We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Villa Bahia
Nearby Hotels
US$75
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$70
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Fiesta Bahia Hotel(Salvador)(Great Value!)
US$54
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Bahia Othon Palace(Salvador)(Great Value!)
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pousada Casa Vila Bela(Salvador)(Great Value!)
US$42
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Aram Yami Hotel(Salvador)
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Pousada Solar Dos Deuses(Salvador)
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (407)
Filter reviews
408 results
Traveller rating
295
83
21
7
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
295
83
21
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main squareold townvintage stylerooms are beautifully decoratedfine foodroom calleddefinitely stay here againbeautiful hotelhighly recommend this hotelfresh fruit juicerooftop terraceswimming pool ispelourinho areahistoric center of salvadorbreakfast was amazingtop floortapioca
Filter
Updating list...
84 - 89 of 408 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Perfect location to explore the old town, wonderful ambience, lovely historical building(s), clean and spacious room, and the best of all - the reception staff, who were amazingly friendly and helpful. If we're ever in Salvador again, there is no doubt where we'll be staying.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

The location in Salvador is the best possible, and the hotel itself is a beauty. The visual appearances of hotels all over the world are mostly kitsch, but Villa Bahia has taste. It is nice to have your breakfast in a small garden, and there is a roof-top terrace that you can probably have all to yourself (it is a small hotel). It is a bit difficult for me to see where in Salvador you would prefer to stay, if you do not fancy this hotel.

Room Tip: It is probably a good idea to ask for a room facing the square, the other side gets more noise from the streets.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Otso A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Charming, rustic, and primitive. After the second night of a 3 night stay we couldn't wait to leave. If you're looking for a good night's sleep, the constant drumming and music in the immediate area makes it impossible. The miniscule plunge pool gets no sun. Restaurant service is indifferent at best. The need for heavy armed military police just outside the hotel isn't very comforting. Overall the disadvantages far outweigh the charms here. Extremely overrated on Tripadvisor.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Otto1494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Great location in the middle of the historical old town which is the only place worth being in Salvador for really. Staff is extremely helpful and friendly and spoke good English. The rooms are absolutely charming and although my room faces the main square it was not noisy at all. Ok one night there were stray dogs barking but what can you do. The only complaint was that the pillows are not soft enough but I do adore this place. One recommendation that us not related to the hotel experience but certainly a highlight of the trip to Salvador is the restaurant paraiso tropical. You need to take a taxi there but well worth the trip.

Room Tip: Ones facing the main square
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rubyyao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We stayed there on december 13th and it was disapointing to see how such a beautiful and well decorated hotel with such a great location can fail in some main aspects: we stayed in room "Goa" (one of the most expensive rooms) and the rumour of the air-condicioning was terrible. We tried to minimise it by closing the bathroom's windows but still it was quite disturbing all night long and the smell on the bathroom was not very good neither. When we complained the staff was not very helpful nor had the kind attitude that we would have expected: they showed us the room "Ceuta" but it had exactly the same problem as both rooms are located close to the air-conditioning. Furthermore, the breakast was far from being as good as some we had in much cheaper hotels/"pousadas" with equivalent atmosphere. So, it certainly is a beautiful hotel with a great location but, in my opinion, it is not a good value for the money.

Room Tip: Rooms on the east side may be a better option.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pedrojord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews