We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Villa Bahia
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Bahiacafe Hotel(Salvador)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Arthemis Hotel(Salvador)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Franca(Salvador)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Don Juan(Salvador)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (404)
Filter reviews
404 results
Traveller rating
294
82
19
7
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
294
82
19
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main squareold townvintage stylerooms are beautifully decoratedfine foodroom calleddefinitely stay here againbeautiful hotelhighly recommend this hotelfresh fruit juicerooftop terraceswimming pool ispelourinho areahistoric center of salvadorbreakfast was amazingtop floortapioca
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
80 - 85 of 404 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2014

This cozy little hotel is an oasis in brazilian hospitality industry. Very clean, very beautiful. The whole property is all about details, from the decoration, full of regional handicraft, to the service itself, everything was very good. Breakfast was delicious, and the restaurant was also very good.
The location is also superb, close to the main attractions and points of interest. Despite it's price, not so inviting, I believe it's worth it, and strongly recommend it!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sofiacesario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We read all the rules of the hotel upon arrival.

We had invited another couple to come visit us for lunch during our stay here. Now when we wanted to take them up to show them how lucky we were to be renting this apartment in the center of the action of Carnaval, the Authoritarian of the hotel came over to prevent us from entering the elevator with our guests. She said the rules of the hotel stated that no visitors are allowed in the rooms. Funny we had not read that in the rules of the hotel ourselves. We were quite annoyed so we thought about this quite a bit until we came up with our own conclusion which we were not able to substantiate. She would not let our guests into our hotel because they were a male couple. There was no advice of this previous to our friends' visit and had we known we would have booked elsewhere. The only reason I can think of why they wouldn't let us show our friends our apartment was that they were a male couple.

Now maybe that's cool for you, for shame, but hear this: when I was sitting in the little tiny tv room on the little tiny bench trying to find an English language television station, I kept hitting spider webs that were falling from the high ceiling onto me. This place was turning into a creep show.

Finally when I went to complain about their dead wireless, I said to the Authoritarian, "Didn't you promise us free wi-fi?" and she said, "I am not the hotel." Good English but bad answer.

And finally, yes, the staff is generally more frowny by pecking order.

And yes, and maybe you'll like this too, the Military Police have a reviewing stand right out front for you to look at while you sit staring out the front windows.

They even put your room key on a giant chunk of wood and make you leave it at the desk when you go outside so you don't lose it.

Salvador is a wonderful town but think about who YOU are before you visit with these people.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jeffery R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villa B, Gerente at Villa Bahia, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

Dear Jeffery,

Thank you for your comments and we are really glad that you felt lucky with the room that we booked for you when stayed at Villa Bahia.
Unfortunately there are some thoughts that does not match with our goals, ideas that we work with.

In order to ensure privacy and safety for our guests, visitors are welcome in social areas only: Front Desk, Living room, Restaurant. The rooms are private area for guests of villa bahia and visitors may site inspect only available rooms accompanied by a member of the hotel staff.

Concerning your thoughts about why the hotel would not let you show your friends your room we inform that we fully support and endorse LGBT objectives to fight against any kind of prejudice. We consider ourselves as "People Friendly".

We hope you reconsider your thoughts about Villa Bahia.

Sincerely,

Villa Bahia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Perfect location to explore the old town, wonderful ambience, lovely historical building(s), clean and spacious room, and the best of all - the reception staff, who were amazingly friendly and helpful. If we're ever in Salvador again, there is no doubt where we'll be staying.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

The location in Salvador is the best possible, and the hotel itself is a beauty. The visual appearances of hotels all over the world are mostly kitsch, but Villa Bahia has taste. It is nice to have your breakfast in a small garden, and there is a roof-top terrace that you can probably have all to yourself (it is a small hotel). It is a bit difficult for me to see where in Salvador you would prefer to stay, if you do not fancy this hotel.

Room Tip: It is probably a good idea to ask for a room facing the square, the other side gets more noise from the streets.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Otso A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Charming, rustic, and primitive. After the second night of a 3 night stay we couldn't wait to leave. If you're looking for a good night's sleep, the constant drumming and music in the immediate area makes it impossible. The miniscule plunge pool gets no sun. Restaurant service is indifferent at best. The need for heavy armed military police just outside the hotel isn't very comforting. Overall the disadvantages far outweigh the charms here. Extremely overrated on Tripadvisor.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Otto1494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews