We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Colonial Charm”
Review of Villa Bahia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Bahia
Ranked #10 of 110 Hotels in Salvador
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 10 December 2010

The best in Bahia! The best Boutique Hotel in Brazil! Top Location, stylish decoration, big rooms, excellent service! Just stunning! Go for it!
Deatails: closed to all monuments, walking distance to gourmet restaurant Jardim das Delicias and Performances, very safe, limo service / airport transfer USD 50 one way correct and relaible.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank profstephan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (387)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

134 - 140 of 387 reviews

Reviewed 30 November 2010

I can not say enough about how impressed I was with the courtesy and how pleasant Jefferson Rebouças (the Front Office Manager) was. He couldn't have been more helpful to us. Thank you Jefferson. I recommend this place immensely!
An amazing hotel with such exceptional, personal service.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NurgulMumcuoglu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2010

Nice place, but
-there were little insects in my room, esp the bathroom. Didnt bite or anything but they were there
- no soundproof windows, so it can be really, really loud, even if you have a room to the atrium
- Wifi didnt work in my room, had to go down to the lobby to go online
- matress war very worn and therefore rather uncomfortable
- very noisy airconditioning
- the pool is more of a fake, in the attic, no sun and very small, have stayed for a few nights, but never saw anyone use it

On the plus side:
+ very friendly and multilingual staff
+ excellent breakfast
+ excellent restaurant
+ very nicely furnished, lots of love to detail
+ lovely terrace with a nice view

Stayed: November 2010, travelled solo
1  Thank mango125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2010

Our stay at Villa Bahia was memorable and we will come back.
Great location, the staff was very helpful, the room was beautifully decorated.
The food at the restaurant was delicious and very unique, breakfast was plentiful with local delicacies which were presented beautifully and tasted amazing !
As it was based in the historical centre, there were lots of things to do around and see .
Overall this was a beautiful hotel that was very unique with lots of taste in the decorations. A FANTASTIC HOTEL !

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank olio265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2010

After staying in a pousada (basic) this felt like heaven! Very nice rooms, right in the middle of the old centre! Very friendly personnel. Clean and big rooms, with lots of old wooden floors, semi-original details, good atmosphere. Breakfast was huge, good coffee, eggs, fruit, juices etc.
Would stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmsterdamSusie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2010

My stay at the Villa Bahia was truly amazing for the famous salvador carnival. The location was perfect right in the center. My room Gana was equally as special. Staff fantastic and nothing too much for them. Breakfast plentiful. I will def be back but note if you want to visit at carnival time, book very very early to avoid being disappointed. I def will be back soon

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heydread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2010

We loved this hotel, it was really charming and in a brilliant location in the old part of Salvador. Our room overlooked the beautiful square and were very clean and homely. The restaurant is expensive but you dont have to eat there, we ate out every evening then treated ourselves to a more upmarket dinner at Villa Bahia on our last night. The break fast is included and was really really nice.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jambo5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salvador hotels
Aram Yami Hotel
#3 of 110 in Salvador
562 reviews
Hotel Casa do Amarelindo
#1 of 110 in Salvador
1,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zank by Toque Hotel
#29 of 110 in Salvador
312 reviews
Fiesta Bahia Hotel
#4 of 110 in Salvador
1,007 reviews
Itapua
Hotel Deville Prime Salvador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Bahia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Bahia

Address: Largo do Cruzeiro de Sao Francisco, no 16/18 | Pelourinho, Salvador, State of Bahia, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Bahia > Salvador
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Salvador
#7 Luxury Hotel in Salvador
#10 Green Hotel in Salvador
#14 Business Hotel in Salvador
Price Range: £82 - £262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Bahia 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Villa Bahia is set in the historical centre of the city of Salvador, only steps away from the city’s main attractions. Fully renovated, this hotel boasts unparalleled Brazilian charm, and reflects the most important moments of Portuguese explorers and Brazilian history in general. This establishment invites you to come experience the magic of Brazil in comfort and first-class accommodations. The rooms, each named after a specific Portuguese explorer, these spacious suites are dressed in an opulent décor which reflects the majesty of the culturally rich and historical country of Brazil. Opulent furnishings come together with spacious proportions and modern commodities to create the ideal place for rest and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Villa Bahia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Bahia Hotel Salvador
Bahia Hotel Salvador
Villa Bahia Salvador, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing