
Level Contributor
75 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

This was one of the most luxurious feeling hotels we have stayed in, and we have stayed in many hotels around the world. Everything you could desire is here, a very helpful staff, lovely dining room, pool with a view, lovely lovely roof deck with a bar and superb view, we also had a large private balcony with a view. The bed is the most amazing bed we have ever seen or slept in. I don't know what size you call it, but I called it the "King and Queen" because it seemed as large as both put together. My husband and I are both quite tall, so sometimes we find beds in hotel rooms that aren't quite big enough for us...this bed seemed like the utmost in luxury (and super comfortable, too). The bathroom was spacious with a serious jacuzzi tub, although it was quite hot when we were there so we didn't partake of the jacuzzi. All of these things were enough to recommend this lovely hotel, but the thing that REALLY endeared us was the AMAZING Breakfast in Bed. When we checked in, we were informed that if we wanted breakfast in the room, we coould just call and it would arrive in 10 to 15 minutes. We decided to give it a whirl on the first day. They brought a tray overflowing with all of the things we love, fresh fruit and yogurt, fresh fruit juice, lovely eggs, baked goodies, bread and a carafe of coffee. The only thing missing was a second coffee cup. We were about to ring for a second cup when a knock at the door produced another entire tray of delicious breakfast food....both trays had legs so that you could eat your breakfast comfortably in bed. It was such a perfect selection and we especially like the two huge glasses of fruit juice (orange and another variety which varied from day to day). I put one of my juices in the mini fridge each day and had it to look forward to after walking around in the hot sun. This was such a simply amazing experience that we repeated it for the next two mornings (or our entire stay).

We LOVED Salvador, it is so colorful and alive and we LOVED Casa do Amarelindo. The hotel and location were both absolutely perfect! If we are lucky we will get to go back some day.

Room Tip: We had a room on the first floor above reception with sea view. These rooms have the largest balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paraná
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 June 2014

right in the middle of the old town we found an astonishing place. Not only luxurious, but showing the love for all details.
a roof terrace with a breathtaking view over the harbour and city, an inside open court with flowers and trees, next to the outside sitting area of the restaurant which serves a delicious mix of french and brasilian cooking, not to forget the offer of exquisite wines at reasonable prices.
and the entire staff speaks english and is trying to pamper you as much as possible

Room Tip: standard is already phantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

My friend and I have just checked out of this beautiful hotel today and we would thoroughly recommend it. Right in the heart of the old town, it's a small hotel, run by very friendly staff and has amazing rooms, our bed was the biggest we'd ever seen!

Breakfast is a really great selection of fresh fruit, meat, cheese and bread finished off with lashings of coffee and freshly squeezed juices.

The bar area is really relaxed and informal and the staff make awesome caparinhas, if you get Daniel serving you, try his passion fruit one, it's sensational.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Danny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

What a wonderful surprise. We had the pleasure to stay at Hotel Casa do Amarelindo for two nights in April. The team and management were fantastic. The ambiance, location and dining experience was amazing. Our cruise ship pulled into port and we could see it from our window. Our room was superb, the king size bed, the largest we ever slept in. Great amenities and bathroom.The dining experience was exceptional. I can still taste their Thai Shrimp dish I had for dinner. The location is in the heart of the historic area, safe and very walkable to the sights. We could not have asked for a better experience. Needless to say we would return to the "Casa" and hope too, that others will enjoy this wonderful hospitality experience. Wait till you see the swimming pool and the rooftop bar is a great evening experience!

Room Tip: We upgraded to their better room with a view of the Atlantic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2AzTravlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

This is by far the best hotel I have ever stayed in, we did stay Feb 2013, but I'm sure it has not changed. The location is right in the center of the historic area, perfect for exploring and roaming the city, the breakfast provided each day was beautifully presented and so tasty, the pool area was so peaceful, perfect to relax. The room was beautiful, the small attention to detail throughout the hotel make all the difference and give a real personal touch. I would recommend this hotel over and over! Thank you for a great stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmAndAl2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salvador hotels
Aram Yami Hotel
#1 of 111 in Salvador
5.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
Itapua
Hotel Deville Prime Salvador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Itapua
Mar Brasil Hotel
Mar Brasil Hotel
#5 of 111 in Salvador
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,039 reviews
Villa Bahia
#6 of 111 in Salvador
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa do Amarelindo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa do Amarelindo

Property: Hotel Casa do Amarelindo
Address: Rua das Portas do Carmo 06 | Pelourinho, Salvador, State of Bahia 40026-290, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Bahia > Salvador
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Salvador
#2 Luxury Hotel in Salvador
#3 Family Hotel in Salvador
#11 Business Hotel in Salvador
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Casa do Amarelindo 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel de charme in a fully restored XIXth colonial house in the very heart of Pelourinho, facing All Saints' Bay. Sunny swimming pool and panoramic roof-terrace. 10 High standard rooms with luxury bedding, 1 gastronomic restaurant, 2 bars, 1 solarium, 1 fitness. All rooms with full sound insulation, air conditioning, ceiling fan, free broad-band internet access, free electronic safe, 42''LED TV, DVD, frigo-bar. Most rooms with private terrace or balcony with bay or city view. Free WiFi at restaurant, lobby and garden-bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Casa do Amarelindo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Do Amarelindo Salvador
Casa Do Amarelindo Hotel
Hotel Casa Do Amarelindo Salvador, Bahia, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing