We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They saved our stay in Salvador”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pousada Casa Vila Bela
Ranked #19 of 111 Hotels in Salvador
Certificate of Excellence
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“They saved our stay in Salvador”
Reviewed 2 April 2013

As we booked 5 nights at another place, which was awful and we left after two nights. Gerusa and Stefan saved our vaccation in Salvador. Casa Vila Bela is an excellent place right close to the historic center of Salvador. The house has a very tasteful decoration and a very nice staff. We stayed there for 3 nights and enjoyed it very much. If you plan to travel to Salvador Casa Vila Bela is an excellent choice to stay. In my opinion two or three day is just enough to visit Salvador da Bahia.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    389
    130
    16
    7
    13
See reviews for
116
278
42
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013 via mobile

I would like to extend My Thank You to Pousada Casa Vila Bela in Salvador Bahia by the historical district (harbor area); Gerusa & Staff were amazing and I loved the decor of this wonderful Bed & Breakfast with the artwork and traditional Bahian cultural artifacts displayed throughout this establishment that adorned the walls and other areas. The balcony we ate breakfast on every morning was beautiful with the best view of the seaport and ocean along with the rolling hills in historical Salvador's tourist area- all that we could ask for. It was very quite in the rooms but vibrant once you stepped out & downstairs. Gerusa and husband Stephane were very friendly and helpful with any questions and offered great advice that accompanied wonderful conversations & any problem solving that we needed help with. This Bed & Breakfast was decorated in Classic style yet with all the modern bells & whistles of a fancy hotel. Gerusa was Great and was helpful with cabs, tours, airport drop-offs, etc. Pousada Casa Vila Bela . Gerusa was up early every morning to meet us for breakfast & made everybody feel wonderful . When in Salvador Bahia Brazil , the only place to stay is Pousada Casa Vila Bela - Thanks to Gerusa & Staff .......J. Malik Ismail Atlanta GA USA

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JMAISMAIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We had a wonderful time at Casa Vila Bela. We were served freshly baked local pastries every morning with different fresh tropical juices. Superior coffee that is even hard to find in restaurants. The house keeper, too bad we forgot her name, is a star chef! The view from our room is breathtaking and there is a balcony to the room so we could enjoy the sun, the stars and the sea during our stay. The pousada is conveniently located in the center of the old town and walking distance to Pelourinho. The owners are warm and friendly and speak perfect English. They gave us first timers great recommendations with dos and donts. Thank you Casa Vila Bela, you made our first trip to Salvador even more beautiful. We miss this place!

Room Tip: Don't miss the breakfast on the terrace. Chose a room with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Junkai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013

This winter I traveled to Brazil on my own, only in the northeast, single and ready for fun.
I stayed at this pousada on three different occasions because of my travels and each time it was a wonderful place to be. On one occasion, the owners of the pousada gave me a beautiful room with the best view. The room is on the third floor and quite dreamy with a patio and a view of the bay. The location of the pousada is optimal as the street is quiet with a few little bars and restaurants, yet you are just blocks to the action if you care to be. The street is very safe and clean. The staff is professional, breakfast is nice, good coffee, fresh juice, homemade baked goods, the staff will cook something for you if desired. Most importantly, the owners, Gerusa and Stephane work very hard to be sure their guests are happy. They are at the Pousada daily and are fun and charming people who really know how to be great hosts. If I go back to Brazil, I won't stay anywhere else in Salvador.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lindamlynski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Stephane, Gerusa and their talkative son are extremely friendly guests who made our stay in Salvador a great moment. They recommended us loads of tasty restaurants in the neighborhood and even took us to a brazilian jazz concert.

The rooms are well decorated and some of them have a spectacular view on the bay. Breakfast and Aperitif on the terrace with the view were special moments

The location is perfect to make the most of the old town, within two minutes by foot.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms with no windows, there is very little air in them
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BatBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 February 2013

We had a lovely time at Pousada Casa Vila Bela! The location is just right - close to the tourist attractions of Pelourinho but removed enough in picturesque Santo Antonio that it feels like an escape from the bustle. The hotel is perched on the cliff separating the upper from the lower city, and the views from the rooms are therefore amazing - we looked out onto a 180 degree sweep of the harbor. We spent some delightful hours napping in the hammock on our porch, watching the city go by. Our hosts, Gerusa and Stephane, were warm and helpful, always making us feel welcome and at home. We loved the breakfast with its many home-baked cakes and delicious juices. And our room was spacious, with some great local art hanging in it. The hotel is in a renovated colonial house, and has a lot of charm. I can't think of anything to improve on, really!

Room Tip: We stayed in the basement suite, which is spacious and has a wonderful balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2013

We had a good stay in Pousada Casa Vila Bela. We stayed two nights in the Amazonia room with a nice spa.
Good location, and nice, big rooms.
Only the owner speaks english and is there during the morning / afternoon.
Breakfast was so-so, but a nice balcony to enjoy the view.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salvador hotels
Hotel Casa do Amarelindo
#2 of 111 in Salvador
1,072 reviews
A Casa das Portas Velhas
#15 of 111 in Salvador
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aram Yami Hotel
#1 of 111 in Salvador
529 reviews
Itapua
Mar Brasil Hotel
Mar Brasil Hotel
#5 of 111 in Salvador
1,053 reviews
Bahiacafe Hotel
#16 of 111 in Salvador
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Casa Vila Bela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Casa Vila Bela

Property: Pousada Casa Vila Bela
Address: Rua do Carmo 64, Salvador, State of Bahia 40301-380, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Bahia > Salvador > Santo Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Salvador
#7 Romantic Hotel in Salvador
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pousada Casa Vila Bela 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Vila Bela is a charming bed and breakfast guesthouse, settled in a fully restored XIX century house in the Pelourinho, historical area of Salvador classified by Unesco World Cultural Heritage in 1985. Ideally located in Santo Antonio district, Casa Vila Bela guesthouse enjoys one of the most fantastic seaview scenery over "all the saints bay". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Pousada Casa Vila Bela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Casa Vila Bela Salvador, Bahia, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing