We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my most memorable hotel experiences....ever!!!!!!!!!!!!”
Review of Villa Bahia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Bahia
Ranked #11 of 111 Hotels in Salvador
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 3 August 2014

This has to be one of the most memorable hotel stays I have ever had in my life (to date). From the friendly staff to the immaculate well-kep colonial style mansion. This is the place to stay in Salvador - Pelourinho. Each room is carefully decorated to reflect a particular period of Bahia's interesting history. I had the pleasure to stay in the large Angola room, which had a birds eye view of the main plaza, and it was magnificent. Everything about this place was fabulous!

Room Tip: Get the Angola room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank VasiliPan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (395)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

71 - 77 of 395 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

i stayed at the villa bahia during the FIFA world cup for a total of three seperate times in three seperate rooms. it was a wonderful experience. every room is different, every room is perfect in it´s own way. amazing service. and the highlight: the breakfast. highly recommended!!

(only one little word of caution: one night, there was a really, really loud street party going on right in front of the hotel - it may be a good idea to either ask whether any parties are scheduled or to get a room facing the back.)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Milton S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We spent 5 weeks in Brazil for the World Cup, staying in a wide range of accommodation, and this was definitely are favourite place! The location is perfect, in the centre of Pelourinho, and the rooms are gorgeous - comfy beds, great sheets and loads of individual touches. The staff are very helpful, always smiling, and breakfast is just incredible (get lunch or dinner too if you can). You will not regret a stay here!

Room Tip: There is a fabulous roof terrace that was always deserted - lovely spot to relax after a day's s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Jenny212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I visited Salvador with my son for the World Cup and we were both very pleased with our choice of hotel. It was clean and comfortable and we were so close to the center of the Pelourinho. The staff were very friendly and were happy to give good advice and guidance about where to go and what to do, this was welcome as we were both anxious about safety during the world cup. Our room looked out of the front onto the street and I really enjoyed the view up the steps to the Baroque church. The music and busy vibe there was going on through the day and into the night [ I always take ear plugs with me on holiday and I had no problems sleeping]
We felt very much in the center of the action as we mixed with the other fans in the main square or enjoyed the Brazilian bands playing there. Then
a meal [often Mamma Bahia ] with maybe a drink back at the hotel to watch the final game of the evening. Great world cup and a great place to enjoy it!

Room Tip: I was glad we had rooms at the front and although the noise during the World Cup may put some people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

After reading all the reviews on here, we had high expectations. Not only were they met, they were surpassed! The hotel itself is beautiful - lots of thought has gone into the decor and the little details. The location is also brilliant. We'd heard some bad things about the city (crime) but we felt really safe here, despite really being at the centre of everything. And the breakfast was amazing (best we've ever had). But what made this visit so perfect was how the staff went out of their way to be helpful and friendly - they gave loads of great advice about the city, always had big smiles on their faces, and were very professional. On our last day, they knew we had a late flight, so they let us use our room until 17:00, since nobody was checking in until the following day. We'll come back to Salvador, a beautiful and vibrant city, and we'll definitely come back to this wonderful hotel.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ww-wef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

This place is a true gem. Beautiful decorated, spacious rooms. Friendly and extremely helpful staff. One of the best hotel-breakfasts in Brazil. A woderful restaurant and some of the best cocktails in town. Beautiful vistas from the roof-top. Only downfall: The pool isn't as inviting as on the pictures. Will definitely come back!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TobiasBerlin2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

This cozy little hotel is an oasis in brazilian hospitality industry. Very clean, very beautiful. The whole property is all about details, from the decoration, full of regional handicraft, to the service itself, everything was very good. Breakfast was delicious, and the restaurant was also very good.
The location is also superb, close to the main attractions and points of interest. Despite it's price, not so inviting, I believe it's worth it, and strongly recommend it!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sofiacesario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salvador hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa do Amarelindo
Hotel Casa do Amarelindo
#1 of 111 in Salvador
1,137 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aram Yami Hotel
Aram Yami Hotel
#3 of 111 in Salvador
566 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pestana Convento do Carmo Bahia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Wish Hotel da Bahia by GJP
Wish Hotel da Bahia by GJP
#15 of 111 in Salvador
1,250 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fera Palace Hotel
Fera Palace Hotel
#19 of 111 in Salvador
203 reviews
3.4 mi away
Fiesta Bahia Hotel
Fiesta Bahia Hotel
#4 of 111 in Salvador
1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Bahia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Bahia

Address: Largo do Cruzeiro de Sao Francisco, no 16/18 | Pelourinho, Salvador, State of Bahia, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Bahia > Salvador
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Salvador
#7 Luxury Hotel in Salvador
#10 Green Hotel in Salvador
#14 Business Hotel in Salvador
Price Range: £74 - £261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Bahia 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Villa Bahia is set in the historical centre of the city of Salvador, only steps away from the city’s main attractions. Fully renovated, this hotel boasts unparalleled Brazilian charm, and reflects the most important moments of Portuguese explorers and Brazilian history in general. This establishment invites you to come experience the magic of Brazil in comfort and first-class accommodations. The rooms, each named after a specific Portuguese explorer, these spacious suites are dressed in an opulent décor which reflects the majesty of the culturally rich and historical country of Brazil. Opulent furnishings come together with spacious proportions and modern commodities to create the ideal place for rest and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Prestigia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Bahia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Bahia Hotel Salvador
Bahia Hotel Salvador
Villa Bahia Salvador, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing