We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Supercute, friendly, perfectly situated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pousada Casa Vila Bela
Ranked #18 of 111 Hotels in Salvador
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Supercute, friendly, perfectly situated”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013 via mobile

Really charming pousada near Pelourinho with lots of attention to detail everywhere. The staff was really friendly and even though we only stayed 2 nights it felt like staying in a family home. Gerusa the manager knows everything about Salvador and was extremely helpful in giving us all the insights. I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tartaruga14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    386
    128
    16
    7
    13
See reviews for
115
275
42
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
104 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

Brazilian travelers beware: get familiar with the operation of the demand hotwater showerheads! This will save you from the cold showers I suffered. Once Vila Bela's staff learned of my trouble, they helped out!
Stayed in a room with a view overlooking the harbor. Active and fascinating watching the big port cranes, the cruise ships, the traffic all moving for our enjoyment. Breakfasts also occur on a lovely outdoor patio with this wonderful view.
Helpful 3+language speaker (owner Gerusa) at the front desk in the mornings. but good luck finding anyone who speaks anything other than Portugese after 3pm!
Absolutely lovely pousada. Beautifully appointed public rooms, generous bedroom size and huge bathroom. We were shocked that our bottom floor room offered such an outstanding view!! Great!

Room Tip: I stayed in the ?Gabriella? room, on the lowest level. Outstanding Port and water views. I'd c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeattleTravelLover1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Modesto, CA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

Located in the "Upper city", the property has several view rooms overlooking the harbor. Ours on the 3rd floor was very nice with an outdoor private veranda. The rooms are not huge but are fairly well appointed (ours also had a/c), nicely decorated and very clean (would have been nice to have a few drawers for clothes). The big draw here is the wonderful breakfast served on the veranda overlooking the harbor. Gerusa (the owner) is also very helpful and willing to answer any questions. Must pay using cash - no credit cards accepted. Not a big deal, just have to plan ahead.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, go for a harbor view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jameslclarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013

We stayed in the Pousada Casa Vila Bela for 2 nights in April 2013.We slept in two different rooms, one facing the street the other one with a lovely sea view. The street is quiet, so also the street view is recommenable, although we preferred of course the sea view. The rooms are tastefully decorated and clean. The shower is spacious. The breakfast selection was good and the food tasty with a variety of local pastries.

The stuff was very friendly and helpful, they made us feel very safe in this huge new city. The owners of the Pousada, Geruse and Stephane, are perfect hosts and extemely helpul and friendly. They know the area very well and provide interesting insigts about the local life as well as trip planning.

The hotel is very safe and has a guard working 24/7. The hotel stuff can also do your laundry to a very good price.

There is a wifi and a public computer to use for the guests. In the streetview room the wifi worked perfectly, in the sea view room we unfortunately didnt have connection, but we could plan our trip on the public computer. Again, Geruse and Stephane were helpful and provided advise. Another con: the bed in the sea view room, Colonial (?), was quite small for an european (180 cm).

All in all: 100% to recommend. And Very good price/value-ratio

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

As we booked 5 nights at another place, which was awful and we left after two nights. Gerusa and Stefan saved our vaccation in Salvador. Casa Vila Bela is an excellent place right close to the historic center of Salvador. The house has a very tasteful decoration and a very nice staff. We stayed there for 3 nights and enjoyed it very much. If you plan to travel to Salvador Casa Vila Bela is an excellent choice to stay. In my opinion two or three day is just enough to visit Salvador da Bahia.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013 via mobile

I would like to extend My Thank You to Pousada Casa Vila Bela in Salvador Bahia by the historical district (harbor area); Gerusa & Staff were amazing and I loved the decor of this wonderful Bed & Breakfast with the artwork and traditional Bahian cultural artifacts displayed throughout this establishment that adorned the walls and other areas. The balcony we ate breakfast on every morning was beautiful with the best view of the seaport and ocean along with the rolling hills in historical Salvador's tourist area- all that we could ask for. It was very quite in the rooms but vibrant once you stepped out & downstairs. Gerusa and husband Stephane were very friendly and helpful with any questions and offered great advice that accompanied wonderful conversations & any problem solving that we needed help with. This Bed & Breakfast was decorated in Classic style yet with all the modern bells & whistles of a fancy hotel. Gerusa was Great and was helpful with cabs, tours, airport drop-offs, etc. Pousada Casa Vila Bela . Gerusa was up early every morning to meet us for breakfast & made everybody feel wonderful . When in Salvador Bahia Brazil , the only place to stay is Pousada Casa Vila Bela - Thanks to Gerusa & Staff .......J. Malik Ismail Atlanta GA USA

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JMAISMAIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

We had a wonderful time at Casa Vila Bela. We were served freshly baked local pastries every morning with different fresh tropical juices. Superior coffee that is even hard to find in restaurants. The house keeper, too bad we forgot her name, is a star chef! The view from our room is breathtaking and there is a balcony to the room so we could enjoy the sun, the stars and the sea during our stay. The pousada is conveniently located in the center of the old town and walking distance to Pelourinho. The owners are warm and friendly and speak perfect English. They gave us first timers great recommendations with dos and donts. Thank you Casa Vila Bela, you made our first trip to Salvador even more beautiful. We miss this place!

Room Tip: Don't miss the breakfast on the terrace. Chose a room with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Junkai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salvador hotels
0.5 mi away
Bahiacafe Hotel
Bahiacafe Hotel
#14 of 111 in Salvador
4.0 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa do Amarelindo
Hotel Casa do Amarelindo
#2 of 111 in Salvador
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,043 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aram Yami Hotel
Aram Yami Hotel
#1 of 111 in Salvador
5.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pousada Colonial
Pousada Colonial
#45 of 111 in Salvador
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sheraton da Bahia - Hotel Salvador
0.7 mi away
A Casa das Portas Velhas
A Casa das Portas Velhas
#16 of 111 in Salvador
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Casa Vila Bela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Casa Vila Bela

Property: Pousada Casa Vila Bela
Address: Rua do Carmo 64, Salvador, State of Bahia 40301-380, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Bahia > Salvador > Santo Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Salvador
#7 Family Hotel in Salvador
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pousada Casa Vila Bela 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Vila Bela is a charming bed and breakfast guesthouse, settled in a fully restored XIX century house in the Pelourinho, historical area of Salvador classified by Unesco World Cultural Heritage in 1985. Ideally located in Santo Antonio district, Casa Vila Bela guesthouse enjoys one of the most fantastic seaview scenery over "all the saints bay". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pousada Casa Vila Bela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Casa Vila Bela Salvador, Bahia, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing